Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#132454 - 31/12/2002 09:55 Career Pathing: Lay Low or Chase Rainbows?
tonyc
carpal tunnel

Loc: Pittsburgh, PA
As the new year approaches, I'm starting to have a lot of thoughts swirl around in my head about where my career is going. I thought that since a lot of you work in the same field I do, and have dealt with these issues, I might get some good advice.

Here's my background. I am gainfully employed in the IT department of a large mutual fund company as a software engineer. I write security software which performs authentication, authorization, and access control on our public and private web sites. I've been here for almost 4 years since I graduated college, and each year have gotten good reviews. I was promoted within my first year, and since then, have basically been at the same level since then.

Since my company's success is tied to the success of its funds, well, let's just say that times are lean these days. We haven't laid anyone off, but any thought of getting a promotion or raise in this climate is ridiculous. So because of this, and because of poor management decisions and short-sightedness, I feel like my growth and progress has been somewhat stagnant in the last year. They want to cut costs by replacing our internally-developed security software with something off the shelf. So they've been bringing in a lot of people from elsewhere in the company to fill technical lead positions that I was hoping to grow into. Basically, because the focus of my group is shifting away from in-house development and towards COTS integration, I'm hung out to dry. I have considered trying to transfer to another department within IT, but there aren't a lot of jobs which would let me do both C and Java development under UNIX, which is where I want to be.