Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Page 2 of 15 < 1 2 3 4 ... 14 15 >
Topic Options
#292720 - 04/02/2007 00:26 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: jimhogan]
MarkM
stranger

Registered: 11/12/2000
Posts: 105
Loc: Seattle, WA USA
Hi Kennedy,

I'm not selling, I'm buying (2).

Talk to Mach or Maczrool on this thread. I think that only 10 sets were ordered and seem to be spoken for.

You could check with Maczrool to see if he'll build more. I doubt it's much of a money making venture for him.

Once the boards are built, I'm sure you'll find out on this forum whether or not the illuminated buttons work - seems like they would.

Good luck with the WRX.

Top
#292721 - 04/02/2007 01:22 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: jimhogan]
Mach
old hand

Registered: 15/07/2002
Posts: 826
Loc: Texas, USA
Mark & Jim - Names added. We've got a full 10 committed at this point but many things happen in Empeg time.

BTW, Stu is building these. I've bought 10 sets of boards so that Stu can produce the initial prototype. Once it's proven, we'll work our way through the list until they're gone. If there is enough interest from the BBS and Stu, then another batch may happen.

1-MarkM (2)
2-Mach (2)
3-caseyse (2)
4-juenk (1)
5-EtN (1)
6-music (1)
7-jarob10 (1)
8-mlord (1)
9-JimHogan (1)

Top
#292722 - 04/02/2007 05:18 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: MarkM]
jimhogan
carpal tunnel

Registered: 06/10/1999
Posts: 2591
Loc: Seattle, WA, U.S.A.
Quote:
Hi Kennedy,

Well, I did grow up in the next town over from Brookline

Quote:
I'm not selling, I'm buying (2).

I got overexcited (who wouldn't?). Got mixed up. As usual.

Quote:
Talk to Mach or Maczrool on this thread. I think that only 10 sets were ordered and seem to be spoken for.


I seemy name on a list!

Thanks.
_________________________
Jim


'Tis the exceptional fellow who lies awake at night thinking of his successes.

Top
#292723 - 04/02/2007 13:21 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: Mach]
maczrool
pooh-bah

Registered: 13/01/2002
Posts: 1627
Loc: Louisiana, USA
I guess we should ask if everyone is going to want an extender cable included or if they are going to make their own. With 100 feet of ribbon, the cost for the cable with connectors crimped on is around $75. There is only a slight price break for ordering 1000 feet over smaller quantities, so it's not going to make much difference. I believe MarkM has already indicated he will not be needing any of the extender cabling. So that would leave a maximum amount of 800 feet needed.

Thanks,
Stu
_________________________
If you want it to break, buy Sony!

Top
#292724 - 04/02/2007 14:47 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: maczrool]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 13630
Loc: Canada
Quote:
I guess we should ask if everyone is going to want an extender cable included or if they are going to make their own. With 100 feet of ribbon, the cost for the cable with connectors crimped on is around $75.


Is this the same density cable as used for the hard drives in the empeg? Or is it the lower density variety, similar to the older 40 conductor IDE (not UDMA) ribbon used for desktop drives?

How many conductors, and what spacing?
I doubt that anyone will want 100' of it. Maybe about 20', max.

Thanks

Top
#292725 - 04/02/2007 15:07 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: mlord]
pgrzelak
carpal tunnel

Registered: 15/08/2000
Posts: 4859
Loc: New Jersey, USA
I have to say that I am intrigued. Ideally, I would like to purchase this as a complete kit - with the display safely mounted in a thin case that can be attached to the surface of a dashboard or console. Especially if it had a sturdy cable (or perhaps wireless???) running to a mountpoint in the trunk.
_________________________
Paul Grzelak
200GB with 48MB RAM, Illuminated Buttons and Digital Outputs

Top
#292726 - 04/02/2007 15:38 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: mlord]
maczrool
pooh-bah

Registered: 13/01/2002
Posts: 1627
Loc: Louisiana, USA
It's higher density 25 conductor stuff (1.27mm versus 2mm). If everyone wants 20 feet we can do that.

Hope this helps,
Stu
_________________________
If you want it to break, buy Sony!

Top
#292727 - 04/02/2007 16:24 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: maczrool]
caseyse
member

Registered: 07/10/2000
Posts: 111
Loc: CA, USA
Quote:
It's higher density 25 conductor stuff (1.27mm versus 2mm). If everyone wants 20 feet we can do that.


Some cable and connectors we could crimp ourselves would be very nice; alternatively, if someone can provide Digikey or Mouser part numbers, that would be a help.

