trouble with palantir/empire

Posted by: kswish0

trouble with palantir/empire - 28/04/2003 22:40

I borrowed a friends palm tonight to play around with palantir to see if I want to buy a cheap palm off ebay to use for this. I am having trouble getting it to work. I thought I followed the directions correctly but I must have done something wrong.

Here is the boot log I'm getting
hijack_exec("/bin/bash -c "/usr/local/bin/start_empire 10 &""), rc=0 (okay)
khttpd: listening on port 80
kftpd: listening on port 21
/bin/bash: /usr/local/bin/start_empire: Permission denied
player.cpp : 385:empeg-car 2.00 2003/04/01.
Prolux 4 empeg car - 2.1434 Mar 26 2003
Vcb: 0x4086d000
Here is my /usr/local/bin directory (Which I had to create. Was I supposed to have this already?)
empeg:/empeg/bin# cd /usr/local/bin
empeg:/usr/local/bin# ls -l
total 73
-rw------- 1 0 0 35375 Mar 4 01:24 empire
-rw------- 1 0 0 22883 Jan 6 2003 irattach
-rw------- 1 0 0 12196 Mar 9 08:49 sleep
-rw------- 1 0 0 182 Mar 9 10:58 start_empire
the /lib directory (the openobex parts of it anyways)
lrwxrwxrwx 1 0 0 24 Aug 5 23:27 libopenobex-1.0.so.0 ->
libopenobex-1.0.so.0.0.0
-rw------- 1 0 0 28796 Feb 7 06:01 libopenobex-1.0.so.0.0.0

-rw------- 1 0 0 40328 Feb 7 06:01 libopenobex.a
-rw------- 1 0 0 776 Feb 7 06:01 libopenobex.la
lrwxrwxrwx 1 0 0 24 Aug 5 23:26 libopenobex.so -> libope
nobex-1.0.so.0.0.0
and finally the config.ini
[output]
notify=1
[hijack]
;@EXEC_ONCE /drive0/var/stuff/emphatic
;@EXEC_ONCE /bin/bash -c "/usr/local/bin/start_empire 10 &"
I have the precompiled kernal (hijack 320) with irda support from cushman's site installed. When I try and beam a playlist to the empeg, The palm just eventually times out and says it couldn't find anything to connect to. Does anybody know why its not working for me?

Edit: After looking at this some more, I see that the property flags in my /lib directory do not mach up with the property flags in the /lib directory on cushmans site. And also, the property flags in my /usr/local/bin directory look a little fishy. But I have pretty much zero knowledge of linux (I dont even know what those property flags do) so I have no idea if that is what is causing my problems or not. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Posted by: tfabris

Re: trouble with palantir/empire - 28/04/2003 22:45

The problems are located here:

/bin/bash: /usr/local/bin/start_empire: Permission denied

-rw------- 1 0 0 182 Mar 9 10:58 start_empire

You need to tag your executable files with the executable permission (x), either with the CHMOD command at the shell prompt or through the graphical user interface of your FTP software. Examples here.

This always seems to be the one thing that people forget to give in their instructions, or if they're given, it's the thing that people always accidentally skip when reading instructions. What a pain.
Posted by: kswish0

Re: trouble with palantir/empire - 28/04/2003 22:54

Ok, so which of these do I have to do the chmod to? All of the lib files and all of the usr/local/bin files? Or just the start_empire file since thats the one in the error?
Posted by: tfabris

Re: trouble with palantir/empire - 28/04/2003 22:59

I've never used that software so I don't know. Perhaps you should ask the software's author to clarify his installation instructions.

(If it were me, I'd just tag them all. I don't think it will hurt anything.)
Posted by: tman

Re: trouble with palantir/empire - 28/04/2003 23:37

Do this:

cd /usr/local/bin
chmod 755 *

- Trevor
Posted by: kswish0

Re: trouble with palantir/empire - 28/04/2003 23:57

Before you read this, please realise that I have pretty much zero knowledge of linux, and no idea what I'm talking about. The only linux experience I've had is with the empeg and pretty much all I know about it is what I've learned from the faq. And on top of all that, it is almost 3am so I would appreciate it if the laughter at my expense was kept to a minimum. (in reality though, laugh all you want because I am laughing at my own ignorance as I type this)

Well, I did the chmod command to the 4 usr/local/bin files and none of the property flags changed (I used chmod 600 to do this. Is that the correct number for these 4 after looking at my directory in the first post of this thread?). So I gave up on those and moved on to the /lib directory but was even more unsuccessful there. 2 of the lib files have 10 letters in the property tags which makes absolutely no sense to me since the chmod lesson in the faq is based on only 9 characters. So I just skipped those and tried to go on to the other three with no avail. The first of those three that I tried is the one with the 1's and 0's on the end. Everytime I tried to chmod it, it would say "no such file or directory" which is a freakin lie because I see it right there. I even copied and pasted it so I know its not because I typed it wrong. At this point, I decided that it is way too late for me to be trying to figure this out anymore so I gave up before even trying the other 2 without the 1's and 0's, and am about to go to bed.

