Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#117006 - 19/09/2002 11:21 Help Fixing Monitor Power Supply
CommOri
journeyman

Anyone here have any experience with fixing monitor power supplies?

I have a Gateway Vivitron 21-inch (not under warranty, bought it refurbed a couple years back) that blew a capacitor in the power supply the other day. I'm interested in fixing the monitor rather than throwing it out since it's not your typical $89 17-inch throw-away. I paid $600 for it and feel a wee bit of effort may be able to ressurect it.

I'm no electronics pro, so I'd like to chat with anyone who may have had some experience in this area.

#117007 - 19/09/2002 11:38 Re: Help Fixing Monitor Power Supply [Re: CommOri]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
Can we assume you already tried to replace the cap and that didn't work?

#117008 - 19/09/2002 12:19 Re: Help Fixing Monitor Power Supply [Re: tfabris]
CommOri
journeyman

That's part of the problem. None of the components are marked. If I found someone who might do this for a living, they may know where to find a reference for the parts.

OR- maybe I should try to find a new power supply for the thing? Might be cheap, I just have no idea.

#117009 - 19/09/2002 16:22 Re: Help Fixing Monitor Power Supply [Re: CommOri]
AndrewT
old hand

Loc: Oxford, UK
The PSUs in monitors are very similiar to TVs. If you know a good TV repair shop they should be able to repair it for you.
Usually, the smaller establishments with experienced engineers are used to working without model specific manuals. They will likely be able to replace the unmarked cap using their experience to determine a (likely) suitable value.