Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#270074 - 19/11/2005 14:00 ARMGR.EXE crashes- can't use Rio Anymore
Mike
new poster

Registered: 19/11/2005
Posts: 4
I got a new computer and installed the audio receiver software. I had previously used my receiver for several years. When building the database, armgr.exe crashes. I've seen a few posts on this board similar, but no solutions. A few observations:

1) It crashes on the same file. I delete this file and it STILL crashes on this file according to the log. Very odd. Something must be cached as fiel is not in any playlist either.

2) When I try to add only a small number of songs (like one artist), it works fine. I have about 3500 tracks.

3) When I try and load just my mp3s (no playlists), it still crashes.

Top
#270075 - 19/11/2005 17:59 Re: ARMGR.EXE crashes- can't use Rio Anymore [Re: Mike]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30533
Loc: Seattle, WA
If I recall correctly, there's a spot in the "Documents and Settings" folder where all this Rio database stuff is stored. Try erasing that and starting over.

The fact it keeps dying on the same file is odd. Doesn't make sense that it would crash on the file after deleting it unless there's a duplicate of the file somewhere. And are you sure the log is really crashing on the same file, or is the log just appending to itself and you haven't scrolled down far enough to see what it's really doing? I forget how the logs work. Or perhaps it's indicating the file *before* the one it's crashing on? Something like that.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#270076 - 20/11/2005 00:28 Re: ARMGR.EXE crashes- can't use Rio Anymore [Re: tfabris]
Mike
new poster

Registered: 19/11/2005
Posts: 4
I couldn't find anything in Documents & Settings. There was what looked like a database in the audio receiver directory in a folder "DB". I deleted that and same problem.

I did a search and the file is definitely gone from everywhere. It could be that that is not even the issue as I see the same error up above and it obviously recovered from that. I am attaching my log.

Couldn't figure out how to attach, so here is the end:

09:49:06.393 While processing the M3U file, we found a track we've not seen yet, adding it.
09:49:06.393 path = 'U:\MUSIC\Mike\uncategorized/12 Rise!.mp3'
09:49:06.393 ...is not in the database, adding it.
09:49:06.393 While processing the M3U file, we found a track we've not seen yet, adding it.
09:49:06.403 path = 'U:\MUSIC\Mike\Classical/08 Chopin Piano Sonata No.3.mp3'
09:49:06.403 ...is not in the database, adding it.
09:49:06.403 While processing the M3U file, we found a track we've not seen yet, adding it.
09:49:06.403 path = 'U:\MUSIC\Mike\Pussycat Dolls/Vox Mix) - The Pussycat Dolls.MP3'
09:49:06.403 ...is not in the database, adding it.
09:49:06.403 GetShortPathName('U:\MUSIC\Mike\Dee Dee Bridgewater/flamenco interlude - bilbao so - dee dee bridgewater - this is new - 00.mp3') failed, last error = 3
09:49:06.403 While processing the M3U file, we found a track we've not seen yet, adding it.
09:49:06.403 path = 'U:\MUSIC\Mike\Classical/09 Piano Concerto No.9.mp3'
09:49:06.403 ...is not in the database, adding it.
09:49:06.403 GetShortPathName('U:\MUSIC\Mike\Dee Dee Bridgewater/here i'll stay - dee dee bridgewater - return to me - -55.mp3') failed, last error = 3


Edited by Mike (20/11/2005 00:30)

Top
#270077 - 20/11/2005 08:38 Re: ARMGR.EXE crashes- can't use Rio Anymore [Re: Mike]
Roger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 18/01/2000
Posts: 5515
Loc: London, UK
Quote:
2) When I try to add only a small number of songs (like one artist), it works fine. I have about 3500 tracks.



How many tracks do you have? It's possible that the software has hit an internal limit.
_________________________
-- roger

Top
#270078 - 20/11/2005 09:35 Re: ARMGR.EXE crashes- can't use Rio Anymore [Re: Mike]
peter
carpal tunnel

Registered: 13/07/2000
Posts: 4138
Loc: Cambridge, England
Quote:
09:49:06.403 While processing the M3U file, we found a track we've not seen yet, adding it.

It's getting that filename from an M3U file -- a playlist file -- which explains why you still get references to it after deleting the file itself. So maybe it's the playlist that it doesn't like: if you look a bit further up in the log you can probably find what playlist file it's scanning, and see whether removing it helps.

Peter

Top
#270079 - 20/11/2005 18:16 Re: ARMGR.EXE crashes- can't use Rio Anymore [Re: peter]
Mike
new poster

Registered: 19/11/2005
Posts: 4
I have about 3500 files. When I exclude a few hundred, I get the same problem.

Top
#270080 - 20/11/2005 18:23 Problem fixed! [Re: peter]
Mike
new poster

Registered: 19/11/2005
Posts: 4
You are right. I thought I had excluded all playlists when I tried the load one time. I did a search and there was one stray playlist. It was created for syncing to my portable mp3 player and had almost all my music in it (maybe 3000 tracks). I deleted this and it worked!


It's getting that filename from an M3U file -- a playlist file -- which explains why you still get references to it after deleting the file itself. So maybe it's the playlist that it doesn't like: if you look a bit further up in the log you can probably find what playlist file it's scanning, and see whether removing it helps.

Peter

Top