Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#98194 - 07/06/2002 08:23 Retry tuner detection
tms13
old hand

Registered: 30/07/2001
Posts: 1115
Loc: Lochcarron and Edinburgh
If I start the car as the player is doing the tuner detection, it doesn't find it (because the tuner shut down during the voltage drop). But the player knows about the voltage drop (it blanks its display), so I think it should have another go at finding the tuner, once the power is back.
_________________________
Toby Speight
030103016 (80GB Mk2a, blue)
030102806 (0GB Mk2a, blue)

Top
#98195 - 07/06/2002 09:18 Re: Retry tuner detection [Re: tms13]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30578
Loc: Seattle, WA
I, too, get a voltage drop when I start my car, however the player never has any trouble finding the tuner. I would suspect a wiring problem before blaming a software bug.

Anyone here (perhaps Mark or the Empeg Guys are reading) know when the tuner detection occurs in the bootup process?
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#98196 - 07/06/2002 09:28 Re: Retry tuner detection [Re: tfabris]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 13498
Loc: Canada
The tuner detection occurs very late.. during startup of the player software application itself, AFTER drive detection and so forth (since the player app has to be read from disk first).

-ml

Top
#98197 - 07/06/2002 09:36 Re: Retry tuner detection [Re: mlord]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30578
Loc: Seattle, WA
OK then, that's at least 5-8 seconds into the boot process, then, isn't it? I don't see how they could do the detection any later than that. If the car is still in a "low voltage" condition at that point, I'd consider it a problem that needs to be diagnosed with the charging system or power wiring.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#98198 - 07/06/2002 15:47 Re: Retry tuner detection [Re: tfabris]
thinfourth2
Pooh-Bah

Registered: 13/04/2001
Posts: 1742
Loc: The land of the pale blue peop...
Sorry tony i disagree

If you stick the player in and then tun the key if you are like me with a diesel you have to wait for the glow plugs to go out before you start, also i check all lights that should come on do come on before i start so i get the tuner not being detected alot but it depends entirly on how quick i start the car.

Knowing about the problem i either delay starting the car by a few seconds or just pull the player and pop it back in to reset it. No problem when you know about it in futre things it may be a problem as they will be more main stream.

_________________________
P.Allison fixer of big engines Mk2+Mk2a signed by God / Hacked by the Lord Aberdeen Scotland

Top
#98199 - 10/06/2002 08:13 Re: Retry tuner detection [Re: thinfourth2]
tms13
old hand

Registered: 30/07/2001
Posts: 1115
Loc: Lochcarron and Edinburgh
In reply to:

you have to wait for the glow plugs to go out before you start,


Exactly. Since installing a second drive, booting is now faster than the glow-plugs, so it's easy to respond to them finishing instead of waiting an additional 2 or 3 seconds for the player.
_________________________
Toby Speight
030103016 (80GB Mk2a, blue)
030102806 (0GB Mk2a, blue)

Top
#98200 - 14/06/2002 16:39 Re: Retry tuner detection [Re: tms13]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 13498
Loc: Canada
I think you might be able to achieve this by specifying [hijack] fake_tuner=1

Not entirely sure, though.

Top
#98201 - 17/06/2002 02:56 Re: Retry tuner detection [Re: mlord]
tms13
old hand

Registered: 30/07/2001
Posts: 1115
Loc: Lochcarron and Edinburgh
In reply to:

I think you might be able to achieve this by specifying [hijack] fake_tuner=1


Thanks Mark - I'll give this a try (with the @DC flag, since I don't have a tuner on AC, and it won't be a problem there when/if I do).
_________________________
Toby Speight
030103016 (80GB Mk2a, blue)
030102806 (0GB Mk2a, blue)

Top
#98202 - 21/06/2002 03:22 Re: Retry tuner detection [Re: tms13]
tms13
old hand

Registered: 30/07/2001
Posts: 1115
Loc: Lochcarron and Edinburgh
I've tried using Hijack's fake_tuner feature to solve my problem of tuner detection, and lo & behold - it works! I've tried quite hard to upset it the last few days (starting the engine just as the player is beginning), and it's been okay every time.

Praise the Mark!
_________________________
Toby Speight
030103016 (80GB Mk2a, blue)
030102806 (0GB Mk2a, blue)

Top
#318374 - 22/01/2009 07:10 Re: Retry tuner detection [Re: tms13]
thenominous
member

Registered: 22/12/2001
Posts: 189
Loc: UK
Well, with a bit of searching I've just found a solution to my problem smile
Same issues, EMPEG wont detect the tuner on occassion.
My voltage goes down to about 10V when cranking. I'm going to upgrade the grounds, but I run a diesel with lots of electrical load at start which is why it sucks.

Have been considering one of those car PSU for mini-itx motherboard which will regulate 12V from anywhere from 6V-30V. Empeg protection in mind.


Edited by thenominous (22/01/2009 07:10)

Top