Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
#140631 - 08/02/2003 12:23 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: skibum]
altman
carpal tunnel

Registered: 19/05/1999
Posts: 3452
Loc: Palo Alto, CA
The small display isn't scanned though, it's phosphor on silicon. It's also about 6x brighter than the empeg display for just this reason (the module has a brightness control; FYI, the pictures are with the brightness set to level 2 (of 7), but there's no filter in front of the screen at the moment.

The empeg display glass alone costs around 40-50 quid in small quantities. This is a module including PSU (it still needs something like 50v to light stuff up), controller, etc.

Hugo

Top
#140632 - 08/02/2003 17:07 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: foxtrot_xray]
siberia37
old hand

Registered: 09/01/2002
Posts: 702
Loc: Tacoma,WA
If you want a real easy solution for TTL->RS232 level conversion check out this product. I used it for doing conversion in my Oncore GPS board and it worked great, didn't even have to solder I just stripped the wires and twisted them together. I recommened this to all beginners and non-soldering people (like myself).

Top
#140633 - 09/02/2003 08:24 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: siberia37]
foxtrot_xray
addict

Registered: 03/03/2002
Posts: 687
Loc: Atlanta, Georgia
Hmm.. Interesting little toy, thanks.
I think I'll stick with making a small board, mostly because: 1. I almost have it finished, and 2. The display needs 5V, which I can put on the same board so it does everything..

Me.
_________________________
Mike 'Fox' Morrey 128BPM@124MPH. Love it! 2002 BRG Mini Cooper

Top
#140634 - 10/02/2003 12:50 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: siberia37]
jarob10
enthusiast

Registered: 07/01/2002
Posts: 274
Loc: Stockport, UK
Any chance of someone putting a step by step assembly instruction together ?

Is it really as simple as connecting serial port - TTL convertor - VFD ? With some soldering / splicing to hang it all together ?
_________________________
A coward you are, an expert on bulls you are not.

Top
#140635 - 10/02/2003 15:54 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: jarob10]
foxtrot_xray
addict

Registered: 03/03/2002
Posts: 687
Loc: Atlanta, Georgia
In reply to:


Any chance of someone putting a step by step assembly instruction together ?

Is it really as simple as connecting serial port - TTL convertor - VFD ? With some soldering / splicing to hang it all together ?




Basically, yeah. I'm making a PCB that will take care of some of the annoyances, but yeah. Empeg -> TTL converter -> VFD.

The main 'annoyance' is the header on the VFD for communications is a ribbon cable header, 10-pin. It carries everything needed - including the +5v.

Me.
_________________________
Mike 'Fox' Morrey 128BPM@124MPH. Love it! 2002 BRG Mini Cooper

Top
#140636 - 11/03/2003 10:29 is it completed? (silly repeater) [Re: altman]
falconvp
new poster

Registered: 04/08/1999
Posts: 16
Loc: Central TX, USA
Altman-

Just wondering if you have completed the install for this remote display (display repeater).

And, can you list ALL parts (part #s), and place(s) to order from to accomplish this? (i.e. the voltage pieces, serial adapters, whatever it takes)
(i can solder and build circuits, as long as i have schematics/diagrams and some instructions)


And, instead of the 128x32, can other sizes of displays from this same Itron company work?

thanks.
_________________________
Rio 30gb 1999 SAAB 9-5SE Mark1 10gb '87 SAAB 9000T glad I don't shuffle tapes/CDs anymore

Top
#140637 - 11/03/2003 12:07 Re: is it completed? (silly repeater) [Re: falconvp]
Daria
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/01/2002
Posts: 3927
Loc: Somerville, MA
And, instead of the 128x32


And, can I get a pony?

Top
#140638 - 11/03/2003 12:15 Re: is it completed? (silly repeater) [Re: Daria]
tonyc
carpal tunnel

Registered: 27/06/1999
Posts: 7058
Loc: Pittsburgh, PA
And, can I get a pony?
Come on, be nice to the new guys.
_________________________
- Tony C
my empeg stuff

Top
#140639 - 11/03/2003 12:31 Re: is it completed? (silly repeater) [Re: tonyc]
Daria
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/01/2002
Posts: 3927
Loc: Somerville, MA
Come on, be nice to the new guys.


Um. Why should they be special?

Top
#140640 - 11/03/2003 12:40 Re: is it completed? (silly repeater) [Re: falconvp]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
instead of the 128x32, can other sizes of displays from this same Itron company work?
Instead of being snarky, I'll try to answer your question.

Probably not. The empeg's display and native and only format is 128x32. While you could conceivably use a differently sized display, you'd have to map 128x32 pixels to it, so that seems a little useless.

In addition, Hugo (altman) is one of the original developers of the empeg and he's modifying the player software to drive it. It's probably unlikely that it will get released as he has developed it, and we, the empeg-using public, do not have the requisite access to the player software to reproduce it. At the very least, I wouldn't hold my breath. So any thought of getting it to work quickly just by using his software is probably not realistic.

There are some other folks that are attempting similar things inspired by Hugo's repeater. You might want to take a look around in the programming and technical forums for information. (I forget who they are or what the thread titles would be; sorry.) They haven't publicly gotten too far, though.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#140641 - 11/03/2003 13:31 Re: is it completed? (silly repeater) [Re: wfaulk]
V99
member

Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 192
Loc: Phoenix, AZ
Noritake has lots of other serial displays that are 128x32 or higher.. Since we're writing the software to drive them the Empeg display could be integer scaled (for example one nice display is 256x64 and would fit right in a DIN slot), or you could display other info on the extra pieces of display, like say GPSApp (slightly modified), without interfering with your view of the Player. Going to a smaller res obviously has issues with what you want to crop off.

The two of particular interest to me (I got one of each) are the 140x32 7000-series and the 256x64 3100-series (specifically the D model is the one that is DIN-sized. The 3100s have apparently been replaced by 3900s that aren't much different, but their site isn't updated to reflect it.

The threads of interest are in Projects, Backlit Display and Project: External VFD Display.

If you're interested in hiding your Empeg in the trunk (my goal) I've also put together a serial controller with a Grayhill joystick that has all 7 actions on one stick (no direct link, go to grayhill.com and enter part number 60A). Eventually I'll have software ready to run that other people could use and write drivers for other displays. foxtrot_xray is working on his own software too for his 128x32.

Top
#140642 - 04/04/2003 08:08 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: altman]
furtive
old hand

Registered: 14/08/2001
Posts: 886
Loc: London, UK
Noble *spent*

Can I have a go when you get it???
_________________________
Mk2a RioCar 120Gb - now sold to the owner of my old car
Rio Karma - now on ebay...

Top
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3