Would one of you computer "gods" [cough]geeks[/cough] (sorry, there must have been something in my throat) please help me out and just give me something that I can copy and paste to chmod these correctly or whatever it is I need to do? I've decided that I'm absolutely helpless at this point.
Posted by: tfabris

Re: trouble with palantir/empire - 29/04/2003 00:00

I used chmod 600 to do this. Is that the correct number for these 4 after looking at my directory in the first post of this thread?
chmod 600 is what they already were. You need to change them to 755.

If you were using a graphical FTP client, you could just click the check boxes next to R and X.
Posted by: tfabris

Re: trouble with palantir/empire - 29/04/2003 00:03

2 of the lib files have 10 letters in the property tags which makes absolutely no sense to me since the chmod lesson in the faq is based on only 9 characters
The first letter indicates whether or not it's a directory. If you look at that FAQ entry it says something like "look at the last 9 characters"...

Again, much easier if you've got a graphical FTP client which shows folders as a different icon.
Posted by: kswish0

Re: trouble with palantir/empire - 29/04/2003 00:09

Do this:

cd /usr/local/bin
chmod 755 *
[head banging against wall] If only I saw this before my big long winded post. I knew it had to be something that simple [/head banging against wall]

Quick question though, why is it 755? Using the logic in the faq
-rw------- is going to be 4+2+0, 0+0+0, 0+0+0 which would mean it would be chmod 600 right? Just tryin to get edumacated here.
Posted by: kswish0

Re: trouble with palantir/empire - 29/04/2003 00:14

I'm running a little slow tonight. You people keep answering my questions before I even ask them.
If you look at that FAQ entry it says something like "look at the last 9 characters
More along the lines of
Ignore the first hyphen for now
but there was no hyphen to ignore so I didn't know what to do.
Posted by: tfabris

Re: trouble with palantir/empire - 29/04/2003 00:14

The FAQ was showing a specific example of replacing an existing file that was already there, looking at its properties before you deleted it, then deleting it, then resetting the properties after you put the new copy into place.

In your case, you are putting brand new files onto the player from scratch, so looking at what you'd already put in place (with the wrong file permissions) isn't going to help.

You needed to set the X permission, which is executable. Hence the 755.

My big beef here is that people who write and distribute software for the car player need to support their own distributions by supplying scripts or at least proper detailed instructions so that Linux newbies can install the thing. Leaving out important information like "chmod 755 the following files..." causes problems like the one above.
Posted by: kswish0

Re: trouble with palantir/empire - 29/04/2003 00:17

Well, thanks for helping me through this ordeal. Once again, the empeg bbs proves itself to be one of the best out there.

And on that note...I'm going to bed.
Posted by: ricin

Re: trouble with palantir/empire - 29/04/2003 00:21

For those of you who just wish to read up on *nix permissions, O'Reilly has a pretty good explanation here. Doing a Google search for "unix permissions" turns up quite a bit of info on them as well (including the tutorial mentioned).
Posted by: simspos

Re: trouble with palantir/empire - 29/04/2003 05:45

Hi, as a fellow Linux virgin I went through a very similar experience with setting up Panantir. As Tony has said using a graphical FTP client (I use SmartFTP cos it's free) makes life sooooooo much easier with regard to changing properties (just check or uncheck a tickbox till the properites strings match)

In the end I changed ALL the files in /usr/local/bin so they were executable and writeable, probably dumb but hey I didn't really know what I was doing

As for the openobex files, I matched the properties to those given on Cushmans page.

Final result although spasmodic on connection (probably my bad???) is AWESOME. Persevere, it's well worth it.

Cheers, Sim
Posted by: wfaulk

Re: trouble with palantir/empire - 29/04/2003 08:24

Quick question though, why is it 755? Using the logic in the faq

-rw------- is going to be 4+2+0, 0+0+0, 0+0+0 which would mean it would be chmod 600 right? Just tryin to get edumacated here.
True, but that's what it is. You want to be changing it so that it looks like -rwxr-xr-x.
Posted by: cushman

Re: trouble with palantir/empire - 29/04/2003 08:37

My big beef here is that people who write and distribute software for the car player need to support their own distributions by supplying scripts or at least proper detailed instructions so that Linux newbies can install the thing. Leaving out important information like "chmod 755 the following files..." causes problems like the one above.


My website has been updated with instructions on how to change the permissions for the files uploaded to the Empeg. Said website has always stated that the software is in beta, and since this is the first time this problem with the instructions has been brought to my attention, it wasn't fixed until I saw this thread (then I fixed it, problem solved). This is not a commercial piece of software.

I agree we need a universal platform-independant installer, though. Whatever happened to that project?
Posted by: tfabris

Re: trouble with palantir/empire - 29/04/2003 10:03

For those of you who just wish to read up on *nix permissions, O'Reilly has a pretty good explanation here.
Thanks! I've now linked that from the FAQ entry and updated the FAQ's text a bit.
Posted by: kswish0

Re: trouble with palantir/empire - 29/04/2003 10:19

O'Reilly has a pretty good explanation here
Looks like I've got some reading to do