Phone mute -> switch to line in = possible?

Posted by: Wire

Phone mute -> switch to line in = possible? - 08/03/2006 16:12

Hi everyone,

I've been quiet for a while, to say the least. Quiet, but not dead. Lurking a bit ...

Just having bought a Parrot CK3200 Bluetooth handsfree kit for the car, I'd really like to get it installed with as little fuss as possible.

The way the install is now, it's with a Sony Ericsson handsfree, which has built in speaker and microphone. This works, but the sound is far from impressive, coming from a small speaker mounted near the steering wheel.

The new kit has line out, and ... the empeg has line in. So rather than having to install a relay-switching system as I saw mentioned elsewhere, I'd rather have the empeg switch to external input when it senses the phone mute signal.

Is this possible?

On a further note, I can tell you guys that my empeg has been totally trouble free for the last five years.


Best regards,

Lars
Posted by: matthew_k

Re: Phone mute -> switch to line in = possible? - 09/03/2006 06:56

Yes, quite possible. Getting it to return to the state it was before your phone rang is more dificult. If you don't have a tuner, hijack can easily change the onmute into the button presses needed to switch between aux and player. If you use a tuner, it should be possible to get it to switch between the player<->aux and FM<->aux properly, though I never got it to work. The empeg always returns to the last FM station when you press tuner, so getting it to switch AM<->aux properly doesn't seem to be an option.

I've got a ck3100. I've posed my various irtranslate sections before, if you look up the on_mute button code and search for it, you should be able to find it easily.

No matter what you do, you'll still only have a 95% success rate with the onmute translations. Occasionally the empeg will miss a button press and you'll have to fix it manually.

Matthew
Posted by: mlord

Re: Phone mute -> switch to line in = possible? - 09/03/2006 21:57

This sounds like a trivial hijack hack, if I understand it right.

You want mute_on to "save current source, then switch to AUX", and mute_off to "restore original source". Or possibly with mute_on/mute_off reversed.

I can implement this in about 5-minutes as a pair of virtual button codes inside Hijack, if it would help.

We just need to agree on good names, something like "save_source_and_switch_to_aux" is a bit wordy for my liking.

Actually, I could just implement "save_src" and "restore_src" button codes, and then one could define a macro to do "save_src + aux" for the "mute_on".

???
Posted by: matthew_k

Re: Phone mute -> switch to line in = possible? - 11/03/2006 03:50

The save_src and restore_src sound great to me. The only warning is that all the button codes I've tried for tuner always take it to FM, never back to AM even if that's what you were listening to. It's always struck me as odd, because the empeg integrates AM and FM so well in every other way. I've never tried having the irtranslate go through the menu structure, because I didn't want it to not work if I was in the menus when a phone call came in. I've never tried your nextsource virtual button code though. I'm away from my empeg collection at the moment, so I can't try it now.

My initial plan was (pseduo ir-translate)

extmuteon.T = aux.S
extmuteon.M = aux

extmuteoff.N = player
extmuteoff.S = tuner

But I never got this to work at all, even with the AM/FM limitations.

I'll certainly set up a test bench when I get home to work on this some more, I'd love to get it perfected.

Matthew
Posted by: matthew_k

Re: Phone mute -> switch to line in = possible? - 11/03/2006 04:05

This thread was my last attempt. Currently I'm using the basic on=aux, off=player, as I can get that one to work.

Matthew
Posted by: mlord

Re: Phone mute -> switch to line in = possible? - 11/03/2006 13:42

See Hijack v445; details to be posted shortly in a new thread.

Basically, this:
    [hijack]
    extmute_on=SaveAux
    extmute_off=RestoreSrc
Posted by: Wire

Re: Phone mute -> switch to line in = possible? - 13/03/2006 07:42

Hi Mark,

You rock so hard, still impressing by "just fixing it" from just a single post. Thanks a lot for the help.

Consider a name change to Mark Overlord ;-)

I'll get the install done when the teperature rises above the -5 C it's here at the moment.
Posted by: tfabris

Re: Phone mute -> switch to line in = possible? - 13/03/2006 15:46

I, for one, welcome our new Mark overlords.

Did I say overlords? I meant protectors.
Posted by: schofiel

Re: Phone mute -> switch to line in = possible? - 13/03/2006 22:40

Be careful Tony - the route to the Dark Side is an easy one to follow....
Posted by: mlord

Re: Phone mute -> switch to line in = possible? - 14/03/2006 00:28

Quote:
I, for one, welcome our new Mark overlords.


No no.. those are your Dark overlords!

-ml
Posted by: gbeer

Re: Phone mute -> switch to line in = possible? - 14/03/2006 03:30

Quote:
Quote:
I, for one, welcome our new Mark overlords.


No no.. those are your <a href="://yro.slashdot.org/yro/06/03/13/0523242.shtml" target="_blank">Dark</a> overlords!

-ml


Is this link supposed to loop back on this thread?
Posted by: Shonky

Re: Phone mute -> switch to line in = possible? - 14/03/2006 04:27

Mark left out the http bit it seems which has confused the BBS software. Should be:
http://yro.slashdot.org/yro/06/03/13/0523242.shtml
Posted by: Wire

Re: Phone mute -> switch to line in = possible? - 19/03/2006 16:01

Hi,

I can't figure out what to put in config.ini.

[hijack]
extmute_on=SaveAux
extmute_off=RestoreSrc

Does nothing, but gives me an "hijack config error" when booting up.

Also, the mute from the player should be bypassed. Is that done like this:

[sense]
muteaction=-1
mute=0

I can't find any description of the sense context anywhere.

Thanks in advance.
Posted by: tfabris

Re: Phone mute -> switch to line in = possible? - 19/03/2006 17:05

Quote:
Does nothing, but gives me an "hijack config error" when booting up.

And... you've successfully installed the new hijack?

(the behavior you describe would be consistent with having accidentally skipped the part where you have to install the new hijack before the feature becomes available.)
Posted by: mlord

Re: Phone mute -> switch to line in = possible? - 19/03/2006 17:38

Quote:

[hijack]
extmute_on=SaveAux
extmute_off=RestoreSrc

Does nothing, but gives me an "hijack config error" when booting up.



MMmm.. I suppose for those two options specifically, it probably wants the numeric keycode instead of the labels. I've never used this feature myself. Maybe Matthew can help you figure out what it wants.

-ml
Posted by: matthew_k

Re: Phone mute -> switch to line in = possible? - 21/03/2006 18:46

I unfortunatly havn't had time to get this to work. Got the chance to go skiing this weekend, which took all my free time. I'm Playing With Empegs this evening to get one ready to trade for a central, so I'll certainly upgrade hijack and work this out.

Matthew
Posted by: mlord

Hijack v449 - 21/03/2006 21:51

Quote:
Quote:

[hijack]
extmute_on=SaveAux
extmute_off=RestoreSrc

Does nothing, but gives me an "hijack config error" when booting up.


MMmm.. I suppose for those two options specifically, it probably wants the numeric keycode instead of the labels.


Fixed in Hijack v449. the strings quoted above should now work.

Cheers
Posted by: matthew_k

Re: Hijack v449 - 22/03/2006 20:06

Hmmm, tried this out on the way to work and it didn't work. Seemed as if I had the entries reversed, which is possible. I'll check it out and try again on my way home.

Matthew
Posted by: matthew_k

Re: Hijack v449 - 23/03/2006 18:58

extmute_off=SaveAux
extmute_on=RestoreSrc

Seems to work when I tested it. Havn't lived with it for any period of time, but it seems good. Are the two key words reversed in hijack somewhere?

Matthew
Posted by: mlord

Re: Hijack v449 - 23/03/2006 19:30

Quote:
extmute_off=SaveAux
extmute_on=RestoreSrc

Seems to work when I tested it. Havn't lived with it for any period of time, but it seems good. Are the two key words reversed in hijack somewhere?


Nope. The meanings of "on" and "off" depend upon the device connected to the mute signals, and how that device defines "on" and "off". Hijack just uses the default empeg kernel's definition of "on" (serial DCD signal inactive) and "off" (serial DCD signal active).
Posted by: matthew_k

Re: Hijack v449 - 23/03/2006 19:58

Well that explains it. It worked very nicely on the drive into the office this afternoon.

Thanks!

Matthew
Posted by: jarob10

Re: Hijack v449 - 12/04/2006 07:15

Quote:
Quote:
extmute_off=SaveAux
extmute_on=RestoreSrc

Seems to work when I tested it. Havn't lived with it for any period of time, but it seems good. Are the two key words reversed in hijack somewhere?


Nope. The meanings of "on" and "off" depend upon the device connected to the mute signals, and how that device defines "on" and "off". Hijack just uses the default empeg kernel's definition of "on" (serial DCD signal inactive) and "off" (serial DCD signal active).


Does this mean that, if your car kit switches to 0V during a call, you require:

extmute_off=SaveAux
extmute_on=RestoreSrc

where as if your car kit switches to +12V during a call, you require:

extmute_on=SaveAux
extmute_off=RestoreSrc
Posted by: sein

Re: Hijack v449 - 12/04/2006 07:46

Quote:
Does this mean that, if your car kit switches to 0V during a call, you require:

extmute_off=SaveAux
extmute_on=RestoreSrc

Yes.

Quote:
where as if your car kit switches to +12V during a call, you require:

extmute_on=SaveAux
extmute_off=RestoreSrc

I expect so
Posted by: jarob10

Re: Hijack v449 - 12/04/2006 08:14

Quote:
Quote:
Does this mean that, if your car kit switches to 0V during a call, you require:

extmute_off=SaveAux
extmute_on=RestoreSrc

Yes.

Quote:
where as if your car kit switches to +12V during a call, you require:

extmute_on=SaveAux
extmute_off=RestoreSrc

I expect so


Sounds like a contender for a FAQ entry to me (unless hijack could make this transparent of course).
Posted by: wfaulk

Re: Hijack v449 - 12/04/2006 13:26

Maybe the terms should be "extmute_high" and "extmute_low". Then again, isn't there a switch to control that behavior in emplode somewhere? Does it swap the terms?