Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#51060 - 23/12/2001 13:42 Shorten i.e. SHN File
2003Tibby
new poster

I have a ton of live music in my archive and would love to be able to transfer them to my Empeg and listen to them, however its not natively supported, if anyone has any experience in programming I'm sure that it wouldn't be that hard to add, however I have no experience on my own. There is open source stuff for playing shorten files on linux at www.etree.org I think this would be a great addition to our players since it is lossless compressed wavs.

topperge

#51061 - 23/12/2001 15:34 Re: Shorten i.e. SHN File [Re: 2003Tibby]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
If you can't find an SHN-to-MP3 converter, see if there is a way to decode the SHN file to a WAV and then turn the WAV into an MP3.

If there's no easy way to decode the SHN to a WAV, then use the program named "Total Recorder" to do the conversion, that will definitely work.

#51062 - 23/12/2001 16:20 Re: Shorten i.e. SHN File [Re: tfabris]
2003Tibby
new poster

I was hoping that it could be added as a supported format to the empeg, I really dont want to convert all 200+ shows of mine to mp3, oh well. Maybe someone else has some ideas how to get it supported, Thanks

#51063 - 23/12/2001 17:12 Re: Shorten i.e. SHN File [Re: 2003Tibby]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

You are the only person on the planet (that I know of) who has ever requested direct support for that kind of file type.

Since it takes lots of development time to add other file types to the player, they only put in support for popular file types. I've never heard of the file type you just mentioned, so it's no wonder they didn't include support for it.

#51064 - 23/12/2001 19:03 Re: Shorten i.e. SHN File [Re: tfabris]
tonyc
carpal tunnel

Loc: Pittsburgh, PA