Question on fitting car exhausts

Posted by: andy

Question on fitting car exhausts - 09/12/2003 08:13

After failing to get my broken exhaust fixed and I now in the process of fitting a new cat-back exhaust.

The exhaust came with a gasket to go between the pipe and the catalyst. Do I also need to apply some sort of sealant between them ? Also, the exhaust has a join near the back box with a clamp to hold it together, do I also need some sort of sealant there ?
Posted by: g_attrill

Re: Question on fitting car exhausts - 09/12/2003 08:39

I'm not an expert but I believe you can (should?) use exhaust assembly paste on the gasket and possibly on the clamped pipe too. I think you just apply it liberally like grease and it sets when heated.

By the way, I did look on yell.com on Sunday to see if they had anyone that could help but it didn't really shed any light :-( Did you drive it back anyway?

Gareth

Re: Question on fitting car exhausts - 09/12/2003 09:32

Thanks. I might not been needing the assembly paste after all. It looks like the 1997/1998 Mk1 MX5/Miata might have a longer cat than other years. Meaning that my nice new exhaust won't fit without being cut down, which makes it a job for someone else...

I didn't drive it back, I had the AA recover me back home. If I had driven another 160 miles my bumper would have been a puddle of black plastic...
Posted by: furtive

Re: Question on fitting car exhausts - 09/12/2003 09:52

Ditch the cat and find a friendly MOT place.

Re: Question on fitting car exhausts - 09/12/2003 10:08

It would appear that ditching the cat wouldn't help me any. If I have a long cat apparently I also have a shorter than normal down pipe, meaning that the standard cat replacement pipe wouldn't fit either.