Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#274589 - 18/01/2006 19:07 Compressing Mp3's from high bit VBR to 128 CBR
DBALKUNJR
member

Registered: 17/12/2001
Posts: 194
I have a 512 mb Muvo Mp3 player that I use when I jog. I like to compress my LAME encoded MP3's to 128 CBR in order to maximize the amount of music on it. I don't change the songs very often because I have to reprocess each file every time I want to do this. What I am looking for is a way to compress all of my MP3's down to 128 CBR. The catch is all the files are in structured subfolders IE.(A-D\Artist\Album). I want re-encode the files into a new folder. Is there a way to do this in EAC...If there is I can not find it. Or can someone recommend software that can do that?

Thanks
_________________________
Dave

MK2 12Gb
MK2a 60Gb

Top
#274590 - 18/01/2006 19:29 Re: Compressing Mp3's from high bit VBR to 128 CBR [Re: DBALKUNJR]
JBjorgen
carpal tunnel

Registered: 19/01/2002
Posts: 3582
Loc: Columbus, OH
Probably could be done with a batch file or shell script if you're handy with that sort of thing.
_________________________
~ John

Top
#274591 - 18/01/2006 19:39 Re: Compressing Mp3's from high bit VBR to 128 CBR [Re: DBALKUNJR]
matthew_k
pooh-bah

Registered: 12/02/2002
Posts: 2298
Loc: Berkeley, California
Check out dBpowerAMP. While perhaps a new low in intraword capitalization, it's designed to do that kind of thing.

Matthew

Top
#274592 - 18/01/2006 20:33 Re: Compressing Mp3's from high bit VBR to 128 CBR [Re: DBALKUNJR]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 14478
Loc: Canada
Something like this:


for f in *.mp3 ; do
lame --preset cbr 128 $f new.mp3 && mv new.mp3 $f
done


Cheers

Top
#274593 - 18/01/2006 20:35 Re: Compressing Mp3's from high bit VBR to 128 CBR [Re: mlord]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 14478
Loc: Canada
Quote:
The catch is all the files are in structured subfolders IE.(A-D\Artist\Album). I want re-encode the files into a new folder.


In that case:


mkdir new
cd old
find . -type d -exec mkdir -p ../new/{} \;
find . -name \*.mp3 -exec lame --preset cbr 128 {} ../new/{} \;


Cheers


Edited by mlord (18/01/2006 20:36)

Top
#274594 - 18/01/2006 22:40 Re: Compressing Mp3's from high bit VBR to 128 CBR [Re: mlord]
DBALKUNJR
member

Registered: 17/12/2001
Posts: 194
Man this is why this is my favorite forum...quick precise answers....Only thing is I don't know what to do with the script. Where is this entered? In the command line options for LAME or from a DOS prompt? I am assuming the former. The multiple lines are throwing me off because I don't think there is more than one line to enter command line options in EAC. I really appreciate the help but can you dumb it down for me?
Thanks from the village idiot
_________________________
Dave

MK2 12Gb
MK2a 60Gb

Top
#274595 - 18/01/2006 22:58 Re: Compressing Mp3's from high bit VBR to 128 CBR [Re: DBALKUNJR]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
You can't really use those commands because, despite the fact that Mark knew you were using Windows, he gave you Unix commands, in order to make a point, one would assume. Probably easier to just go with the dBpowerAMP stuff. Alternately, you could download the Cygwin environment and install it in order to get the commands needed to use that script.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#274596 - 19/01/2006 01:13 Re: Compressing Mp3's from high bit VBR to 128 CBR [Re: wfaulk]
JBjorgen
carpal tunnel

Registered: 19/01/2002
Posts: 3582
Loc: Columbus, OH
dBpowerAMP isn't scriptable through the command line, but it does have an API. I wrote a quick Delphi app to use hymn and dBpowerAMP to transcode my iTunes songs before the newer version of iTunes broke hymn. Maybe I can tweak it to do what you want it to...check back with me tomorrow.
_________________________
~ John

Top
#274597 - 19/01/2006 02:41 Re: Compressing Mp3's from high bit VBR to 128 CBR [Re: JBjorgen]
Shonky
pooh-bah

Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 2009
Loc: Brisbane, Australia
Any reason for the CBR only though? You can still use VBR with a roughly 128kbps average.

128kbps CBR just doesn't cut it for me.
_________________________
Christian
#40104192 120Gb (no longer in my E36 M3, won't fit the E46 M3)

Top
#274598 - 19/01/2006 10:07 Re: Compressing Mp3's from high bit VBR to 128 CBR [Re: Shonky]
DBALKUNJR
member

Registered: 17/12/2001
Posts: 194
128 VBR would also do. Actually it would probably serve me better.
_________________________
Dave

MK2 12Gb
MK2a 60Gb

Top
#274599 - 19/01/2006 10:45 Re: Compressing Mp3's from high bit VBR to 128 CBR [Re: DBALKUNJR]
SE_Sport_Driver
carpal tunnel

Registered: 05/01/2001
Posts: 4903
Loc: Detroit, MI USA
I use MusicMatch for this because it has a quick little "Convert" feature. The version of MusicMatch I have is really old, but I paid for it so I figure I need to get use out of it. It handles LAME files with ease.
_________________________
Brad B.

Top