Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#318596 - 29/01/2009 22:50 hijack feature 3
Boelle
addict

Registered: 22/11/2007
Posts: 475
Loc: Denmark, Odense
an option to disable that the empeg sets the clock according to time signal from RDS... sometimes the stations is way off with there time signals... just ask Ben :-D

an on/off option should do.. and if on an option to confirm that setting the clock is ok...
_________________________
the "monkey" who learned to check a harddrive

Top
#318612 - 29/01/2009 23:18 Re: hijack feature 3 [Re: Boelle]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 13491
Loc: Canada
That's a good idea. Show me the code to extract time from RDS, and I'll stick it in there.

Thanks

Top
#318616 - 29/01/2009 23:27 Re: hijack feature 3 [Re: mlord]
Boelle
addict

Registered: 22/11/2007
Posts: 475
Loc: Denmark, Odense
well i had it from ben that said that his clock is always way off... so i guess that the clock is beeing set auto.. so we just need to turn that darn feature off....hmm... but how?

but i gave him this to set the clock via NTP:

[hijack]
;@MENUEXEC Set_Date_Time /rdate -s 10.0.0.2 &>/dev/null
_________________________
the "monkey" who learned to check a harddrive

Top
#318633 - 30/01/2009 07:23 Re: hijack feature 3 [Re: Boelle]
sein
old hand

Registered: 07/01/2005
Posts: 883
Loc: Sector ZZ9pZa
I'm pretty certain that the clock is not set by RDS. If your clock is always wrong you may have another separate problem.
_________________________
Hussein

Top
#318636 - 30/01/2009 11:30 Re: hijack feature 3 [Re: sein]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 13491
Loc: Canada
The only thing that causes the clock to be set automatically, is connecting the empeg to a PC and running emplode or jEmplode.

-ml

Top
#318637 - 30/01/2009 11:34 Re: hijack feature 3 [Re: mlord]
Boelle
addict

Registered: 22/11/2007
Posts: 475
Loc: Denmark, Odense
hmm... i will tell ben... but i'm pretty sure his clock at home is correct....
_________________________
the "monkey" who learned to check a harddrive

Top
#318639 - 30/01/2009 11:38 Re: hijack feature 3 [Re: Boelle]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 13491
Loc: Canada
Note also, that the empeg clock only survives for a few days (up to a week, perhaps) without power. It does not have an internal battery, but rather just a small super capacitor to maintain the clock between uses.

Top
#318641 - 30/01/2009 13:13 Re: hijack feature 3 [Re: mlord]
Boelle
addict

Registered: 22/11/2007
Posts: 475
Loc: Denmark, Odense
could i expand this time? an extra supercap maybe?
_________________________
the "monkey" who learned to check a harddrive

Top
#318646 - 30/01/2009 15:14 Re: hijack feature 3 [Re: sein]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30548
Loc: Seattle, WA
Originally Posted By: sein
I'm pretty certain that the clock is not set by RDS. If your clock is always wrong you may have another separate problem.


That statement is correct. There is an RDS clock display on the empeg, but it only shows on one screen, only when you're in tuner mode, and it does not update the empeg's internal clock. It's common, for example, to have the empeg's clock and the RDS clock displaying two completely different times, either because the empeg's clock is wrong, or the radio station's RDS time is wrong.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#318873 - 05/02/2009 23:59 Re: hijack feature 3 [Re: Boelle]
canuckInOR
carpal tunnel

Registered: 13/02/2002
Posts: 3118
Loc: Portland, OR
Originally Posted By: Boelle
could i expand this time? an extra supercap maybe?

Actually, this (or a battery) would be a really nice hack for the empeg.

Top
#319387 - 16/02/2009 22:42 Re: hijack feature 3 [Re: tfabris]
benjammin
member

Registered: 11/08/2002
Posts: 169
Loc: Champaign, IL
Originally Posted By: tfabris
Originally Posted By: sein
I'm pretty certain that the clock is not set by RDS. If your clock is always wrong you may have another separate problem.


That statement is correct. There is an RDS clock display on the empeg, but it only shows on one screen, only when you're in tuner mode, and it does not update the empeg's internal clock. It's common, for example, to have the empeg's clock and the RDS clock displaying two completely different times, either because the empeg's clock is wrong, or the radio station's RDS time is wrong.


Then that's what I've been seeing. So many stations in the US used to have RDS up (in prep for HDradio) but the damn clocks would be wrong. so here the time would pop up while tuned in.. and be incorrect.

I'll check to see if my unit keeps time otherwise.. I thought for sure I was seeing updates or something that may have been updates.. It's been too long.

-Ben
_________________________
Empeg Mk2 in fabulous green! Green Face, Green BackLit Buttons... GREEN...

Top
#329451 - 28/01/2010 22:47 Re: hijack feature 3 [Re: benjammin]
siberia37
old hand

Registered: 09/01/2002
Posts: 702
Loc: Tacoma,WA
+1 for a bigger supercap or battery. My empeg seems to gradually drift fast or slow even when used in the car on a regular basis.

Top