Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#198454 - 14/01/2004 18:36 That old bugaboo -- Audible support
DLF
addict

Loc: Colorado, N.A.
Here's a N.Y. Times article extolling the virtues of listening to spoken word stuff on digital audio players, as opposed to buying disks/tapes. Audible support is pretty much topping my wish list for Karma II (that, and larger HDD).

#198455 - 14/01/2004 18:43 Re: That old bugaboo -- Audible support [Re: DLF]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
According to their web site, the Rio600/800/900 can play Audible files. So the question is... Can the Karma, and if not, why not since clearly prior Rio players could...

#198456 - 14/01/2004 19:09 Re: That old bugaboo -- Audible support [Re: DLF]
Jerz
addict

Loc: Jesusland
It would be nice to have the empeg play audible files as well as the Karma since I have an audible subscription to the WSJ. It's a pain to convert the files to .mp3 using Goldwave every morning but definately easier than burning a cd then creating the mp3.

#198457 - 15/01/2004 05:00 Re: That old bugaboo -- Audible support [Re: tfabris]
rob
carpal tunnel

Loc: Cambridge UK
Can the Karma, and if not, why not since clearly prior Rio players could

No, current Rio players do not play Audible. This is due to business reasons (you can't just decide to support Audible, it requires a business agreement).

Things are afoot however.

Rob

#198458 - 15/01/2004 05:02 Re: That old bugaboo -- Audible support [Re: Jerz]
rob
carpal tunnel

It would be nice to have the empeg play audible files as well

I'm not sure the Linux architecture would accommodate the requirements of the DRM. With more and more commercial content on the scene the future of Linux in embedded audio applications looks bleak

Rob

#198459 - 15/01/2004 05:29 Re: That old bugaboo -- Audible support [Re: rob]
julf
veteran

Loc: Amsterdam, The Netherlands