Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#224938 - 22/06/2004 13:59 Volume control
dr_dos
member

Registered: 02/03/2002
Posts: 134
Loc: Bendorf, Germany
Is there actually a way to get a volume control implemented?

Peter

Top
#224939 - 23/06/2004 10:07 Re: Volume control [Re: dr_dos]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30544
Loc: Seattle, WA
Play all your music from a Rio Receiver?
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#224940 - 24/06/2004 09:55 Re: Volume control [Re: tfabris]
dr_dos
member

Registered: 02/03/2002
Posts: 134
Loc: Bendorf, Germany
That's not quite what I wanted
So, does that mean it's not possible? No volume control on a central at all?

Peter

Top
#224941 - 24/06/2004 10:44 Re: Volume control [Re: dr_dos]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30544
Loc: Seattle, WA
The Central has only line-level and digital outputs, not speaker outputs. That means it was meant to be plugged into a stereo system that's already got an amplifier with its own volume control. In fact, I'm curious as to how you're even amplifying it in such a way that you don't already have another volume control for it.

To answer your question directly:

- You could write your own Linux/ARM player software from scratch which includes a volume control.

- You could figure out how to hack the kernel to include some kind of rudimentary volume control, although integrating it into the main player UI would probably prove to be quite tricky.

- You could purchase and wire up a stereo potentiometer on the RCA output cables.

- You could hack the stereo potentiometer into the casing of the unit.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#224942 - 28/06/2004 20:44 Re: Volume control [Re: tfabris]
dr_dos
member

Registered: 02/03/2002
Posts: 134
Loc: Bendorf, Germany
In fact, I'm curious as to how you're even amplifying it in such a way that you don't already have another volume control for it.

A volume control is already there (the central is hooked up to a Kenwood pre-amplifier, which is connected to a Behringer Ultra Curve Pro 8024 DSP, which is connected to two Denon POA 4400 pwr amplifiers) - what I wanted is a volume control via the remote control. But, as it looks like, it'll be easier to get a pre-amp w/remote (volume) control than to get it implemented into the central.

Peter

Top
#224943 - 29/06/2004 00:05 Re: Volume control [Re: dr_dos]
msaeger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 23/09/2000
Posts: 3608
Loc: Minnetonka, MN
I know what you mean. I said I wanted that and they said I was crazy too.
_________________________

Matt

Top
#224944 - 04/08/2004 08:18 Re: Volume control [Re: msaeger]
altman
carpal tunnel

Registered: 19/05/1999
Posts: 3449
Loc: Palo Alto, CA
Volume is possible, in the same way that volume was hacked into the Rio Receiver - the same DAC (PCM1716) is used, which has a digital attenuation control in it which is unused currently.

A kernel hack could easily trap certain IR codes and use these to adjust the DAC's volume control. This wouldn't affect SPDIF, just line out.

Hugo

Top