Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#206090 - 21/02/2004 19:05 How to ghost a RAID array (Win2k3)?
johnmcd3
enthusiast

Registered: 19/04/2001
Posts: 369
Loc: Seattle, WA (formerly Houston,...
I can't figure this out for some reason, can one of you guys point me in the right direction?

I have a Windows 2003 Server that I'd like to entirely back up to another hard disk. My plan was to try to boot on some kind of DOS disk and run ghost.

Problem is, the partition is on a RAID5 Array on a Promise SX4000. I can't figure out how to create a bootdisk that would have the correct drivers to be able to ghost from the array to another hard disk.

Is this the right way to go with this?

John
_________________________
1998 BMW ///M3 30 GB Mk2a, Tuner, and 10 GB backup

Top
#206091 - 21/02/2004 19:41 Re: How to ghost a RAID array (Win2k3)? [Re: johnmcd3]
drakino
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/06/1999
Posts: 7868
Loc: Seattle, WA
I doubt you will be able to ghost it all, depending on the setup. The array controllers I have worked with provide INT 13 BIOS support to allow booting to DOS, but only on the first array. The only purpose of this support is so that a real network OS can be booted, such as Netware, or a Windows install process.

The best solution would be to use the built in backup program and save the backup to the hard disk you were planning on using. Or, if the array controller allows it, mirror the data to the new hard disk(s) then remove them. I've always done OS installs onto Raid 1 with online spares so that I can clone the OS to experment on simply by pulling out a hard drive or two.
_________________________
Tom

Top
#206092 - 21/02/2004 22:26 Re: How to ghost a RAID array (Win2k3)? [Re: drakino]
johnmcd3
enthusiast

Registered: 19/04/2001
Posts: 369
Loc: Seattle, WA (formerly Houston,...
Hmmm. I know the windows install disks know how to load the RAID driver from a floppy when you boot from the CD, but I don't know how to get to a prompt from there except the recovery console, from which you can't run real programs. Ghost probably still wouldn't because it isn't true DOS.

I went ahead and did the builtin windows backup thing, which annoyingly can't back about 8 files that windws is using. That's why I like using ghost offline.

I do like the idea of using RAID1 to create the back, unfortunantly the partition on the drive is bigger than extra hard disks I have (even though the data is not and can thus be ghosted / windows backuped.) I'll keep this plan in mind next time I set something like this up.

I appreciate your help-- I'll post if I come up with a better solution.

John
_________________________
1998 BMW ///M3 30 GB Mk2a, Tuner, and 10 GB backup

Top
#206093 - 21/02/2004 22:34 Re: How to ghost a RAID array (Win2k3)? [Re: johnmcd3]
brendanhoar
enthusiast

Registered: 09/06/2003
Posts: 297
Most Windows server systems I've seen setup have usually had hardware-only RAID-1 on the boot/system drive, and then the more complicated driver-requirin' RAID-5 on data/application volumes. Presumably, because of similar issues?

-brendan

Top
#206094 - 21/02/2004 22:46 Re: How to ghost a RAID array (Win2k3)? [Re: brendanhoar]
johnmcd3
enthusiast

Registered: 19/04/2001
Posts: 369
Loc: Seattle, WA (formerly Houston,...
Presumably, because of similar issues?
Live and learn, eh?

I'll use that setup in the future.

John
_________________________
1998 BMW ///M3 30 GB Mk2a, Tuner, and 10 GB backup

Top
#206095 - 22/02/2004 04:16 Re: How to ghost a RAID array (Win2k3)? [Re: johnmcd3]
andy
carpal tunnel

Registered: 10/06/1999
Posts: 5745
Loc: Wivenhoe, Essex, UK
Would something like this be useful:

http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/

It gives you a bootable Windows CD, with a cut down Windows enviroment.
_________________________
Remind me to change my signature to something more interesting someday

Top
#206096 - 22/02/2004 14:39 Re: How to ghost a RAID array (Win2k3)? [Re: johnmcd3]
siberia37
old hand

Registered: 09/01/2002
Posts: 702
Loc: Tacoma,WA
As long as the Promise provides an Int 13 BIOS for the RAID it will work without any kind of special setup. We have ghosted Dell RAID arrays all their cards provide the Int 13.. if yours doesn't see if you can turn it on.. otherwise you are SOL unless you do a RAW copy which will be utterly useless.

Top
#206097 - 23/02/2004 20:38 Re: How to ghost a RAID array (Win2k3)? [Re: siberia37]
tracerbullet
addict

Registered: 08/01/2002
Posts: 419
Loc: Minnesota
Here's what I'd try, for what it's worth:

Make a ghost boot-up floppy. See if it sees the RAID drive(s). If it does, it should work. If not, hey it was worth a shot.

I've got SATA RAID and this worked for me. I didn't have to do anything special to see the drive.

Top
#206098 - 24/02/2004 10:30 Re: How to ghost a RAID array (SOLVED!) [Re: siberia37]
johnmcd3
enthusiast

Registered: 19/04/2001
Posts: 369
Loc: Seattle, WA (formerly Houston,...
Guys,

Thanks for all of your help. I learn so much from the other people on this BBS.

Turns out I've just been an idiot all along. I did try booting with a DOS disk before, but when I couldn't type "C:" it confirmed my preconcieved notition that I needed a special driver to see the array. Of course, the real reason was just that DOS disks can't read NTFS, not that it couldn't see the partitions.

So now I'm all ready for disaster! Sorry I'm so thick-headed, and thanks for your help!

John
_________________________
1998 BMW ///M3 30 GB Mk2a, Tuner, and 10 GB backup

Top
#206099 - 24/02/2004 10:39 Re: How to ghost a RAID array (Win2k3)? [Re: andy]
johnmcd3
enthusiast

Registered: 19/04/2001
Posts: 369
Loc: Seattle, WA (formerly Houston,...
Andy,

That is such a cool utility! Before I discovered the easy way, I played around with this program which also solved the problem.

I had to create an inf file to get the program to use my RAID drivers, but I eventually got it to build me a CD from which I can essentially boot into a Win2k3 enviroment, complete with RAID, network access, Nero cd burning, and plenty of system utilities.

Thanks again for linking that for me-- I'm sure I'll use it again.

John
_________________________
1998 BMW ///M3 30 GB Mk2a, Tuner, and 10 GB backup

Top
#206100 - 24/02/2004 10:57 Re: How to ghost a RAID array (Win2k3)? [Re: johnmcd3]
belezeebub
addict

Registered: 11/01/2001
Posts: 579
I ghost my system all the time to my online raid 50 array ghost will do it, use the image file option and space doesn't matter.


use can also use drive copy and PDQ
_________________________
______________________________________ Do not meddle in the affairs of Network Administrators, for they are subtle and quick to anger. ______________________________________ Worlds Lamest Wb Site (mine) http://home.comcast.net/~jlipchitz/

Top