Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#220014 - 11/05/2001 13:36 HPNA Adapter compatibility?
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31064
Loc: Seattle, WA
At this address...

http://www.directron.com/homefree.html

is a description of a Diamond home phone network card that's on sale for $7.00 (assuming that's not a typo on their web site).

The problem is that their description says 1mbps. But when I look up the HomeFree product at the Diamond site it says 10mbps.

In any case, will this work with the receiver? If so, it's a steal at $7.00.

___________
Tony Fabris
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#220015 - 11/05/2001 16:20 Re: HPNA Adapter compatibility? [Re: tfabris]
drakino
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/06/1999
Posts: 7868
Loc: Seattle, WA
Yep, thats the older 1mb card that they show there. (That intel home networking class came in real handy, they taught us how to visually identify the 1 and 10 cards )

_________________________
Tom

Top
#220016 - 11/05/2001 16:29 Re: HPNA Adapter compatibility? [Re: drakino]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31064
Loc: Seattle, WA
Hmm. So the question is...

If one buys the 1mbps card for 7 bucks, will it work with the Rio Receiver?

I'd think 1mbps would be plenty to feed the receiver with, assuming the networking standards were compatible.

Anyone?

___________
Tony Fabris
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#220017 - 11/05/2001 16:43 Re: HPNA Adapter compatibility? [Re: tfabris]
drakino
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/06/1999
Posts: 7868
Loc: Seattle, WA
If the RioReciever is completly HPNA certified, then it should be able to back down to 1mbps for this. If I remember right, 1mbps cards would knock all devices in the house on the HPNA network to 1mbps.

_________________________
Tom

Top
#220018 - 11/05/2001 18:11 Re: HPNA Adapter compatibility? [Re: tfabris]
altman
carpal tunnel

Registered: 19/05/1999
Posts: 3450
Loc: Palo Alto, CA
It will work, but not very well - eg, they don't really get 1Mbit. You're lucky to get 320kbit streaming to one unit working with pna1.0 - they fixed a lot of stuff with 2.0 apart from bumping the speed.

Hugo



Top
#220019 - 11/05/2001 23:12 Re: HPNA Adapter compatibility? [Re: altman]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31064
Loc: Seattle, WA
It will work, but not very well - eg, they don't really get 1Mbit. You're lucky to get 320kbit streaming to one unit working with pna1.0

But if you've got only one unit, and your MP3s are all a lower average bit rate than 320, and you don't intend to use the PNA card for anything but the one receiver, should it be OK? The receiver has really robust buffering, right?

___________
Tony Fabris
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#220020 - 12/05/2001 08:15 Re: HPNA Adapter compatibility? [Re: tfabris]
altman
carpal tunnel

Registered: 19/05/1999
Posts: 3450
Loc: Palo Alto, CA
YMMV. We never had any PNA1.0 cards to test with, but we did hear horror stories from the test department.

It'll take longer to boot, obviously. From a linux point of view though, it has no idea what transport everything is running over.

Hugo



Top