Top
#292728 - 04/02/2007 17:03 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: maczrool]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 13630
Loc: Canada
From the photo, the cables look to be just DB25M connectors, with ribbon in between.

Right?

So we could just make those up with any compatible set of crimpable DB25M ends and cable. Mmm.. I think I have some of that lying around here, which is why I'm asking.

Cheers

Top
#292729 - 04/02/2007 17:21 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: mlord]
maczrool
pooh-bah

Registered: 13/01/2002
Posts: 1627
Loc: Louisiana, USA
Yes they use DB25 connectors. I've attached a parts list I compiled from MarkM's original file he posted.

Hope this helps,
Stu


Attachments
293977-EmpegDisplayExtenderPartsList.pdf (781 downloads)

_________________________
If you want it to break, buy Sony!

Top
#292730 - 05/02/2007 23:15 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: caseyse]
pca
old hand

Registered: 20/07/1999
Posts: 1084
Loc: UK
Hi.

The board will definitely work over 50 meters of cable, and is very tolerant of noise. In theory it would probably work over a couple of hundred meters.

pca
_________________________
Experience is what you get just after it would have helped...

Top
#292731 - 05/02/2007 23:19 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: mlord]
pca
old hand

Registered: 20/07/1999
Posts: 1084
Loc: UK
It's just standard ribbon cable with crimp-on 25W male D connectors. You could wire up a cable with discrete wiring, of course, and it's 1 to 1 pinning, but the crimps are easier

pca
_________________________
Experience is what you get just after it would have helped...

Top
#292732 - 05/02/2007 23:20 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: MarkM]
pca
old hand

Registered: 20/07/1999
Posts: 1084
Loc: UK
I haven't been following this thread, but I just checked and I have 4, possible 5 partially built board sets here. I'm pretty sure I have all the parts in stock to finish them as well.

pca
_________________________
Experience is what you get just after it would have helped...

Top
#292733 - 05/02/2007 23:23 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: jimhogan]
pca
old hand

Registered: 20/07/1999
Posts: 1084
Loc: UK
The buttons most definitely should work, from the point of view of the display board it's just plugged into the empeg motherboard. A very long cable might introduce a certain amount of voltage drop, but in any normal vehicle this would be irrelevant.

pca
_________________________
Experience is what you get just after it would have helped...

Top
#292734 - 06/02/2007 03:46 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: Mach]
TigerJimmy
old hand

Registered: 15/02/2002
Posts: 1049
My GF has an E46 BMW. There is a small compartment below the climate controls that is not deep enough to hold a DIN device. I think it might accomodate just the screen and controls, which would make this the *perfect* installation option.

I would like one of these kits *if* it will fit in that compartment. I need to measure the width/height of this compartment. What is the depth dimension of the display and controls with the board installed?

Am I correct in assuming that the knob and buttons will work through the extender?

It looks like all the kits may be spoken for, but please put me on the list for one in case some people back out or more kits become available.

Can someone help me understand how to install a 802.11 wireless bridge in the trunk, since the empeg will no longer be easily removable?

Thanks,

Jim

Top
#292735 - 06/02/2007 05:30 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: TigerJimmy]
MarkM
stranger

Registered: 11/12/2000
Posts: 105
Loc: Seattle, WA USA
All of the controls work fine using the extender.

No need for wireless, just open the trunk, disconnect the cable, remove the player, load it and put it back. You don't really need the display for emplode - having an extra display set is nice but not needed.

Top
#292736 - 06/02/2007 05:33 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: pca]
MarkM
stranger

Registered: 11/12/2000
Posts: 105
Loc: Seattle, WA USA
Hey Patrick,

Good to see you here.

Did you see Stu's resister question?

Mark

Top
#292737 - 06/02/2007 10:37 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: MarkM]
maczrool
pooh-bah

Registered: 13/01/2002
Posts: 1627
Loc: Louisiana, USA
Quote:
Hey Patrick,

Good to see you here.

Did you see Stu's resister question?


He replied to me via e-mail last night. He said we could use either one but he used R52 on all the ones he built.

Stu
_________________________
If you want it to break, buy Sony!

Top
#292738 - 06/02/2007 20:45 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: maczrool]
maczrool
pooh-bah

Registered: 13/01/2002
Posts: 1627
Loc: Louisiana, USA
The boards arrived today and they look great. Here's a picture.

Stu



Attachments
294104-disp_extender.jpg (1109 downloads)

_________________________
If you want it to break, buy Sony!

Top
#292739 - 06/02/2007 22:13 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: TigerJimmy]
music
addict

Registered: 25/06/2002
Posts: 456
Quote:
E46 BMW. There is a small compartment below the climate controls that is not deep enough to hold a DIN device. I think it might accomodate just the screen and controls, which would make this the *perfect* installation option.



That is precisely what I intend to do with mine as well.
So I sure hope it fits.

But I am obviously quite confident that it will, or else I wouldn't have already put my name in for an extender.

I guess if it doesn't, I'll try to come up with some cool household application for it instead.

Top
#292740 - 06/02/2007 22:50 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: maczrool]
Mach
old hand

Registered: 15/07/2002
Posts: 826
Loc: Texas, USA
Very cool! Thanks for the update.

Top
#292741 - 06/02/2007 23:47 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: TigerJimmy]
Mach
old hand

Registered: 15/07/2002
Posts: 826
Loc: Texas, USA
Done.


1-MarkM (2)
2-Mach (2)
3-caseyse (2)
4-juenk (1)
5-EtN (1)
6-music (1)
7-jarob10 (1)
8-mlord (1)
9-JimHogan (1)
10-TigerJimmy (1)

Top
#292742 - 08/02/2007 16:00 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: Mach]
maczrool
pooh-bah

Registered: 13/01/2002
Posts: 1627
Loc: Louisiana, USA
I've ordered all the parts for the first set. If all goes well we can begin taking orders. There is a 19 day lead time on the RS232 filters so it will take some time to find out.

Stu
_________________________
If you want it to break, buy Sony!

Top
#292743 - 08/02/2007 23:30 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: maczrool]
pca
old hand

Registered: 20/07/1999
Posts: 1084
Loc: UK
I've got hundreds of them. Do you want a handful?

pca
_________________________
Experience is what you get just after it would have helped...

Top
#292744 - 08/02/2007 23:57 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: pca]
maczrool
pooh-bah

Registered: 13/01/2002
Posts: 1627
Loc: Louisiana, USA
Yeah that would be great! I can cancel the backorder that way and get this project going.

PM sent!
Stu
_________________________
If you want it to break, buy Sony!

Top
#292745 - 10/02/2007 23:47 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: Mach]
TigerJimmy
old hand

Registered: 15/02/2002
Posts: 1049
Thanks! It looks like I'm on the list for #13. pca mentioned he has some boards. Does this mean that it may be possible to produce more than the initially planned 10 units? If so, how likely am I to get one as #13 on the list?

I did some measuring and I'm fairly certain this is exactly what I need. If it looks like I'll get one, I'll start accumulating the other stuff I need for installation...

Music, PM me and we can exchange notes on the E46 installation. I found a steering wheel -> sony stalk adapater. I'm wondering if you plan on running the inputs through the factory CD changer wiring. If so, have you found the adapter for this?

Jim

Top
#292746 - 12/02/2007 08:41 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: TigerJimmy]
brabax22
new poster

Registered: 15/02/2002
Posts: 27
Can you please set me also on the list (perhaps for the first batch). I saw the thread today... Is shipping to germany a problem ? Do you know definitly the final price ?

Top
#292747 - 12/02/2007 09:14 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: TigerJimmy]
Mach
old hand

Registered: 15/07/2002
Posts: 826
Loc: Texas, USA
Patrick would need say so and quote pricing. Patrick, do you want to throw your boards into the mix also?

Top
#292748 - 12/02/2007 09:18 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: brabax22]
Mach
old hand

Registered: 15/07/2002
Posts: 826
Loc: Texas, USA
First batch is spoken for but I'll add your name. Shipping to Germany shouldn't be a problem and pricing hasn't been set yet. Stu is building the first board set now. Once complete, he should be able to pin the price down.

1-MarkM (2)
2-Mach (2)
3-caseyse (2)
4-juenk (1)
5-EtN (1)
6-music (1)
7-jarob10 (1)
8-mlord (1)
9-JimHogan (1)
10-TigerJimmy (1)
11- brabax22(1)

Top
#292749 - 15/02/2007 15:10 Re: Display Extender Interest [Re: Mach]
maczrool
pooh-bah

Registered: 13/01/2002
Posts: 1627
Loc: Louisiana, USA
The first set is all built except for the filters which we are waiting to arrive in the mail. Should be any day now that they come I would think.

Stu
_________________________
If you want it to break, buy Sony!

Top
Page 2 of 15 < 1 2 3 4 ... 14 15 >