Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#239029 - 26/10/2004 15:44 Rio Receiver Remote Control
vodkanut
new poster

First off, be gentle, I'm not a programmer like most of the guys here, I barely know what a driver thingie does. That being said, my barely used rio receiver won't power on using the remote control with my PC off. Turn the PC on, and the remote works. Any ideas? thanks.

#239030 - 26/10/2004 15:54 Re: Rio Receiver Remote Control [Re: vodkanut]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
I think this is normal behaivor.

The Rio Receiver is a slave unit. It runs its player software only after downloading it from the PC's hard disk, then it plays music streamed from the PC's hard disk. If the PC is turned off, the Rio Receiver can't get its player software, and therefore no program is running to "listen" for the signals from the remote.

Question: Since the Rio Receiver is just a slave unit and requires the PC in order to be useful, why are you even trying to turn it on without the PC?

#239031 - 26/10/2004 16:05 Re: Rio Receiver Remote Control [Re: vodkanut]
vodkanut
new poster

Thanks for the response. I had used it briefly a while back, I moved and just unboxed it again last night. I plugged it in and tried to power it up, and it would not until I hooked it back up to the PC again. Took me 2 hours to figure out that the firewall was set on on the connection due to the XP service pack 2 update. I'm learning. Is this updated software worth messing with?

#239032 - 26/10/2004 16:09 Re: Rio Receiver Remote Control [Re: vodkanut]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
I don't know which updated software you're refering to, but as a rule of thumb, you should run the latest version of software just to make sure the previous bugs are fixed.

#239033 - 06/11/2004 10:49 Re: Rio Receiver Remote Control [Re: vodkanut]
peter
carpal tunnel

Loc: Cambridge, England
Quote: