Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#335893 - 08/08/2010 00:28 my empeg seems almost totally dead
DixieIand
journeyman

Registered: 17/05/2001
Posts: 64
Loc: Philadelphia area
so, my empeg had been acting up on me for a while and now it's totally out of commission. in the past, the unit would power on and occasionally get "stuck" in what appeared to be standby mode... where the LED would pulse evenly and slowly and it would do nothing else, no matter how many buttons were pressed or held in.

now, that is ALL the unit will do. when i have it in the car or at home on the AC adapter it will accept power but do nothing else... the red LED inside the case and the blue LED at the rear will blink evenly and regularly almost every two seconds, but nothing else will happen.

the hard disk sounds like it spins up, but nothing else happens.

i'm seeking a null modem cable in order to check things out in Hyper Terminal (i've connected before, can't find the cable now. arg)

any thoughts on what this might be?
_________________________
- Dixieland
MK1 : 6 GB : s/n 00246
MK2 : 100 GB : s/n 080000348

Top
#335895 - 08/08/2010 05:35 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: DixieIand]
Roger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 18/01/2000
Posts: 5528
Loc: London, UK
Originally Posted By: DixieIand
i'm seeking a null modem cable in order to check things out in Hyper Terminal (i've connected before, can't find the cable now. arg)
any thoughts on what this might be?


Until we get that serial trace, we'd just be finger-in-the-air guessing. Remember that if you use Hyperterminal, you should use the Capture Text feature.
_________________________
-- roger

Top
#335901 - 08/08/2010 20:42 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: Roger]
DixieIand
journeyman

Registered: 17/05/2001
Posts: 64
Loc: Philadelphia area
well, i managed to find my null modem cable. but now utterly nothing works. hooked it up to HyperTerminal (which has functioned for me plenty of times in the past) and i get nothing. i power off and power back on by pulling the cord and i get nothing.

even the red LED inside the case and the blue LED at the rear don't blink anymore. they just remain on, solid, whenever there is power applied. is my empeg likely fully dead?

(strange that the lights would stay on solid now, no? they were blinking right up until moments earlier when i disconnected power and hooked up the null modem cable)
_________________________
- Dixieland
MK1 : 6 GB : s/n 00246
MK2 : 100 GB : s/n 080000348

Top
#335902 - 08/08/2010 20:45 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: DixieIand]
DixieIand
journeyman

Registered: 17/05/2001
Posts: 64
Loc: Philadelphia area
well, now we're back to the two LEDs blinking at a regular interval (about two seconds) but nothing else. the led on the front face no longer is pulsing. HyperTerminal still shows nothing.
_________________________
- Dixieland
MK1 : 6 GB : s/n 00246
MK2 : 100 GB : s/n 080000348

Top
#335904 - 08/08/2010 21:12 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: DixieIand]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30578
Loc: Seattle, WA
You didn't have a loose screw shorting stuff out in there, did you?

Have you opened the player carefully and looked for cables or connectors that have worked loose?
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#335905 - 08/08/2010 21:32 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: tfabris]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 13498
Loc: Canada
If we manage to get you past the "check the connectors" phase and things are still b0rked as described above.. then this sounds like a case where you might want to package it up and send it to me for repair.

But let's see about the cables and connections first.

Top
#335914 - 09/08/2010 11:52 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: mlord]
DixieIand
journeyman

Registered: 17/05/2001
Posts: 64
Loc: Philadelphia area
Originally Posted By: tfabris
You didn't have a loose screw shorting stuff out in there, did you?
no, it does not appear to be that. I'm quite comfortable taking the cover off and poking around inside (i've upgraded the hard disks in the past) and i cannot find anything of the sort right now.

In fact, not long ago my roommate surprised me by giving the unit a total teardown and Rid-Ox treatment, then a rebuild (back when it was acting just "funny" as opposed to "dead") and that seemed to make it happy for some time.

I trust him even more than me when it comes to things like circuitry, reflow and rework, etc. So the idea of something loose rattling around in there without either of is seeing it is remote.

i have only one drive and a single head cable, so no loose whatnot could be the problem there, either.

i've even tried power the empeg on with no IDE cable connected... and without the display board cable, either. in all cases it seems borked and HyperTerm shows nothing still.

Originally Posted By: mlord
If we manage to get you past the "check the connectors" phase and things are still b0rked as described above.. then this sounds like a case where you might want to package it up and send it to me for repair.
are you Eutronix or a separate outfit? heh, if the former... you've had my unit in the past (for a rotary encoder)
_________________________
- Dixieland
MK1 : 6 GB : s/n 00246
MK2 : 100 GB : s/n 080000348

Top
#335915 - 09/08/2010 11:56 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: DixieIand]
maczrool
pooh-bah

Registered: 13/01/2002
Posts: 1626
Loc: Louisiana, USA
I can't tell what's wrong with your unit without taking a look or seeing the hyperterminal output, but if the red LED was ever flashing that would possibly indicate a power issue as it should just turn on and stay on.

You might want to send it to someone experienced with sick Empegs as Mark suggested. Mark is one option and is located in Canada. Eutronix is another and is located in the US. They are totally separate entities.

Stu


Edited by maczrool (09/08/2010 12:05)
_________________________
If you want it to break, buy Sony!

Top
#335916 - 09/08/2010 12:07 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: maczrool]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 13498
Loc: Canada
Quote:
are you Eutronix or a separate outfit?

I am Mark Lord, as you can see from my profile.
Eutronix is maczrool/Stu, who posted above.

Stu handles nearly all repairs and upgrades these days, whereas I am simply the repair of last resort guy. If Stu can't fix it, then I will.

But I only take on the dirty, broken, complicated repairs, not routine stuff. Except in cases of Canadian residents, for whom I'll take on anything empeg related, to save them cross-border shipping hassles.

Cheers

Top
#335921 - 09/08/2010 14:10 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: mlord]
DixieIand
journeyman

Registered: 17/05/2001
Posts: 64
Loc: Philadelphia area
well... we're definitely looking at a "blink" situation of the LEDs almost 100% of the time now. so, given that it appears to be a power issue, i'd consider shipping it out.

and yes, i was confused, it wasn't Mark who had it last. I had sent it in to Eutronix. think you folk would be the best option again this time around?

(or, should i save everyone the time, trouble, and shipping delay by just asking right now... is there any chance this is likely to be repaired for under $150? because for that amount i might opt to purchase a different head unit and try some other things in my vehicle.)
_________________________
- Dixieland
MK1 : 6 GB : s/n 00246
MK2 : 100 GB : s/n 080000348

Top
#335923 - 09/08/2010 14:36 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: DixieIand]
peter
carpal tunnel

Registered: 13/07/2000
Posts: 4140
Loc: Cambridge, England
Have you tried it with a known-good (external) power supply?

Peter

Top
#335927 - 09/08/2010 15:36 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: DixieIand]
Robotic
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/04/2005
Posts: 2026
Loc: Seattle transplant
Originally Posted By: DixieIand
(or, should i save everyone the time, trouble, and shipping delay by just asking right now... is there any chance this is likely to be repaired for under $150? because for that amount i might opt to purchase a different head unit and try some other things in my vehicle.)

I think empegs are about that much right now. ymmv
Why change? Just get a couple spares!
_________________________
10101311 (20GB- backup empeg)
10101466 (2x60GB, Eutronix/GreenLights Blue) (Stolen!)

Top
#335935 - 09/08/2010 18:18 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: Robotic]
DixieIand
journeyman

Registered: 17/05/2001
Posts: 64
Loc: Philadelphia area
hmm... so if i love having an empeg, what do folk think is my best (read: cheapest) option to repair/replace it? personally, i'd like to send it to Eutronix and say "here... can you get this thing working or replaced for $150"

Stu, what are the odds we could wrangle something like that? i've got a 250 GB disk in mine right now that i never did quite get to work correctly, maybe i'll even have the luxury of that functioning, too!

