Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#277382 - 11/03/2006 18:18 Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware?
phatboy
new poster

Registered: 06/06/2005
Posts: 6
Hi, I've modified the RioPlay firmware to move the database onto the rio itself. No more server software! I need some brave people to try this thing out.
http://www.mikewinter.org/musicmuppet/

With this firmware, the rio will spider a URL and gather all of the mp3, read their tags, and insert them into an internal database. Other than this, the firmware works much like the original rioplay.

Please try this out and send any bug reports back to me!

Top
#277383 - 12/03/2006 00:29 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: phatboy]
gerald_clark
new poster

Registered: 08/10/2003
Posts: 30
Loc: IL, U.S.A.
Quote:
Hi, I've modified the RioPlay firmware to move the database onto the rio itself. No more server software! I need some brave people to try this thing out.
http://www.mikewinter.org/musicmuppet/

With this firmware, the rio will spider a URL and gather all of the mp3, read their tags, and insert them into an internal database. Other than this, the firmware works much like the original rioplay.

Please try this out and send any bug reports back to me!


I will try this,
For people with Linux servers, would it be possible to store the database in the mounted NFS root? This would free the RAM for buffering, and not require a re-scan at each boot.
Possibly an option in the config file.
Maybe the ip address of the RIO that is responsible for indexing.
Then All RIOS in the house could share the same NFS root.


Edited by gerald_clark (12/03/2006 01:18)

Top
#277384 - 12/03/2006 02:41 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: gerald_clark]
phatboy
new poster

Registered: 06/06/2005
Posts: 6
I believe (and I may be wrong) that the NFS is read only. I'll check tonight. There is actally quite a bit of free mem on the rio. I have about 1 megabyte free with the database full and all of the buffers in memory. I actually increased the buffers from what rioplay had.

Another option that would be easy to implement would be to have the rio "save" the current database by allowing it to be grabbed via the web interface, and then have the spider read that. I.e. going to http://MyRioIP/database would grab a file which the user could save to disk somewhere.

Top
#277385 - 13/03/2006 03:06 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: phatboy]
geeknerd
member

Registered: 24/09/2003
Posts: 148
Very nice! I'd like to get my rio receiver working remotely, over the Internet, and this would seriously speed up the interface.

Top
#277386 - 16/08/2006 02:05 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: phatboy]
YNaught
new poster

Registered: 28/01/2006
Posts: 13
Ok, yeah, found your post a few hours ago and have it running now!

I've been completely stuck because I couldn't get java to work on my Gentoo box, so have been serving off W2k

So far, it looks great (I have a large collection, too--47GB).

BTW, my NFS share IS read-only, but that's configurable!!!!

I guess if I want all my RIOs to play in sync with this firmware, I'll have to point them at the same stream.

Top
#277387 - 16/08/2006 09:55 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: phatboy]
YNaught
new poster

Registered: 28/01/2006
Posts: 13
FWIW, mine reports 188KB free while playing music, so there's not much memory free on the Rio...
total: used: free: shared: buffers: cached:
Mem: 3149824 2961408 188416 733184 4096 1339392

My collection is 47GB now (2359 Songs, 211 Albums), but never shrinks! So, I guess this firmware isn't going to work for me for long...

Top
#277388 - 22/08/2006 19:23 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: YNaught]
josi_ok
stranger

Registered: 13/07/2003
Posts: 13
I've been running MusicMuppet since March with no problems. I've used jReceiver and tRio in the past, and while it has all the features you could want, I didn't need all the bells and whistles. I think MusicMuppet, like RioPlay, is leaner, simpler, and faster.

Regarding memory usage- I have 6577 songs, 206 artists, and 488 albums, but still have 204 kB of memory-
total: used: free: shared: buffers: cached:
Mem: 3145728 2936832 208896 327680 4096 1257472

Are you using buildmuppet to create a pre-compiled music library file (muppet.mdb)?


