Ripping and compressing DVD movies -- which format and software?

Posted by: TigerJimmy

Ripping and compressing DVD movies -- which format and software? - 10/03/2007 06:49

Hi everyone,

Now that the 750GB disks are out and cheap, I'd like to rip all my DVDs onto a video server.

Can you guys recommend ripping and compression software to do this? I have DVD Shrink and DVD Decrypter, but I'm not certain this is the best approach. The whole video codec and container thing is completely bewildering to me. Which combination gives good quality (in case an HDTV monitor is in the future), portability and reasonable disk usage? XviD seems like a popular choice, but I know nothing about this. Comments?

Thanks in advance. I'm just starting to learn about this so if anyone wants to give me any pointers to resources or heads up on gotchas I'm not asking about, that would be great.

Jim
Posted by: wfaulk

Re: Ripping and compressing DVD movies -- which format and software? - 10/03/2007 12:41

H.264/MPEG4-AVC is probably the (current) future. I'd go that way. It's standards based, so you shouldn't have weird incompatibilities.

The real question, though, is what will your video playback device support? I'd figure that out first and then use what it supports best.
Posted by: Dignan

Re: Ripping and compressing DVD movies -- which format and software? - 10/03/2007 14:14

I use DVDShrink to rip a single VOB file:

Edit > Preferences > Output Files > uncheck "Split VOB files into 1GB size chunks (recommended)."

Then I use the Re-author mode, only selecting the movie, and I deselect all the alternative languages and all subtitles and I rip the movie. Also make sure you select "No Compression" instead of "Automatic"