Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#217199 - 27/05/2004 07:53 A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy.
merc
stranger

Registered: 16/05/2004
Posts: 41
First... I've read the FAQ many, many times and just can't find this info anywhere, although I know it has to be there somewhere...

I downloaded the latest Emplode and am using it, but how can I tell what versions of firmware and Hijack are on the RioCar itself?

My other question involves Emplode. At the bottom of the emplode screen, it says that I have only 450mb left on my 55.7Gb hard drive space??? Is this just a glitch in the software? When I search the hard drive contents or sync and look at Emplode, the only contents I can see are the MP3s I downloaded.

If these topics are addressed in the FAQ, and I was just too dumb to find them, links to my answers are welcome.

Thanks for any and all help you can offer me!
_________________________
Take Care, merc

Top
#217200 - 27/05/2004 07:56 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: merc]
pgrzelak
carpal tunnel

Registered: 15/08/2000
Posts: 4859
Loc: New Jersey, USA
Greetings!

Go to the "about" option on the player menu. It will tell you the version of the main firmware (likely to be 2.0). As for the version of hijack, if it is loaded (and somewhat recent) there should be a boot popup with the version number. If not, set up a serial link and watch the boot log. It will show you there as well.

As to the space, 450MB of 55.7GB???!!!??? You might want to use emplode to search for files with zero references. The person you received it from may have deleted their playlists, but didn't actually remove the music from the player.
_________________________
Paul Grzelak
200GB with 48MB RAM, Illuminated Buttons and Digital Outputs

Top
#217201 - 27/05/2004 08:11 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: pgrzelak]
merc
stranger

Registered: 16/05/2004
Posts: 41
Paul,
Thank you very much for your quick help!

How can I "search" for files with zero references from within emplode? I don't see any "Search" menu items or tools?
_________________________
Take Care, merc

Top
#217202 - 27/05/2004 08:13 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: merc]
merc
stranger

Registered: 16/05/2004
Posts: 41
ARgh... sorry. I found the search. Now, how do I do the one for zero references?

Thanks.
_________________________
Take Care, merc

Top
#217203 - 27/05/2004 08:19 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: merc]
pgrzelak
carpal tunnel

Registered: 15/08/2000
Posts: 4859
Loc: New Jersey, USA
I think it is refs=0, but I know it is in the FAQ. I do not use it much, so I don't remember off hand.

Edit: added FAQ link, but that was the right search term.


Edited by pgrzelak (27/05/2004 08:23)
_________________________
Paul Grzelak
200GB with 48MB RAM, Illuminated Buttons and Digital Outputs

Top
#217204 - 27/05/2004 09:16 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: merc]
bbowman
enthusiast

Registered: 12/05/2002
Posts: 205
Loc: Virginia, USA
You can also use JEmplode to create some SOUP playlists based on what is already there. Not sure if Emplode has that feature or not - haven't used it for a very long time.
_________________________
Brent
RioCar MK][a 20GB+80GB
'96 Saab 900s (Not any more)
Still looking for a good way to install in a 2010 BMW 3 series with iDrive/NAV

Top
#217205 - 27/05/2004 09:46 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar [Re: pgrzelak]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 13708
Loc: Canada
Lest we forget..

The proper way to see the current Hijack version is to play a game of BreakOut from the Hijack menu!!

Cheers

Top
#217206 - 27/05/2004 10:34 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: pgrzelak]
merc
stranger

Registered: 16/05/2004
Posts: 41
Okay. I did the refs=0 search and all it brings up are the MP3s I just added?

Emplode still only shows 459mb estimated free space; 55.7Gb Capacity.

What can I do next?
_________________________
Take Care, merc

Top
#217207 - 27/05/2004 10:37 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: merc]
BartDG
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/05/2001
Posts: 2534
Loc: Bruges, Belgium
You can always run the disk builder which completely wipes your player and re-partitions and formats your HD. Of course, you'd have to applie 2.0 developer of the software then again too, but all in all I think you should be able to do this in half an hour.
_________________________
Riocar 80gig S/N : 010101580 red
Riocar 80gig (010102106) - backup

Top
#217208 - 27/05/2004 10:53 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: BartDG]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30897
Loc: Seattle, WA
Archeon's probably right. There could be something else taking up disk space on those hard disks. Run the builder and start over. But just in case... also read this, specifically the important note that's highlighted.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#217209 - 27/05/2004 11:40 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: tfabris]
merc
stranger

Registered: 16/05/2004
Posts: 41
Thanks guys.

