Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#233274 - 13/09/2004 10:47 FLAC cue files
mdavey
enthusiast

Registered: 06/03/2003
Posts: 269
Loc: Wellingborough, UK
Hypothetically, if a version 3 (perhaps beta) were to be released, would this hypothetical version likely support treating a FLAC album as a playlist containing the individual songs? That would be very nice, especially if the individual songs could be picked up by the soup playlists.

In this increasingly improbable scenario, it would be super nice if the same could hypothetically apply to an Ogg file created from that FLAC album
_________________________
Michael
Ex-owner of stolen empeg #030102741

Top
#233275 - 13/09/2004 12:29 Re: FLAC cue files [Re: mdavey]
image
old hand

Registered: 28/04/2002
Posts: 770
Loc: Los Angeles, CA
i've tried many a times to get cue support for mp3s implemented. just no interest. if you can program, you can probably hack emphatic to read the cue file in the tag and display track names at appropriate times.

Top
#233276 - 23/07/2005 13:52 Re: FLAC cue files [Re: mdavey]
Defiler
journeyman

Registered: 23/09/2003
Posts: 50
I would love this to happen. I'd be willing to chip in with some cash for a bounty, if that seems like a good idea. That seems to have worked for the Japanese support. Heh.

Top
#233277 - 24/07/2005 07:10 Re: FLAC cue files [Re: Defiler]
peter
carpal tunnel

Registered: 13/07/2000
Posts: 4140
Loc: Cambridge, England
I think that with the very constricted development resources available now for car-player releases, it wouldn't make much sense to implement something that can be perfectly emulated using existing features. Can't you just divide these FLACs up into individual tracks? Surely cue-sheet FLACs are just an ugly workaround for players which, unlike the car-player, are too feeble to play normal FLAC tracks completely gaplessly?

Peter

Top
#233278 - 24/07/2005 18:33 Re: FLAC cue files [Re: peter]
andym
carpal tunnel

Registered: 17/01/2002
Posts: 3977
Loc: Manchester UK
Even with my limited experience I found that v3 didn't miss a beat (literally) when it came to playing back a flac encoded mix album without gaps.
_________________________
Cheers,

Andy M

Top
#233279 - 25/07/2005 02:40 Re: FLAC cue files [Re: andym]
DeadFire
addict

Registered: 30/05/2002
Posts: 695
I've been running v3alpha8 for a good number of months now, with my entire CD collection encoded as Ogg Vorbis at 192kbps. To me it sounds as good or better than the 320kbps MP3s I used to have.

And as for gapless playback - never any problems. Those who listen to TOOL may know how difficult it was to get a smooth transition from Parabol to Parabola. When I had gapless MP3s (LAME, of course), that was the one transition that never came out right.

Top
#233280 - 27/07/2005 12:23 Re: FLAC cue files [Re: DeadFire]
tman
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/12/2001
Posts: 5528
Quote:
I've been running v3alpha8 for a good number of months now, with my entire CD collection encoded as Ogg Vorbis at 192kbps. To me it sounds as good or better than the 320kbps MP3s I used to have.

Ogg Vorbis at 192Kbps is nowhere near as good as MP3 at 320Kbps though. Ogg Vorbis is better at a given bitrate but not that good. I guess it's a subjective thing, if it sounds okay for you then go for it

Top
#233281 - 27/07/2005 16:20 Re: FLAC cue files [Re: tman]
DeadFire
addict

Registered: 30/05/2002
Posts: 695
I chose this bitrate after listening to on headphones, select songs from several of the albums I own, going back and forth from 320kbps MP3 (LAME) to various Ogg Vorbis bitrates. 160kbps was where I could no longer tell the difference. So I chose 192kbps, figuring that the road noise in my car would overshadow any imperfections I might hear. So far, neither I nor any passengers have noticed any impurities.

So, your ears are much better than mine. And I'm not surprised; I've had problems with them all my life.

Top
#233282 - 29/08/2005 15:00 Re: FLAC cue files [Re: DeadFire]
ratscrew
new poster

Registered: 30/10/2000
Posts: 12
I also would love for this to happen.

I have 1000+ cds recorded as a single file alongside a cue sheet. The main reason I did this is to make re-recording the cd as perfect as possible. (re-creating gaps). Also, at the time of recording, there was probably far less players that were able to play consecutive files gaplessly, so I am sure that went into my decision as well.

Are there not a lot of single file flac users out there? I guess I thought it would be way more common than it appears to be from the 2 interested parties. Seems like the best way to archive cds, but I am sure this is a debatable subject.

Top
#233283 - 29/08/2005 17:19 Re: FLAC cue files [Re: ratscrew]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Yeah. It makes sense if your intent is to have an archive of a CD that'll let you recreate the CD exactly, but it's not as useful for playing directly. The best thing to do would probably be to reencode from your FLACs to something else, using the CUE sheet as reference. Surely there's something out there that will do that.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#233284 - 30/08/2005 19:10 Re: FLAC cue files [Re: wfaulk]
ratscrew
new poster

Registered: 30/10/2000
Posts: 12
yes, there are a bunch of programs to do so... i was just hoping to have the best of both worlds.

Top