Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#241910 - 25/11/2004 10:42 Re: Deciphering Amp specs [Re: scollinguk]
frog51
pooh-bah

Loc: Edinburgh, Scotland
I'm going to have to weigh in here on Genixia's side - as a lot of my background is in design (both power and audio electronics) so I know a wee bit about it.

As Genixia says, the heatsink size is actually a very good indicator of power output (with some tweaks such as amplifier class and forced air induction vs convection etc needing to be taken into account) whereas in designing amplifiers some years back our fuse choice was almost always a "what stock have we got that is around about right to avoid component destruction?" not actually to do with power output as such. In some circumstances there was a correlation, but in general it was more down to what parts we had or could get hold of easily.

And even there, it will only give you an upper bound for sustained power. Peak may be way over - dependent on whether you have a fast blow or slow blow.

Amusingly, I'm actually pretty sure the 30 Amp fuse I have for my amp in the car would blow if I turned things way up, but as it is slightly overspec'ed I keep it down around 2 or 3 and get no distortion/clipping and it is still too loud to shout over. Should probably know better, but ten, I don't want to be deaf, so think it's safe as it is.
MkII, 80Gb SSD in dock

#241911 - 25/11/2004 12:11 Re: Deciphering Amp specs [Re: scollinguk]
bonzi
pooh-bah

Loc: Croatia
Quote:
PS RMS is an acronym for "root mean squared", where the exact output of the amplifier is recorded across a range of inputed signals and then there square root is applied to the results, then the mean average is taken and that mean average is then squared.

Err, the other way around, I am affraid: first square, then mean, then root. That way you avoid those pesky complex numbers.