I have no idea what could be the problem?
The MP3 files that I put on the unit only total 221Mb in space.

I'm guessing that I need to run the builder(whatever that is?), from a serial connection instead of via an ethernet connection, right?

PS - it looks like the unit has v2.71 of Hijack on it.


Edited by merc (27/05/2004 11:41)
_________________________
Take Care, merc

Top
#217210 - 27/05/2004 11:44 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: merc]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30897
Loc: Seattle, WA
Right, the builder is meant to be used when you upgrade your hard disks. It erases them completely and lays down the partitions correctly. In theory, that shouldn't be needed on your player if it was working correctly for the original owner, but clearly something is up. The instructions for using the builder are in the disk upgrade guide.

You sure the thing isn't full of his music still? Look in all of the "trees" in emplode, open up all of the little plus signs.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#217211 - 27/05/2004 11:54 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: tfabris]
merc
stranger

Registered: 16/05/2004
Posts: 41
In reply to:

You sure the thing isn't full of his music still? Look in all of the "trees" in emplode, open up all of the little plus signs.


The only thing that I see when I look in emplode are the files, artists, years, albums that I added. The only playlist the shows is the one I added, although, there was a + sign next to playlist even before I added one. Before I added a playlist nothing would happen when I clicked on the + sign to expand that tree?

There must be some other stuff on the HDs from the previous owner... so it looks like I just need to reformat and start all over again...

I hope the step by step instructions to do that are in the faq...
_________________________
Take Care, merc

Top
#217212 - 27/05/2004 11:59 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar [Re: merc]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
It's also possible that he used the empeg as a file taxi and has some big files on there that aren't visible through emplode. You could check it out with an ftp client, maybe, but if you don't care what it might be, assuming that this guess is correct, it'd be easier to just do the disk builder thing, probably.

And it probably isn't right anyway, as if his taxied files were that big, he'd have had no more space to put mp3s than you do now.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#217213 - 27/05/2004 12:03 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: merc]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30897
Loc: Seattle, WA
I hope the step by step instructions to do that are in the faq...
They are in the disk upgrade guide I linked above. You should have no trouble reformatting the disks with those instructions. I recommend you do them one at a time (I think you've got two 30's in there), which means you'd be opening the player to unplug one then the other. Again, the drive upgrade guide has all the details, especially what bits to be careful about as you open the player.

Assuming you're comfortable with that sort of thing, that is. Don't open the player unless you're normally good with that sort of thing.

This is something you probably should do anyway, to make sure the cable is crimped properly and the IDE header doesn't have solder problems and that the rubber shock mounts are intact.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#217214 - 27/05/2004 12:18 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: tfabris]
merc
stranger

Registered: 16/05/2004
Posts: 41
In the instructions to reformat, they mention using Hyperterminal? Is this internal to the developer software or is it referring to the old Windows applet which I used to use to connect in the olden days?

If this Hypertermninal is the windows applet, how do I set it up to use with the formatting software and serial connection?

Also, what software upgrades should I apply first before reformatting? Is it the "Rio Car (Empeg Car Mark 2) Consumer image" that I need to install first?

Do I also need to upgrade HiJack too before reformatting? My unit currently has v2.71 of Hijack.

Damn this is a bit scary.


Edited by merc (27/05/2004 12:20)
_________________________
Take Care, merc

Top
#217215 - 27/05/2004 12:20 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: merc]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30897
Loc: Seattle, WA
Yes, hyperterminal is needed, it comes with Windows. There is a link to complete instructions on how to use it, right there inside the drive upgrade guide.

Since you are reformatting the drives from scratch, you don't install any software first. The software install comes after you format the disk. You want 2.0 developer for car2.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#217216 - 27/05/2004 12:29 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: tfabris]
merc
stranger

Registered: 16/05/2004
Posts: 41
Is the software I need to install after the format this one:
Rio Car (Empeg Car Mark 2) Developer image?
_________________________
Take Care, merc

Top
#217217 - 27/05/2004 12:31 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: merc]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30897
Loc: Seattle, WA
Yeah.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#217218 - 27/05/2004 12:37 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: tfabris]
merc
stranger

Registered: 16/05/2004
Posts: 41
Thank you very much Tony!

Now I'm gonna go offline, hook up the serial cable, set up hyperterminal, start the disk builder and hold my breath.

Wish me luck.
_________________________
Take Care, merc

Top
#217219 - 27/05/2004 13:37 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: merc]
merc
stranger

Registered: 16/05/2004
Posts: 41
SWEEET SUCCESS!!!

