Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#273221 - 01/01/2006 02:48 Slimserver Instructions
ramiles
new poster

Registered: 31/12/2005
Posts: 1
Would anyone please be able to share with me how I can use my Slimserver software with a Rio Receiver? Have read various posts on this board - several have posts about "directing" or "pointing" the Rio to the Slimserver (which I take to mean the port, \\PC:9000) but haven't been able to find out wether that is Rio server (T-Rio) or Rio receiver code. Appreciate any help.

Top
#273222 - 07/01/2006 07:54 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: ramiles]
Cris
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/02/2002
Posts: 1896
Loc: Leeds, UK
Here Here! Good Question.

Mine is currently in one of the many storage boxes around my house, if I could figure out how to get it to work with Slimserver as you suggest I could find a use for it again.

Anyone?

Cheers

Cris.

Top
#273223 - 07/01/2006 20:02 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: Cris]
andy
carpal tunnel

Registered: 10/06/1999
Posts: 5677
Loc: Wivenhoe, Essex, UK
Well, SlimServer can provide a ShoutCast stream...

...and at least one of the alternative Receiver clients can consume a ShoutCast stream...

...so it should be possible, if not exactly optimal.

What you really need of course is a plugin for SlimServer that pretends to be a Audio Receiver Manager server. As far as I can tell such a thing does not exist.
_________________________
Remind me to change my signature to something more interesting someday

Top
#273224 - 13/01/2006 16:43 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: andy]
damage
stranger

Registered: 27/11/2002
Posts: 35
or you can just use medianet ( http://www.myhap.org.uk ) which can serve rios and slims.

Top
#273225 - 02/03/2006 15:49 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: damage]
Bane
stranger

Registered: 23/06/2003
Posts: 23
I noticed that Medianet transcodes flac before playback. Does it transcode flac to wav or mp3?

Top
#273226 - 06/03/2006 19:20 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: Bane]
damage
stranger

Registered: 27/11/2002
Posts: 35
Quote:
I noticed that Medianet transcodes flac before playback. Does it transcode flac to wav or mp3?


all non-native codecs are transcoded to mp3.


Edited by damage (06/03/2006 19:21)

Top
#273227 - 30/03/2006 23:28 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: damage]
Bane
stranger

Registered: 23/06/2003
Posts: 23
Quote:
Quote:
I noticed that Medianet transcodes flac before playback. Does it transcode flac to wav or mp3?


all non-native codecs are transcoded to mp3.


Any chance of ever getting native flac?

Thanks

Jamy

Top
#273228 - 31/03/2006 01:43 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: Bane]
damage
stranger

Registered: 27/11/2002
Posts: 35
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
I noticed that Medianet transcodes flac before playback. Does it transcode flac to wav or mp3?


all non-native codecs are transcoded to mp3.


Any chance of ever getting native flac?

Thanks

Jamy


doubt it. the devices would have to decode flac natively (ie in the actual hardware) and none of the supported devices do

Top
#273229 - 25/08/2006 07:12 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: andy]
julf
veteran

Registered: 01/10/2001
Posts: 1290
Loc: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Quote:
What you really need of course is a plugin for SlimServer that pretends to be a Audio Receiver Manager server.


Or a Slim client on the Rios. The source for softsqueeze is available, but in java - has there been a discussion about the feasibility of java on the receiver?

Top
#273230 - 26/08/2006 07:55 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: julf]
peter
carpal tunnel

Registered: 13/07/2000
Posts: 4140
Loc: Cambridge, England
Quote:
has there been a discussion about the feasibility of java on the receiver?

In 4MB? I'd be pretty impressed.

Peter

Top
#273231 - 26/08/2006 09:08 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: peter]
Roger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 18/01/2000
Posts: 5528
Loc: London, UK
Quote:
In 4MB? I'd be pretty impressed.


Well, you can get Java for Lego Mindstorms. That's only 32Kb.

I don't think there's much of an audio or networking stack in that, though
_________________________
-- roger

Top
#273232 - 26/08/2006 09:18 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: Roger]
julf
veteran

Registered: 01/10/2001
Posts: 1290
Loc: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Quote:
[Well, you can get Java for Lego Mindstorms. That's only 32Kb.


And the Dallas TINI can't have much more, being pretty much a 8051 - a decendant of the original 8080...

Top
#273233 - 29/09/2006 21:31 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: ramiles]
dionysus
veteran

Registered: 16/06/1999
Posts: 1222
Loc: San Francisco, CA
OK - revisiting slimserver for rio threads..

Would I would LOVE to see - is this simple c program compiled for the rio receiver - possible? it's using madplay for the actual mp3 player, which should be already on the rio receiver on some of the firmware builds...

http://www.ex-parrot.com/~pdw/slimp3slave/

This has to be cakewalk for someone w/ development skills and a cross-build platform for the rio already in place!

My rio receiver's now can stream the mp3 stream out of slimserver, but the above client is much faster switching songs! (it takes ~5-10 seconds to swtich a song w/ the current method of just stremaing the music off the slimserver using the rioplay software)
-mark


Attachments
287993-slimp3slave-0.4.tar.gz (607 downloads)

_________________________
http://mvgals.net - clublife, revisited.

Top
#273234 - 12/01/2007 17:34 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: damage]
Bane
stranger

Registered: 23/06/2003
Posts: 23
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
I noticed that Medianet transcodes flac before playback. Does it transcode flac to wav or mp3?


all non-native codecs are transcoded to mp3.


Any chance of ever getting native flac?

Thanks

Jamy


doubt it. the devices would have to decode flac natively (ie in the actual hardware) and none of the supported devices do


TRio plays flac files. I'm no expert in development, but I would think that if TRio can do it, Medianet ought to be able to be made to also.

Top
#273235 - 12/09/2007 14:41 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: dionysus]
caederus
journeyman

Registered: 18/02/2000
Posts: 51
Loc: UK
You might be interested in trying slimrio, which is a replacement player that speaks the SLIMP3 protocol.
_________________________
http://ro.nu/ Robin O'Leary

Top
#273236 - 13/09/2007 02:16 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: caederus]
gerald_clark
new poster

Registered: 08/10/2003
Posts: 30
Loc: IL, U.S.A.
Very nice!
I think I may replace Ampache with this, if I can tune out the
infrequent audio glitches.
I really like the browse music folder option.

Top
#273237 - 13/09/2007 06:31 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: caederus]
julf
veteran

Registered: 01/10/2001
Posts: 1290
Loc: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Excellent! Many thanks!

Top
#273238 - 14/09/2007 20:50 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: caederus]
Cris
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/02/2002
Posts: 1896
Loc: Leeds, UK
OMG! Thank You!

Just what I have been looking for, I now have 4 more music players on my network

I am getting glitchy audio, I find it's ok if I use bitrate limiting to 160kbps. I wonder how many players I can do realtime re-sampling to at the same time ???

Cheers

Cris

PS - The solution I have is the original rio software is running on my windows box, while the slimserver runs on my clarkconnect box. Just in case anyone was wondering.

Top
#273239 - 14/09/2007 21:08 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: Cris]
gerald_clark
new poster

Registered: 08/10/2003
Posts: 30
Loc: IL, U.S.A.
I went to the network settings in the slimserver control panel, and doubled the UDP packet size to 2800,
Then I set display scrolling to Scroll Once and Stop.

My glitches have disappeared!
I couldn't be happier.

I am an ex user of jreceiver and Ampache.

Top
#273240 - 15/09/2007 07:12 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: gerald_clark]
julf
veteran

Registered: 01/10/2001
Posts: 1290
Loc: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Regular audio glitches too, will try increasing UDP packet size.

Top
#273241 - 15/09/2007 08:00 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: julf]
Cris
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/02/2002
Posts: 1896
Loc: Leeds, UK
I have found I need to do all 3 things to get glitch free play back.

Each of them in turn improved things, and now at 160kbps everything seems fine.

It does seem to be worse on VBR Lame encoded files, the ones I have done my self are really bad unless I bit rate limit to 160kbps. I do remember having playback problems with these files last time I used the recievers, I could be wrong ???

Cheers

Cris.

Top
#273242 - 15/09/2007 12:19 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: Cris]
Cris
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/02/2002
Posts: 1896
Loc: Leeds, UK
I am still seeing the odd blip here and there, but nothing too bad.

I can't see any other settings to change, any ideas ?

Cheers

Cris.

Top
#273243 - 16/09/2007 07:52 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: julf]
julf
veteran

Registered: 01/10/2001
Posts: 1290
Loc: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hmmpf, neither doubling UDP packet size nor reducing max bitrate to 160 seems to help, still regular (every 5-10 seconds?) glitches...

Top
#273244 - 16/09/2007 15:43 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: julf]
gerald_clark
new poster

Registered: 08/10/2003
Posts: 30
Loc: IL, U.S.A.
When reducing the bitrate, the server must transcode the file.
It may not be able to keep ahead of the receiver.
If the server is busy or under powered, reducing the bitrate may cause the glitches.

Top
#273245 - 16/09/2007 17:10 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: gerald_clark]
julf
veteran

Registered: 01/10/2001
Posts: 1290
Loc: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Good point, but had the glitches at full rate too.

Top
#273246 - 16/09/2007 18:05 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: julf]
Cris
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/02/2002
Posts: 1896
Loc: Leeds, UK
Quote:
Good point, but had the glitches at full rate too.


Same here too!

It's better at lower bit rates, I get glitches towards the end of tracks maybe every 20 seconds or so.

Cheers

Cris.

Top
#273247 - 16/09/2007 19:48 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: Cris]
gerald_clark
new poster

Registered: 08/10/2003
Posts: 30
Loc: IL, U.S.A.
All my tracks are mp3 at 64K fixed or 128 variable.
I have nothing encoded at a higher rate to test.

Top
#273248 - 13/10/2007 12:21 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: julf]
YNaught
new poster

Registered: 28/01/2006
Posts: 13
Quote:
Good point, but had the glitches at full rate too.

When I first tried the bitrate reduction trick, it did not work... Eventually I noticed the text above the selectbox for bitrate, saying that it could not find my lame install. After installing lame, it worked much better.
I've also noticed some glitches when it tries to scroll long filenames, am currently fooling with those settings.
I can also cause glitches by scrolling too quickly through my "artist" list (for instance). I assume it's swamping the Ethernet pipe, or the server.
An interesting point is that if you ask the RIO, it's hardy working:

nc 10.0.0.101 5000
uptime
12:01pm up 3 days, 12:01, load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00

...Makes me think the limitation is the poor old 10Mb ethernet connection..?

Top
#273249 - 13/10/2007 15:19 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: YNaught]
Cris
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/02/2002
Posts: 1896
Loc: Leeds, UK
Quote:
...Makes me think the limitation is the poor old 10Mb ethernet connection..?


I don't think so, I have 100Mb here with 1Gb to the server and I still get the odd glitch still. I assume the Rio is 10Mb, but streaming a 160kbps mp3 should be easy over that ???

I get the feeling the problem is at the Rio end, I can do operations on the server without it effecting playback on either the Rio or my squeezebox.

But still a much better solution for me than the original software.

Cheers

Cris.

Top
#273250 - 14/10/2007 05:51 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: YNaught]
julf
veteran

Registered: 01/10/2001
Posts: 1290
Loc: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Quote:
Makes me think the limitation is the poor old 10Mb ethernet connection..?


Probably not, as the Receiver works without glitches with other software (and same server).

Top
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >