Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#256851 - 24/05/2005 12:53 Use Ben's IC2 Fan Controller as Temp Sensor
chuckcheeze
new poster

Registered: 01/02/2005
Posts: 14
Hi all,

My onboard temp sensor seems to be dead (fixed at room temp). I dont think I am skilled enough with a soldering iron to replace it (per FAQ)

However, I am willing to try Ben's IC2 Fan Controller, which has a temp sensor.

Is there a way to for Hijack to read from Ben's temp sensor and output it into Vital Signs (or another menu entry)?

It would be great to monitor the temp again especially with summer coming around soon.

Thanks!

Top
#256852 - 24/05/2005 13:40 Re: Use Ben's IC2 Fan Controller as Temp Sensor [Re: chuckcheeze]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 13528
Loc: Canada
We really ought to work out a simple rewiring job -- route the necessary GPIO pin from the SA1100 over to the temp chip so that it can be "reset" back to normal operation (under s/w control) whenever it glitches out like that.

Anyone know of an unused GPIO pin inside this sucker?

Top
#256853 - 25/05/2005 06:31 Re: Use Ben's IC2 Fan Controller as Temp Sensor [Re: mlord]
Shonky
pooh-bah

Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 1917
Loc: Brisbane, Australia
I have a feeling I remember Hugo saying they were pretty full up on IO. Can't find where though.

If he designs stuff anything like us, he'll use every last CPU/micro feature available. We never seem to have enough IO.

Can it be reset in hardware anyway? I thought it was stuffed for life once configured the wrong way or whatever happened.
_________________________
Christian
#40104192 120Gb (no longer in my E36 M3, won't fit the E46 M3)

Top
#256854 - 25/05/2005 11:28 Re: Use Ben's IC2 Fan Controller as Temp Sensor [Re: Shonky]
tman
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/12/2001
Posts: 5528
Quote:
Can it be reset in hardware anyway? I thought it was stuffed for life once configured the wrong way or whatever happened.

You can switch it back from thermostat mode but you have to do it in a funny way like hold one of the pins high for a certain amount of time and then toggle something etc... This forces it back into 1-Wire mode where you can properly reconfigure the EEPROM inside. It's quite annoying to do and you can't do it without lifting legs on the chip.

Top
#256855 - 15/12/2005 07:10 Re: Use Ben's IC2 Fan Controller as Temp Sensor [Re: tman]
altman
carpal tunnel

Registered: 19/05/1999
Posts: 3450
Loc: Palo Alto, CA
Yep, I can never work out why we didn't use an i2c temp sensor originally. I suspect both myself and Patrick were totally blind to the LM77 when we went looking - the 1-wire unit is a pain in the ass, frankly, and more expensive too.

That and lower value I2C pullups so we didn't have to run the bus so slow. The perils of not owning a scope, I suppose (we didn't get one until after the mk2 ISTR).

Hugo

Top