Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#224657 - 02/03/2004 13:55 runtime error with armgr.exe during database build
AlB
member

Registered: 06/02/2002
Posts: 149
Loc: SF
I've been using rio receivers for a while now all over the house and recently upgraded my computer to XP. Rio reciever was doing just fine with XP and suddenly after adding some music I get this mysterious error:

Runtime error!
Program G\program files\audio recever\armgr.exe
this application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way. Please contact the the applications support teamfor more information

I have just over 8000 tracks and tried reducing that number to less with no change in the error. the error appears at various times usually when building the database, reading files. I tried downloading latest software and got the same result. someone must have run itno this but o have not seen any FAQ or searches. I tried reinstalling and rebooting with no effect.

any ideas??

Top
#224658 - 02/03/2004 14:23 log file of runtime error attached [Re: AlB]
AlB
member

Registered: 06/02/2002
Posts: 149
Loc: SF
Here is the log file: It just appears to stop while importing files I will attache a couple to see if it is random


Attachments
4837-armgrlog.txt (784 downloads)


Top
#224659 - 03/03/2004 11:53 Re: runtime error with armgr.exe during database build [Re: AlB]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30784
Loc: Seattle, WA
Try reducing the number of tracks significantly. For instance, reducing it to just 1000 or so. It might be this known problem.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#224660 - 03/03/2004 17:41 Re: runtime error with armgr.exe during database build [Re: tfabris]
AlB
member

Registered: 06/02/2002
Posts: 149
Loc: SF
Thanks Tony,
It appears to be a random error, and it does not involve the player but rather when you are creating the database (either for the first time or when adding music and rebuilding). I loaded XP and reloaded the software when I switched computer OS's and it was working fine with 7900 tunes. THe problem started when I added some new music to the computer and went to rebuild the database.
It occurs during the "reading file details..." portion of the database rebuild. I tried all of the latest software for Rio and the same error occurs.

It appears to be random as I have tried loading just an albums worth of music and it crashes sometimes and not others.
I would like to try some of the alternatives (Trio) but I am not that versed in JAva or the instructions are geared towards programmers. I think the problem would reside with any software that use the ARM program.

Top
#224661 - 04/03/2004 10:48 Re: runtime error with armgr.exe during database build [Re: AlB]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30784
Loc: Seattle, WA
It occurs during the "reading file details..." portion of the database rebuild.

Aha. Then it's likely some kind of garbage attached to one of the files that's screwing up its tag parser. Stuff like JPEG album covers, nonstandard tags, huge comment fields, that sort of thing. Check for that.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#224662 - 04/03/2004 20:44 Re: runtime error with armgr.exe during database build [Re: tfabris]
AlB
member

Registered: 06/02/2002
Posts: 149
Loc: SF
Hmmm that would not explain the random nature of the bug. I have tried with one collection I know is pristine and some times it goes thru it w/o a hitch and sometimes errors out. Also it ran fine with the same collwction for about a year. I tried doing multiple logs to see where it crashes but it does not want to save more than one (attached earlier)


Edited by AlB (04/03/2004 20:48)

Top
#224663 - 04/03/2004 20:51 Re: runtime error with armgr.exe during database build [Re: AlB]
AlB
member

Registered: 06/02/2002
Posts: 149
Loc: SF
Here is another log (attached) of the ARM showing a different quit point, no indication of an error, it just stops...

Could it be that my root drive (i.e. the xp install is on drive G (not sure why this is but thats where it ended up!) is causing the problems? Should I reinstall XP as a C drive


Attachments
4856-armgrlog.txt (1155 downloads)


Top
#224664 - 04/03/2004 20:53 Re: runtime error with armgr.exe during database build [Re: AlB]
AlB
member

Registered: 06/02/2002
Posts: 149
Loc: SF
Here is another log where I added just one album and it manages to get through it.... Very sad


Attachments
4857-armgrlog.txt (611 downloads)


Top