Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#73382 - 20/02/2002 09:38 Wiring a double din install
dmob
journeyman

Loc: Boston
I have a Panasonic CD head unit (which will be used as my tuner - yeah, yeah, I know... I'll never listen to it) and my new empeg to install this weekend. I am not very informed on how all the wiring works but I do have a Crutchfield MasterSheet on its way so that will guide me through the installation.

The one question I have though is how do I wire both the empeg and the head unit to the car's wiring harness? Is there a special wiring harness out there that will allow piggy-backed power connections? Do I have to splice the cars wires in order to hook them up to the two units? Again, I don't know too much about this so if this sounds way off it's because I have never done my own install before.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated!

Dennis

#73383 - 20/02/2002 10:45 Re: Wiring a double din install [Re: dmob]
jarredduq
journeyman

Loc: California, USA
I purchased my stereo from cruchfield also and I just wired the Empeg and my JVC head unit to the harness that cruchfield provides. You can see my installation at: http://www.riocar.org/modules.php?set_albumName=album39&op=modload&name=gallery&file=index&include=view_album.php

Also, some cars do not provide enough power for you to run the head unit and Empeg off the same power source, so you may need to run a new power lead directly to the battery. I had to do this in my wife's car. She has a 2001 Crysler Sebring, which is basically a Mitsubish Eclipse. I also had to replace her center console with one from Mitsubishi to support a double din install, because the Chrysler head unit was 1.5 din.