Edited by josi_ok (22/08/2006 19:26)

Top
#277389 - 24/08/2006 19:34 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: josi_ok]
phatboy
new poster

Registered: 06/06/2005
Posts: 6
Hi guys, I'm still working on this. Nice to see some interest.
With regards to memory usage, the "free memory" is misleading. The actual amount of free memory is free + shared + cached. So in the case above, there is actually around 1.5 MB free. When the "free" memory is used up, the disk cache is reduced to give a bit more memory.

One of the mistakes I made with early coding was to assume I had very little memory. This led to some desparate and bad coding.

There are still a number of stubborn bugs left in the code, and I'm still working on finding them. I'm also still looking at adding new features (podcasts would be nice). I'd like to get in an AAC decoder. If anyone knows of an open source AAC decoder let me know.

If anyone has any bug reports, etc -- please e-mail them to me at winter - at - higp.hawaii.edu. I don't check my private messages very often. I'm a little low on time right now, so progress will be slow, but it will be made.

Cheers,
--Mike

Top
#277390 - 25/08/2006 07:09 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: phatboy]
julf
veteran

Registered: 01/10/2001
Posts: 1290
Loc: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Been runninmg it on the spare Rio for a while, seems to work great - about to go "full production" on the rios around the house. But the DNS not working seems to be an irritating issue...

Top
#277391 - 28/08/2006 17:40 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: julf]
phatboy
new poster

Registered: 06/06/2005
Posts: 6
Ok, I fixed DNS. I had to add in an external DNS library since the glibc DNS routines are broken. If you download the new version and add "NameServer=10.0.0.1" (or whatever appropriate nameserver IP) to the rio.conf file, things should be working. I haven't tested this too much, but it should work.

Also fixed are old style ID3v2 tags.

http://www.mikewinter.org/musicmuppet/

Top
#277392 - 28/08/2006 21:31 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: phatboy]
phatboy
new poster

Registered: 06/06/2005
Posts: 6
Whoops, just fixed a major bug. Anyone who downloaded prior to this message, please redownload.

I had accdentially left my own DNS hardcoded into musicmuppet.

Cheers,
--Mike

Top
#277393 - 23/10/2006 13:16 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: phatboy]
julf
veteran

Registered: 01/10/2001
Posts: 1290
Loc: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
I have now been running musicmuppet for a while, and I am generally very happy with it. But two annoying things:

- if I just pause it, but leave it on overnight, it will crash when I try to start play again the next morning. Turning the receiver off in the evening, and on again in the morning works fine - but then it has forgotten the playlist.

- I just can't get streaming to work. When I point it at a stream, it just sits there and does nothing.

Top
#277394 - 25/10/2006 06:20 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: julf]
frog51
pooh-bah

Registered: 09/08/2000
Posts: 2089
Loc: Edinburgh, Scotland
Have tried trio / jreceiver and playing with this but I have the same issue regarding streaming - but I can't figure out whether it is a problem with my server config or the rio. Tempted to go back to a stock install as I now have an extra terabyte of hard disk space in my main server so I might as well just dump all my tracks off my empegs there as a backup and serve that to my rio
_________________________
Rory
MkIIa, blue lit buttons, memory upgrade, 1Tb in Subaru Forester STi
MkII, 240Gb in Mark Lord dock
MkII, 80Gb SSD in dock

Top
#277395 - 25/10/2006 12:17 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: julf]
josi_ok
stranger

Registered: 13/07/2003
Posts: 13
I've had a different issue with the 'pause' function. When I resume after a long pause, it continues for ~1/2 second, then skips to the next song in the queue.

Top
#277396 - 01/12/2006 20:13 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: josi_ok]
phatboy
new poster

Registered: 06/06/2005
Posts: 6
Hi gang, sorry for the delay. I've been busy with other things. Development is continuing (with help from Adam) and we have some new features. MP3 Podcasts now seem to work, and there have been some changes to improve stability.

