Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#228421 - 25/07/2004 03:42 Whitewater?
canuckInOR
carpal tunnel

Loc: Portland, OR
No, not some political scandal. I'm talking about kayaking. I just started learning how to ride the rough stuff. So far, I ride the rough stuff upsidedown, chatting with the fishes. I learned to roll last weekend, but it's not quite bombproof, to say the least. Any other kayakers on the board?

#228422 - 25/07/2004 06:21 Re: Whitewater? [Re: canuckInOR]
mtempsch
pooh-bah

Loc: Gothenburg, Sweden
Used to compete in slalom in my teens (13-18 or so). Then school took to much time...
Been thinking of getting a new kayak as I have whitewater available not even a kilometer away...

#228423 - 25/07/2004 13:14 Re: Whitewater? [Re: canuckInOR]
hybrid8
carpal tunnel

Loc: Toronto, CANADA
I kayak, but only recreationally. No whitewater. I do enjoy it, so as I get more storage space (for additional kayaks) and more disposable funds (for additional kayaks and possible hospital bills), I may take up whitewater. The availability of faster moving rivers just means more driving - but easier to stack the smaller boats. I'd also really love to get a longer (and much faster) composite boat at some point (I definitely don't have the space nor money for that right now).

I'll be vacationing for just over a week in Northern Ontario at the beginning of August, so I plan to head out on as many lakes as possible and cover a decent amount of distance/area on the water. We're staying in a cottage on lake Temiskaming near Haileybury (home of the original author of the Hardy Boys). The lake is huge and there are dozens of other lakes and rivers within close driving distance.

Bruno

#228424 - 25/07/2004 16:54 Re: Whitewater? [Re: hybrid8]
Whitey

Loc: Louisiana, USA