Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#213277 - 14/04/2004 20:14 Can OBDII ...
gbeer
carpal tunnel

Registered: 17/12/2000
Posts: 2654
Loc: Manteca, California


Recieve data and put it up on the Drivers Information Center?
You know, where I'm going with this.

BTW: The DIC on my SSR has 20 characters.


Attachments
212050-dic.jpg (524 downloads)

_________________________
Glenn

Top
#213278 - 15/04/2004 07:51 Re: Can OBDII ... [Re: gbeer]
siberia37
old hand

Registered: 09/01/2002
Posts: 702
Loc: Tacoma,WA
OBDII could retrieve data- it couldn't it "put" it anywhere though. The empeg (or laptop whatever) that is accessing the OBD-II interface would have to be responsible for that. So if the lcd your showing is something built into your car it's doubtful you could do anything custom with it without tearing it out and reverse engineering the connections or replacing it with a Nortake VFD or something.

Top
#213279 - 15/04/2004 09:09 Re: Can OBDII ... [Re: gbeer]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
I know that someone has figured out how to display arbitrary information on Audi displays like that. It's probably CANBUS and not OBD2, I'd bet.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#213280 - 15/04/2004 17:24 Re: Can OBDII ... [Re: wfaulk]
DzlDubber
stranger

Registered: 13/02/2002
Posts: 36
Yeah, the Audi's use CAN for that... i would bet that most new cars do the same.

Top
#213281 - 15/04/2004 21:38 Canbus was Re: Can OBDII ... [Re: wfaulk]
gbeer
carpal tunnel

Registered: 17/12/2000
Posts: 2654
Loc: Manteca, California
This would seem to make it easy to connect empeg to canbus. Now to find out if my that display is addressable via same.
_________________________
Glenn

Top
#213282 - 25/04/2004 13:38 In car networks, Chevy SSR, Re: Can OBDII ... [Re: wfaulk]
gbeer
carpal tunnel

Registered: 17/12/2000
Posts: 2654
Loc: Manteca, California
I've been doing a lot of searching since the last post. Canbus is still in the future for GM.

It seems that Chevy is still using something referred to loosely as the, OBD-II, Class 2, or J1850, network. The OBD-II terminal is a connector on that network. Many new Chevys have radios (particularly rds radios) that play a role on that network. Warning chimes play thru the FL speaker. Bose head units output a fixed level line output, and send volume commands to the amp. Steering wheel controls likewise talk over the net, I assume directly to the amp. Onstar uses it to control with the headunit (don't have onstar). XM radios can be controlled by the headunit, and cause the diasplay of text on it.

There are devices that will read and write to this network via a Serial connection. About $85.

An odd fact. The packets sent on the network are very small, just a few bytes of data. I guess this is so no one device can saturate the net.

I'll post some of the links I found later.



_________________________
Glenn

Top
#213283 - 25/04/2004 19:15 In car networks, Chevy SSR, Re: Can OBDII ... [Re: gbeer]
gbeer
carpal tunnel

Registered: 17/12/2000
Posts: 2654
Loc: Manteca, California
links:

1 Short discription of Class 2 network
2 Multiplex Engineering, serial to J1850. ~$85 interface. No software.
3 Card Labs, some J1850 related specs available here.
4 Adv. Vehicle Tech. listing of J1850 devices. Chips listed here. Complete products are very expensive $800-1500
5 ScanTool.net $85 interface
6 ScanTool.net Free software & source code.
7 more links to specs and data sheets.

Serious prices, but snoops everything.
8 Vehicle Spy software. $1995
9 NeoVI vehicle interface for above. $1995

10 Freediag on sourceforge.
_________________________
Glenn

Top
#327274 - 02/11/2009 12:29 Re: In car networks, Chevy SSR, Re: Can OBDII ... [Re: gbeer]
bbowman
enthusiast

Registered: 12/05/2002
Posts: 205
Loc: Virginia, USA
Has there been any progress on this? I'm about to buy a BMW 335 XI (2008) and my heart is breaking that I cannot install my empeg.

I'm thinking I can mount just the display of the empeg somewhere and use the steering wheel buttons to control it. Has anyone else installed an empeg in the 2008 BMW? I don't think it has the DIN format. I'm thinking that the customization will have to be dramatic.
_________________________
Brent
RioCar MK][a 20GB+80GB
'96 Saab 900s (Not any more)
Still looking for a good way to install in a 2010 BMW 3 series with iDrive/NAV

Top
#327279 - 02/11/2009 16:11 Re: In car networks, Chevy SSR, Re: Can OBDII ... [Re: bbowman]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30784
Loc: Seattle, WA
Remember that if you want to remote-mount the display, you need to use a display extender kit, you can't just lengthen the cable.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#327286 - 02/11/2009 18:46 Re: In car networks, Chevy SSR, Re: Can OBDII ... [Re: tfabris]
bbowman
enthusiast

Registered: 12/05/2002
Posts: 205
Loc: Virginia, USA
LOL! I just finished reading that entire thread and responeded. Are they still available?

I found out about it because of your delicious FAQ. It's good to see that you are keeping it so informative, Mr. Fabris smile.


Edited by bbowman (02/11/2009 18:49)
_________________________
Brent
RioCar MK][a 20GB+80GB
'96 Saab 900s (Not any more)
Still looking for a good way to install in a 2010 BMW 3 series with iDrive/NAV

Top