(or do i ask too much from this fragile, imperfect world?)
_________________________
- Dixieland
MK1 : 6 GB : s/n 00246
MK2 : 100 GB : s/n 080000348

Top
#335937 - 09/08/2010 18:49 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: DixieIand]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30578
Loc: Seattle, WA
Stu is definitely your best shot. If anyone can get it working again, it's him. Knowing that, I'm sure that any price he charges is reasonable. If I needed him to fix my player, I'd be willing to pay quite a bit, because my player is quite precious to me. Whether his price is within your particular budget, well, I hope that you and Stu can work something out to your satisfaction. Stu's a good guy, he'll do his best for you.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#335939 - 09/08/2010 20:18 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: tfabris]
DixieIand
journeyman

Registered: 17/05/2001
Posts: 64
Loc: Philadelphia area
Originally Posted By: tfabris
Stu is definitely your best shot. If anyone can get it working again, it's him.
then i'll email him and try to let him take another whack at it. i know we've corresponded in the past, long long ago.

he was able to do an amazing hacky repair job on my rotary encoder... vibrations and such had gotten so bad that the entire knob had cracked off the board (taking the solder pads with it and everything) and he was able to run thin traces of copper wire to replace the missing circuit pathways. it's just what i would have done in such a desperate situation if i had steadier hands and a good work station.
_________________________
- Dixieland
MK1 : 6 GB : s/n 00246
MK2 : 100 GB : s/n 080000348

Top
#335947 - 10/08/2010 03:45 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: DixieIand]
Ross Wellington
enthusiast

Registered: 21/02/2006
Posts: 325
Bad Power supply?


Ross
_________________________
In SI, a little termination and attention to layout goes a long way. In EMC, without SI, you'll spend 80% of the effort on the last 3dB.

Top
#335974 - 10/08/2010 18:08 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: Ross Wellington]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30578
Loc: Seattle, WA
Originally Posted By: Ross Wellington
Bad Power supply?


I seem to recall that he said the issue was both in the car and in the house on AC power.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#335999 - 11/08/2010 04:01 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: tfabris]
Ross Wellington
enthusiast

Registered: 21/02/2006
Posts: 325
Ah, missed that. Thanks.

Ross
_________________________
In SI, a little termination and attention to layout goes a long way. In EMC, without SI, you'll spend 80% of the effort on the last 3dB.

Top
#336503 - 29/08/2010 19:04 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: Ross Wellington]
maczrool
pooh-bah

Registered: 13/01/2002
Posts: 1626
Loc: Louisiana, USA
Fixed. Two open display fuses.

Stu
_________________________
If you want it to break, buy Sony!

Top
#336513 - 29/08/2010 23:06 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: maczrool]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30578
Loc: Seattle, WA
Awesome. Wish we knew what made those display fuses decide to go poof on their own every once in a while.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#336514 - 30/08/2010 01:52 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: tfabris]
maczrool
pooh-bah

Registered: 13/01/2002
Posts: 1626
Loc: Louisiana, USA
I know why these did; just didn't mention it. The pins were off by a row.

Stu
_________________________
If you want it to break, buy Sony!

Top
#336520 - 30/08/2010 06:43 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: tfabris]
JimCamel
journeyman

Registered: 30/06/2008
Posts: 61
Originally Posted By: tfabris
Awesome. Wish we knew what made those display fuses decide to go poof on their own every once in a while.


Given the display fuse on my Mk1 randomly died last weekend, and I'm on the other side of the world, maybe it is the fault of the recent solar flares.

On a more serious note, is there anywhere I can get replacement fuses? Digikey appears to be sold out, and I don't really think it's worth shipping my empeg overseas to get fixed. Alternately, would it be possible to wire in an M205 fuse such as this instead of the SMD fuse without any nasty side affects?


