Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#102050 - 28/06/2002 09:40 Sync'ing up time/date on player?
foxtrot_xray
addict

Loc: Atlanta, Georgia
Hmm.. Since I'm new to programming, and I've messed with the setting time/date function in RH Linux, I thought I'd get opinoins 'bout this..
I notice that my Empeg, over a week or so, will lose serious time. This, in itself isn't a big deal for me (I rarly see the clock) but I'm guessing that at some point I may actually care what time it is, and then I won't be able to tell.

So, I figured since all music is sync'd up, why couldn't the date and time be done so as well?

Now, granted, I could compile and use a NTP client, and have my Empeg go out into the internet at home and grab the time, but I don't need all that.
I think it'd be easier just to have something run, or integrate it into the sync'in process.

Ideas? Comments?
Donations?

Mike.

#102051 - 28/06/2002 10:00 Re: Sync'ing up time/date on player? [Re: foxtrot_xray]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
If the empeg is losing serious time, it might be a bad capacitor in the player, or it might be the Stuck Jiffies bug.

What version of the software is running ont he player, and does it have a recent version of Hijack installed?

If it is running a beta version of 2.0 without hijack, then the time loss is almost certainly the stuck jiffies bug. Install Hijack and the bug will go away.

#102052 - 28/06/2002 10:30 Re: Sync'ing up time/date on player? [Re: tfabris]
Terminator
old hand

Loc: Dallas, TX
If its the stuck jiffies bug, the time should correct itself as soon as you reboot the player. If its losing time gradually then its something else.

Sean

#102053 - 28/06/2002 11:05 Re: Sync'ing up time/date on player? [Re: Terminator]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
That's not the way I understood it to work.