I'll push for a new release, since the current software on my webserver is quite old. Adam has moved the project to sourceforge, so if anyone is interested, let me know.

Regarding the loss of sync with pause, this is due to the web server timing out on the connection and closing it. It is hard to avoid, unless we used ranged requests, which not every server allows.

Let me get the new version out and I can chase bugs again!

Happy holidays,
--Mike

Top
#277397 - 02/12/2006 12:45 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: phatboy]
julf
veteran

Registered: 01/10/2001
Posts: 1290
Loc: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Quote:
I've been busy with other things.

Tends to happen to all of us
Quote:
Development is continuing (with help from Adam) and we have some new features.


Great to hear!
Quote:

Regarding the loss of sync with pause, this is due to the web server timing out on the connection and closing it.


I guess this is unrelated to the crashes after being paused
overnight?
Quote:

It is hard to avoid, unless we used ranged requests, which not every server allows.


Which servers don't allow it? I guess supporting every possible server is maybe not that important?
Quote:

Let me get the new version out and I can chase bugs again!


Well, here is a new one I just found - listening to the Luka Bloom albums by choosing all albums, there was suddenly spoken stuff in between each song.
Turns out it was among the songs from the Luka album "Amsterdam", and the stuff was actually audiobook chapters from a travel guide also called "Amsterdam".
So somehow that other "Amsterdam" album got sucked in too.
Quote:

Happy holidays

Likewise, and many thanks!!

Julf

Top
#277398 - 07/01/2007 17:34 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: phatboy]
julf
veteran

Registered: 01/10/2001
Posts: 1290
Loc: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Quote:
http://www.mikewinter.org/musicmuppet/


Seems the web site isn't responding. Are you still working on Music Muppet? I still haven't been able to get streaming to work...

Top
#277399 - 14/02/2007 14:30 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: julf]
julf
veteran

Registered: 01/10/2001
Posts: 1290
Loc: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Has anyone besides Mike Winter managed to get streaming to work? It seems whatever I do, the receiver restarts when I try a stream.

Top
#277400 - 06/04/2007 18:55 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: julf]
akula169
new poster

Registered: 06/04/2007
Posts: 1
no streaming for me either... in fact, nothing plays at all, even mp3 files.

I was really excited about this, as I'd like to get away from maintaining tRio.


I only use my DAR for streaming radio - and just a few stations. Maybe I'll hack away since it seems there has been little progress on this project.


Edited by akula169 (06/04/2007 19:34)

Top
#277401 - 28/04/2007 13:26 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: akula169]
touchstone
new poster

Registered: 18/03/2007
Posts: 12
Does anyone have a copy of the tarball from mikewinter.org, or has anyone compiled binaries from the sourceforge cvs? I've tried downloading the tarball several times over the past couple weeks -- connection always times out.

Top
#277402 - 08/10/2007 19:12 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: touchstone]
YNaught
new poster

Registered: 28/01/2006
Posts: 13
I'll try to get a release posted on the Sourceforge page sometime soon, and will repost here when I've done. After hooking up with the source code I lost sight that there were others besides Mike and I using it!

Top
#277403 - 08/10/2007 19:15 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: julf]
YNaught
new poster

Registered: 28/01/2006
Posts: 13
Quote:
Well, here is a new one I just found - listening to the Luka Bloom albums by choosing all albums, there was suddenly spoken stuff in between each song.
Turns out it was among the songs from the Luka album "Amsterdam", and the stuff was actually audiobook chapters from a travel guide also called "Amsterdam".
So somehow that other "Amsterdam" album got sucked in too.


That happens any time you have multiple albums with the same name. Especially beware "Greatest Hits" ;-)

I definitely want to get that one fixed; it's a nuisance.

Top
#277404 - 09/10/2007 07:33 Re: Beta testers for a modified rioplay firmware? [Re: YNaught]
julf
veteran

Registered: 01/10/2001
Posts: 1290
Loc: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Quote:
I definitely want to get that one fixed


That would definitely be appreciated

Top