Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#252857 - 29/03/2005 02:13 Emplode bug
tanstaafl.
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/07/1999
Posts: 5270
Loc: Ajijic, Mexico
I think I have found a previously unremarked bug in emplode -- or else the database in my player is corrupted.

When you open up emplode, you have a two-pane view. Select "Playlists" in the left pane, and in the right pane you get the details. Depending on which columns you choose to display, one of the details is the duration of each playlist.

There seems to be a maximum duration for a playlist before the duration counter goes all wonky. My "Spoken Word" playlist contains about 1950 hours of audio, but emplode displays this as "-20:-40", or minus twenty minutes and minus 40 seconds.

This is hardly a crippling problem, I just point it out as an interesting curiosity.

tanstaafl.
_________________________
"There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch"

Top
#252858 - 29/03/2005 09:18 Re: Emplode bug [Re: tanstaafl.]
pgrzelak
carpal tunnel

Registered: 15/08/2000
Posts: 4859
Loc: New Jersey, USA
Overflow. Too much spoken word, and the value is overflowing the variable.
_________________________
Paul Grzelak
200GB with 48MB RAM, Illuminated Buttons and Digital Outputs

Top
#252859 - 02/04/2005 12:28 Re: Emplode bug [Re: pgrzelak]
Roger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 18/01/2000
Posts: 5519
Loc: London, UK
Quote:
Overflow


Yeah, I think it uses a 32-bit number of milliseconds.
_________________________
-- roger

Top
#252860 - 02/04/2005 17:42 Re: Emplode bug [Re: Roger]
tanstaafl.
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/07/1999
Posts: 5270
Loc: Ajijic, Mexico
Yeah, I think it uses a 32-bit number of milliseconds.


Oh... so it never entered your mind when you designed the first 4-GB empeg players that some lunatic might have a 1900+ hour long playlist, eh?

Talk about poor planning...

tanstaafl.
_________________________
"There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch"

Top
#252861 - 15/07/2005 11:34 Re: Emplode bug [Re: tanstaafl.]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Apparently someone deleted a post, and now this thread always comes up as having unread posts, which is annoying the crap out of me.

This post is meant to fix that.

Move along; nothing to see here.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top