Did drive builder, then developer image, then loaded 3 albums. EVerything appears to be working perfectly and emode now shows more than 55Gb of space available.

Hijack is gone though... so I guess I need to install HiJack next.

Thanks again to everyone, especially Tony, for all your help!!!
_________________________
Take Care, merc

Top
#217220 - 27/05/2004 13:39 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: merc]
BartDG
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/05/2001
Posts: 2534
Loc: Bruges, Belgium
It might be a good idea to let the disk builder run two or three times consecutively.

There is a bug in it, and if that bug happens your partitions will not be corretly implemented. I had this happen to me EVERY time I used disk builder.

The easy fix is to let the disk builder run two or three times consecutively. (just reboot the empeg with the disk builder on it and press <return> once it's booted IIRC)
Sure, it takes a little while longer, but then you can be sure of a perfect install.

Hope this helps.
_________________________
Riocar 80gig S/N : 010101580 red
Riocar 80gig (010102106) - backup

Top
#217221 - 27/05/2004 13:40 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: BartDG]
BartDG
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/05/2001
Posts: 2534
Loc: Bruges, Belgium
OK, it seems not to be necessary anymore since you've succesfully did the operation. Congrats !
_________________________
Riocar 80gig S/N : 010101580 red
Riocar 80gig (010102106) - backup

Top
#217222 - 27/05/2004 13:50 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: BartDG]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30897
Loc: Seattle, WA
The bug in the builder only happens on big big drives, and I think he's probably got two 30's in there, so the glitch wouldn't happen.

And Merc, Hijack has to be re-installed after every installation of new player firmware. Since the player firmware writes the flash kernel.

Remember that Hijack isn't a requirement, it's just an add-on that gives you some extra cool features. Your player should be working fine right now and you don't need to do anything else to it if you don't want to.

Of course, we all think that Hijack is the best invention since the thong panty, so we'd all recommend installing it.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#217223 - 27/05/2004 13:52 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: BartDG]
merc
stranger

Registered: 16/05/2004
Posts: 41
Actually, I did run disk builder twice... but not on purpose. I finished running it the first time, closed Hyperterminal, and pulled the plug. Then, I replugged it and before I could start the upgrade of the developer image, the disk builder started formatting/pumping all over again, so, I waited till it began to test again, and then did the developer upgrade.

So, it may very well be that it still does take two runs of the disk builder to work?
_________________________
Take Care, merc

Top
#217224 - 27/05/2004 14:18 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: merc]
pgrzelak
carpal tunnel

Registered: 15/08/2000
Posts: 4859
Loc: New Jersey, USA
Greetings!

Indeed. The bug in the builder software is no different based on the size of the drive. I have seen it on everything from 10GB through 80GB drives.

The fact that it ran through a second time without any intervention (did you have to hit a return through hyperterminal?) actually means that it did fail the first time, but worked the second...

Since you can load music and sync, I would not even worry about it. Download the most recent copy of hijack and load it up for yourself. Enjoy!
_________________________
Paul Grzelak
200GB with 48MB RAM, Illuminated Buttons and Digital Outputs

Top
#217225 - 27/05/2004 14:34 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: pgrzelak]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30897
Loc: Seattle, WA
I didn't realize the drive size was irrelevant. Sorry.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#217226 - 27/05/2004 14:38 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: tfabris]
BartDG
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/05/2001
Posts: 2534
Loc: Bruges, Belgium
Paul is right, it doesn't take a large drive for the disk builder to fail. I've had it fail on me when I was using it on a 30gig drive, so that's not really that big. Paul has even seen it happen on a 10gig drive.

So whenever I use the diskbuilder I ALWAYS let it run 3 times, just to be sure.
_________________________
Riocar 80gig S/N : 010101580 red
Riocar 80gig (010102106) - backup

Top
#217227 - 27/05/2004 14:44 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: BartDG]
pgrzelak
carpal tunnel

Registered: 15/08/2000
Posts: 4859
Loc: New Jersey, USA
Suddenly, Dr. Ruth jokes are starting to appear in my head! Make it stop!!! Make it stop!!!

No worries. The important thing is that it is working. Now, about loading hijack... I am still using LogoEdit as the way to do this, personally.
_________________________
Paul Grzelak
200GB with 48MB RAM, Illuminated Buttons and Digital Outputs

Top
#217228 - 27/05/2004 14:45 Re: A few basic questions from a brand new RioCar guy. [Re: BartDG]
merc
stranger

Registered: 16/05/2004
Posts: 41


Thank you all very much for all your help and advice!!!
_________________________
Take Care, merc

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >