Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Page 4 of 4 < 1 2 3 4
Topic Options
#310178 - 14/05/2008 17:52 Re: Click(s) when starting playing [Re: mardibloke]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
If it's a managed Cisco, try forcing the interface to 10/Half and see if it helps. Also try 10/Full.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#310182 - 14/05/2008 19:35 Re: Click(s) when starting playing [Re: andy]
Dearing
addict

Registered: 22/07/1999
Posts: 453
Loc: Florida
Just got in a "new" SlimP3 from eBay (SWMBO swears I just collect these things smile ). Sync works correctly between the receiver in my office and the SlimP3 only after pausing and restarting the track, and even then drifts intermittently. However, once it gets in sync, it never drifts FAR out and has played in sync for at least 2 tracks in a row. I'll try to play them in sync for a couple hours tomorrow and let you know what I find.

EDIT: Oh yeah, I did have to turn down the "Max Number of Bytes of Audio Data" to 1000 before I could get any decent sound out of the SlimP3. Maybe smaller data packets will help the syncing on SlimRio also?


Edited by Dearing (14/05/2008 19:37)
_________________________
_~= Dearing =~_
Gettin' back into it thanks to slimrio!

Top
#310217 - 16/05/2008 00:15 Re: Click(s) when starting playing [Re: Dearing]
Dearing
addict

Registered: 22/07/1999
Posts: 453
Loc: Florida
Well, Syncing is still not perfect. Sometimes it will stay in sync for a few tracks in a row, sometimes I have to pause/restart and sometimes I have to adjust the Audio Delay from SC for the receiver. I may have to stick to the SlimP3 and SB3 when I want to sync, and the 2 receivers just for non-synced listening. Has anyone else had any luck syncing consistently between SlimRio and Squeezeboxen?
_________________________
_~= Dearing =~_
Gettin' back into it thanks to slimrio!

Top
#311202 - 10/06/2008 01:10 Re: Click(s) when starting playing [Re: Dearing]
Hedges
new poster

Registered: 10/06/2008
Posts: 3
I'm new here. Hi.

I've been using SlimRio for a while and love it. I am now trying to move the NFS mount part to my MacBook Pro running Mac OS 10.4.11.

So far, I've gotten it to the point that I see "EMPEG Penguins Found" on the RIO (Dell) screen, but then nothing after that. So, I think the kernel is loaded, but there's a problem loading the file system over NFS.

I've tried 7.0 and 7.0b...same problem. I *did* notice that the lib directory has a group name of "Robin" which doesn't translate to a group on my Mac. Could that be the problem?

Anyone know why the boot up process could be stopping after the "Penguins Found" screen is loaded or what this means?

Thanks!


Edited by Hedges (10/06/2008 01:28)

Top
#311261 - 10/06/2008 21:40 Re: Click(s) when starting playing [Re: Hedges]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
It's possible that the SlimRio NFS client is using non-trusted port and that MacOS is denying the connection because of it. I seem to recall that happening to me with my OpenBSD server, and there's a lot of OpenBSD in MacOS.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#311262 - 10/06/2008 22:50 Re: Click(s) when starting playing [Re: wfaulk]
Hedges
new poster

Registered: 10/06/2008
Posts: 3
Yup...I started researching down that path yesterday but got distracted. I'll pick that back up and see if I can find a work-around. Thanks for the tip.

Top
#311266 - 11/06/2008 02:06 Re: Click(s) when starting playing [Re: Hedges]
Hedges
new poster

Registered: 10/06/2008
Posts: 3
I did a tcpdump and watched what the rio is doing once it puts up the "EMPEG Penguins Found" on the screen. Basically, it is in a loop whereby it requests busybox, ld-linux.so.2, libc.so.6, slimrio, etc, v4l ir, font6x16, sleep and display...and it just keeps on doing this over and over again. It gets errors on "etc" and others since they don't exist in the tar file. It just keeps looping on these requests. So, it successfully downloaded the kernel image, but is having troubles with some of the other files.

Anyone have any ideas what's wrong? As stated above, I'm running NFS on a Mac os 10.4.11.

Top
#311462 - 18/06/2008 20:43 Re: Click(s) when starting playing [Re: Hedges]
gerald_clark
new poster

Registered: 08/10/2003
Posts: 30
Loc: IL, U.S.A.
Now that skipping has been eliminated, all singers seem to have a lisp.
Has anybody else noticed this?

Top
#311465 - 19/06/2008 07:30 Re: Click(s) when starting playing [Re: gerald_clark]
andy
carpal tunnel

Registered: 10/06/1999
Posts: 5671
Loc: Wivenhoe, Essex, UK
Originally Posted By: gerald_clark
Now that skipping has been eliminated, all singers seem to have a lisp.
Has anybody else noticed this?

No, but it sounds like MP3 artefacts to me. Maybe you still have bitrate limiting enabled on the server and set to a low rate ?

With the latest SlimRio I returned all the other tweaks on my server back to normal.
_________________________
Remind me to change my signature to something more interesting someday

Top
#311483 - 19/06/2008 21:00 Re: Click(s) when starting playing [Re: andy]
gerald_clark
new poster

Registered: 08/10/2003
Posts: 30
Loc: IL, U.S.A.
It is the --downsample option to madplay.real that is causing the sibilance.

Top
#311484 - 19/06/2008 21:12 Re: Click(s) when starting playing [Re: gerald_clark]
andy
carpal tunnel

Registered: 10/06/1999
Posts: 5671
Loc: Wivenhoe, Essex, UK
Ah, that would explain a couple of things. I had the feeling the quality of SlimRio's playback wasn't as good as the original Rio code, but I had convinced myself I was imagining it. So all my 44khz files are actually being downsampled to 22khz frown

It also explains how Robin managed to "fix" the stuttering problem without a working tool chain.

I'll have to do some testing and see whether I prefer 128k MP3 transcodes or a 22khz sample rate...
_________________________
Remind me to change my signature to something more interesting someday

Top
#312562 - 29/07/2008 18:16 Re: Click(s) when starting playing [Re: andy]
presslab
journeyman

Registered: 29/07/2008
Posts: 73
Loc: North Bay, CA
I found the text wrapping very annoying. It is possible to modify SqueezeCenter 7 to display only 20 rows. The file is located in /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/Slim/Display/Text.pm

It's a simple matter of changing all "40" to "20" and "39" to "19".

After this, the "brightness" value of "3" provides the best result.

Top
#315619 - 28/10/2008 01:28 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: caederus]
elperepat
member

Registered: 11/01/2002
Posts: 199
Loc: Qc, Canada
Hi!

I'm using slimrio here at home since last year. Recently, I installed slimserver and then squeezecenter under windows at my father's house. All was working fine!

But, I'm slowly converting him to linux, so the computer with squeeze is currently being transfered to ubuntu 8.04. He installed squeezecenter, dhcp server, ssdp.py and nfs server. He gets to the point of "Finding SlimServer...", but then get the message "Failed to connect to server" (or something similar).

The squeezecenter is working properly as he uses softsqueeze from another computer to play music. DHCP, SSDP and NFS seem to work correctly because he gets through "Penguins Found", then SlimRIo splash screen. He can connect to the rio using nc, so network is working for sure. He tried to specify the server's ip in /sbin/init with -s option, but it doesn't help.

Any other idea?

Thanks

Patrick

Top
#315623 - 28/10/2008 07:58 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: elperepat]
caederus
journeyman

Registered: 18/02/2000
Posts: 51
Loc: UK
I'm not sure what to suggest: if you give it the -s option, slimrio doesn't do anything fancy; it just sends UDP packets to port 3483 on the specified host, so it's hard to think of anything that could be wrong on the slimrio end. Is there anything in the server's log? Does the receiver show up on the server's list of recognised players (on the status page)?

Perhaps a tcpdump of traffic between the rio and squeezecenter would shed some light on what's going on.
_________________________
http://ro.nu/ Robin O'Leary

Top
#315637 - 29/10/2008 00:15 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: caederus]
elperepat
member

Registered: 11/01/2002
Posts: 199
Loc: Qc, Canada
Quote:
Does the receiver show up on the server's list of recognised players (on the status page)?

No, only the softsqueeze clients are showing, no trace of slimrio.


Now, here are a few details on to the tcpdumps:

mars.local is the server,
192.168.1.101 is the rio receiver and
192.168.1.20 is the softsqueeze client


The first file (riotcpdump.txt) is the tcpdump of the rio getting it's ip from dhcp, then getting in touch with ssdp, then getting it's filesystem from the nfs server. Then, nothing. No request on port 3483.