Edited by JimCamel (30/08/2010 06:43)

Top
#336549 - 30/08/2010 23:16 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: JimCamel]
Shonky
pooh-bah

Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 1914
Loc: Brisbane, Australia
You can't link to the DSE website directly. An M205 fuse is 20mm long x 5mm in diameter. Massive compared to what you are replacing. That said, if rated appropriately it would work but it would be a very very ugly fix. You should be able to get a closer replacement from Farnell or RS. It will cost more and possibly there's a minimum order but I would do that long before trying to kludge an M205 in there.
_________________________
Christian
#40104192 120Gb (no longer in my E36 M3, won't fit the E46 M3)

Top
#336550 - 30/08/2010 23:29 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: Shonky]
Shonky
pooh-bah

Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 1914
Loc: Brisbane, Australia
e.g. something from here. At the very bottom 4c each for some older parts that are obsoleted. Might cost you $10 in postage.

Farnell NZ search here


Edited by Shonky (30/08/2010 23:30)
Edit Reason: Fixed URL
_________________________
Christian
#40104192 120Gb (no longer in my E36 M3, won't fit the E46 M3)

Top
#336551 - 30/08/2010 23:48 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: JimCamel]
maczrool
pooh-bah

Registered: 13/01/2002
Posts: 1626
Loc: Louisiana, USA
I've got a fair number of SMD fuses. I could send you a few if interested in those.

Stu
_________________________
If you want it to break, buy Sony!

Top
#336560 - 31/08/2010 02:30 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: Shonky]
JimCamel
journeyman

Registered: 30/06/2008
Posts: 61
Originally Posted By: Shonky
You can't link to the DSE website directly.

Ah, so you can't, my bad

Originally Posted By: Shonky
An M205 fuse is 20mm long x 5mm in diameter. Massive compared to what you are replacing. That said, if rated appropriately it would work but it would be a very very ugly fix.

I realise it isn't an optimal solution, but I thought if I ran a couple of wires off it I could place an M205 Fuse in a fuse holder somewhere else inside the case such that if it blew again it would be a simpler replacement than SMD soldering.

That said though, I'll give Farnell a try first. I guess it's taken around ten years to blow, and I can probably afford to replace it every ten years.

Also thanks for the offer Stu, I'll try Farnell first since shipping should be cheaper and faster hopefully.

Top
#336563 - 31/08/2010 05:40 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: JimCamel]
Shonky
pooh-bah

Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 1914
Loc: Brisbane, Australia
Farnell have minimum orders and the like. Probably $10 minimum order and then something like $15 postage. So not cheap. Order some batteries or something to get to the minimum order.

Stu's generous offer though would be a good way to go. They could just drop in a regular envelope for $1 or so postage even from the US.
_________________________
Christian
#40104192 120Gb (no longer in my E36 M3, won't fit the E46 M3)

Top
#337307 - 17/09/2010 23:50 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: Shonky]
JimCamel
journeyman

Registered: 30/06/2008
Posts: 61
Well, my fuse replacements arrived yesterday (Thanks so much to Stu, If you're ever down this way I owe you a beer). However, despite very carefully attempting to remove the hot glue holding the drive cable in place with a scalpel, unfortunately it still came off with the cable, ripping two of the adjacent capacitors off their legs too frown I got the fuse soldered in place and removed the old capacitor legs off the board, so now I need to find some replacement caps.

The capacitors have written on them "35v" and underneath "22", so I assume they're 22uF 35v capacitors. Mind you they also have written 85c, (m) and 214, but I'm guessing thats maximum temperatures and some sort of product ID.

Can anyone confirm the values of these capacitors? If anyone has the datasheet for an MK1 it's C91 and C95. I've attached a couple of images showing where the caps came from and what they look like (excuse the quality, I'm at work so they were taken with a webcam).


Attachments
Image1.jpg

Image2.png

Image3.png



Top
#337309 - 18/09/2010 03:36 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: JimCamel]
StigOE
addict

Registered: 27/10/2002
Posts: 565
Originally Posted By: JimCamel
The capacitors have written on them "35v" and underneath "22", so I assume they're 22u.

Yes, you're correct, they're 22u/35V electrolyte capacitors. Just remember, when you install them, install them the correct way around. They are polarized.

Stig

Top
#337310 - 18/09/2010 04:31 Re: my empeg seems almost totally dead [Re: StigOE]
JimCamel
journeyman

Registered: 30/06/2008
Posts: 61
Awesome, thanks, I'll see if I can't source some tomorrow.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >