Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#260082 - 09/07/2005 02:00 Way out there: new hardware that has an ISO DIN sled size...
iank
new poster

Registered: 24/08/2000
Posts: 33
...So my no-talent self wouldn't have to pay el grande cash to someone with talent to shoe-horn this bad boy into my 05 Legacy GT. :-)

Seriously, I'd love to see what the guys could do with current hardware. I know the chances are pretty much zero, but stil...

Oh, and WMA lossless support.

Top
#260083 - 09/07/2005 11:50 Re: Way out there: new hardware that has an ISO DIN sled size... [Re: iank]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
As I've told you before, the Asian DIN that Subaru, et al. use is not intended for removable stereos.

Also, just transcode your WMA lossless to FLAC and use v3 beta software.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#260084 - 13/09/2005 18:28 Re: Way out there: new hardware that has an ISO DIN sled size... [Re: wfaulk]
Major_Sarcasm
member

Registered: 28/08/2003
Posts: 149
Loc: Isle of Wight, UK
Quote:
As I've told you before, the Asian DIN that Subaru, et al. use is not intended for removable stereos.


Hell, I found this out for myself a few days ago, putting the Empeg in my new (import) Celica - Jeez, what a hassle.
_________________________
Steve

Top
#260085 - 14/09/2005 06:58 Re: Way out there: new hardware that has an ISO DIN sled size... [Re: wfaulk]
frog51
pooh-bah

Registered: 09/08/2000
Posts: 2089
Loc: Edinburgh, Scotland
Is it a different DIN in Subarus in the states? Certainly my last 3 Imprezas have required no special treatment to accommodate the empeg, simply slot the sled in, hook up the wires and go.
_________________________
Rory
MkIIa, blue lit buttons, memory upgrade, 1Tb in Subaru Forester STi
MkII, 240Gb in Mark Lord dock
MkII, 80Gb SSD in dock

Top
#260086 - 14/09/2005 10:24 Re: Way out there: new hardware that has an ISO DIN sled size... [Re: frog51]
cushman
veteran

Registered: 21/01/2002
Posts: 1380
Loc: Erie, CO
Quote:
Is it a different DIN in Subarus in the states?

For the Outback, yes.
_________________________
Mark Cushman

Top
#260087 - 14/09/2005 12:37 Re: Way out there: new hardware that has an ISO DIN sled size... [Re: cushman]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Quote:
Quote:
Is it a different DIN in Subarus in the states?

For the Outback, yes.

Why? Why would they do that? Why?

Why?
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#260088 - 19/09/2005 17:46 Re: Way out there: new hardware that has an ISO DIN sled size... [Re: Major_Sarcasm]
juansolo
new poster

Registered: 07/09/2005
Posts: 6
Quote:
Quote:
As I've told you before, the Asian DIN that Subaru, et al. use is not intended for removable stereos.


Hell, I found this out for myself a few days ago, putting the Empeg in my new (import) Celica - Jeez, what a hassle.


Yep just found out myself with mine at the weekend. Rather than hack up my 05 Scooby I've ended up sticking a Pioneer in there and plug my pod into it.

Gutted I can't use the empeg, even more gutted that there is a panel available for the Scoob with a full sized single DIN slot in it, but it's only available with the navigation option which is a slot in DIN thing. It's in the accessories brochure.

Top
#260089 - 20/09/2005 06:47 Re: Way out there: new hardware that has an ISO DIN sled size... [Re: wfaulk]
frog51
pooh-bah

Registered: 09/08/2000
Posts: 2089
Loc: Edinburgh, Scotland
Yes - Why??????
_________________________
Rory
MkIIa, blue lit buttons, memory upgrade, 1Tb in Subaru Forester STi
MkII, 240Gb in Mark Lord dock
MkII, 80Gb SSD in dock

Top
#260090 - 22/09/2005 11:46 Re: Way out there: new hardware that has an ISO DIN sled size... [Re: iank]
SE_Sport_Driver
carpal tunnel

Registered: 05/01/2001
Posts: 4903
Loc: Detroit, MI USA
I'm not sure about the 05 Legacy, but if it's like the 02-06 WRX, check the link in my signature for some install pics. It seems like a pain in the butt, but all it really takes is notching out a TINY amount of plastic in the bezel to make it fit. You'll still be able to toss in your stock radio when you sell the car if you want. My buddy just did.

Even if you had to buy a new 90 dollar bezel, it's cheaper than buying a new headunit.

EDIT: Link: http://persiconi.com/wrx/images/audioinstall/install.html


Edited by SE_Sport_Driver (22/09/2005 11:48)
_________________________
Brad B.

Top
#260091 - 28/09/2005 21:21 Re: Way out there: new hardware that has an ISO DIN sled size... [Re: SE_Sport_Driver]
sldonmtns
new poster

Registered: 19/12/2004
Posts: 20
I got a bezel for my 00 impreza, for $15 w/shipping off of ebay. So I'll just throw that in the car when I sell it.

Top