Second file (softsqueeze.txt) is a tcpdump from a softsqueeze connecting to the squeezecenter. Traffic on port 3483 without problem.

Finally, last file (dhcpd.conf) is dhcp configuration. I tought the problem might be in here, but I can't find anything wrong.

If we don't find a solution, we'll try to do the same on an other computer, runing ubuntu 6.06. We'll see...


One last thing. in /proc/kmsg, my father's rio stop the log at "<4>Starting kswapd v 1.5", while mine continue further. Here's my receiver's log. nc doesn't seem to be "stable" as a lot of commands just hang it, so I suspect the abrupt end of files is linked to a nc crash.

Code:
<4>Linux version 2.2.14-rmk4-mercury19 (robin@victoria) (gcc version 3.4.2 (release) (CodeSourcery ARM Q3D 2004)) #1 Mon Jul 16 17:37:22 BST 2007
<4>NetWinder Floating Point Emulator V0.94.1 (c) 1998 Corel Computer Corp.
<4>IP-Config: Parameter #0: `192.168.0.101'
<4>IP-Config: Parameter #1: `192.168.0.23'
<4>IP-Config: Parameter #2: `111'
<4>IP-Config: Parameter #4: `255.255.255.0'
<4>IP-Config: Parameter #7: `off'
<4>Calibrating delay loop... 65.33 BogoMIPS
<4>Memory: 3156k/4M available (712k code, 20k reserved, 200k data, 8k init)
<4>Dentry hash table entries: 512 (order 0, 4k)
<4>Buffer cache hash table entries: 2048 (order 1, 8k)
<4>Page cache hash table entries: 1024 (order 0, 4k)
<4>POSIX conformance testing by UNIFIX
<6>Linux NET4.0 for Linux 2.2
<6>Based upon Swansea University Computer Society NET3.039
<6>NET4: Unix domain sockets 1.0 for Linux NET4.0.
<6>NET4: Linux TCP/IP 1.0 for NET4.0
<6>IP Protocols: ICMP, UDP, TCP
<4>TCP: Hash tables configured (ehash 4096 bhash 4096)
<4>Starting kswapd v 1.5 
<4>empeg clps7212 audio driver initialized
<4>mercury display initialised.
<4>mercury infra-red support initialised.
<4>mercury rotary support initialised.
<4>mercury buttons support initialised.
<4>Probing for cs8900a
<4>eth0: cs8900 rev J found at 0x300 media RJ-45, IRQ 7 00 90 00 11 4f 1d
<4>IP-Config: Entered.
<4>eth0: using 10Base-T (RJ-45)
<4>IP-Config: Opened eth0 (able=0)
<4>IP-Config: device=eth0, local=b400a8c0, server=6500a8c0, boot=6500a8c0, gw=0100a8c0, mask=00ffffff
<4>IP-Config: host=192.168.0.180, domain=(none), path=`'
<5>Looking up port of RPC 100003/2 on 192.168.0.23
<5>Looking up port of RPC 100005/1 on 192.168.0.23
<5>VFS: Mounted root (NFS filesystem) readonly.
<4>Freeing unused kernel memory: 8k init
<5>init (1): unsupported llseek call standard
<5>init (1): unsupported llseek call standard
<5>bash (12): unsupported llseek call standard
<5>madplay (14): unsupported llseek call standard
<5>madplay (14): unsupported llseek call standard
<5>mad


Thanks for your help!

Patrick


Attachments
riotcpdump.txt (502 downloads)
softsqueze.txt (406 downloads)
dhcpd.conf (362 downloads)

_________________________
Patrick

Top
#315644 - 29/10/2008 21:45 Re: Slimserver Instructions [Re: elperepat]
elperepat
member

Registered: 11/01/2002
Posts: 199
Loc: Qc, Canada
Replying to my own post:

My father found out the problem. There was a mistake in the /sbin/init file he edited.

Everything works fine now, but he must have the -s option, even though it's only a simple network with only one squeezecenter. Anyway, all is working properly. Thank you very much for your help!


Patrick
_________________________
Patrick

Top
Page 4 of 4 < 1 2 3 4