JEmplode Clone Support

Posted by: mschrag

JEmplode Clone Support - 02/01/2002 18:05

OK ... the very alpha version of JEmplode's cloning support is done -- grab it at http://www.batmanthehorse.com/jemplode/jemplode20.jar. You can replace the jar in your JEmplode dir with this (or actually just run it java -jar jemplode20.jar).

To clone playlists / files, select an Empeg from the connection dialog. After it loads, select "Open Clone..." from the File menu. A second Emplode window will open (currently directly on top of the previous window -- hiding the first). Select the second Empeg in the new connection dialog. These two Emplode windows (perhaps these should be MDI interface?) share a common clipboard, so you can Ctrl-C from one Empeg and Ctrl-V to the other. An additional tag is added to all tunes / playlists that come across this way that is a global FID that is used to do reference counting across cloned Empegs. This allows you to copy a playlist from another Empeg that references tunes that you had previously copied (so it will incrememnt refcount properly across clone sessions).

Keep in mind that this is hot-of-the-presses, so there are no guarantees. But it seems to work for me on my new Empeg.

Incidentally, if you get a new Empeg, you won't be able to use JEmplode's Upgrade tool on it right out of the box -- Serial discovery isn't working on Empeg v1.0's with JEmplode2... I'm looking into this (probably will implement something along the lines of the "real" upgrade tool that has makes you select the serial port rather than do discovery).

Good luck and godspeed.

Mike
Posted by: JoMo25

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 23/01/2002 21:41

THANK YOU! This appears to be working great for cloning. And it is quite quick! I'm trying to play it safe and am only copying top level play lists but it's cloning!

I'm using Ethernet connections for both players and it's taking about 30 seconds per 5Mb file! It's been running for about 20 minutes so far without any issues (knocks on desk)...

I can't say it enough - THANK YOU for an AWESOME new feature!

Reverse serial numbers be DAMNED!!!
Posted by: mschrag

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 24/01/2002 07:08

Thanks I'm actually going to be working on performance -- I think I can probably double the speed by interleaving reading from one Empeg and writing to the other (rather than reading the entire MP3 from one, then blasting it back out at the end to the other).

Glad it works for you!

Mike
Posted by: mlord

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 24/01/2002 07:30

Even without that (but do it anyway), things ought to be much faster.. straight FTP cloning via kftpd can transfer close to 4mb/sec, or around 10 seconds (each way) per 5MB file -- 30% faster than JEmplode at present. But that part may be beyond your control, buried inside the Emplode protocol implementation on the player.

Cheers
Posted by: f_devocht

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 27/01/2002 11:49

Uhm, at the risk of posing a very stupid question ... what exactly *IS* JEmplode?
Is this a cloning tool for emplode 2.0-b7 or something? But doesn't 2.0-b7 come with it's own cloning tool?
I looked through the archives (and RioCar.Org and empeg.com) but didn't find any info.

Thanks,
Frank

While I'm asking stupid questions, will emplode allow me to download mp3's back to my PC?
Posted by: tfabris

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 27/01/2002 12:05

what exactly *IS* JEmplode? (...) I looked through the archives (and RioCar.Org and empeg.com) but didn't find any info.

A search of the FAQ worked for me.
Posted by: mschrag

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 27/01/2002 15:59

JEmplode is a pure Java port of the Empeg libraries as well as a pure Java implementation of Emplode, (parts of) LogoEdit, and the Clone tool. If you're running Windows, there's not a whole lot of reason to care about it, but if you run any other OS (Linux, BSD, Mac OS, etc.) you don't have too many choices for a graphical interface for the Empeg other than JEmplode....

JEmplode allows you to copy MP3's back to your PC -- I believe the new Emplode does as well now too.

Mike
Posted by: jbauer

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 29/01/2002 02:27

Hm. I installed Jemplode on my Win2K box, and want to try the Alpha because I have quite a bit of cloning to do. Problem is that I download the .jar that is mentioned in the message that started this thread and it doesn't contain a .jar file to replace my beta version of Jemplode. It has some directories with lots of .class files...

How do I get the alpha version to get installed?

I know it's a newbie question, but please bear with me, I'm not a Java programmer...

- Thanx
- Jon
Posted by: mschrag

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 29/01/2002 06:37

You can do one of two things:

1) Go to http://www.jempeg.org/installers-20b1/ and download the original installer for Windows, then download the jar file from the link at the top of this thread and replace the jar file in the install directory (don't unjar it, just replace the .jar file)
2) If you already have java installed somewhere else, you should be able to double click on the jar file, or run "java -jar jemplode20.jar". If you don't have java installed, then follow the instructions in #1 to download an installer that comes with Java.

Mike
Posted by: peter

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 29/01/2002 08:00

Problem is that I download the .jar that is mentioned in the message that started this thread and it doesn't contain a .jar file to replace my beta version of Jemplode.

For some reason MSIE wants to download that link to a file called "jemplode20.jar.zip". Just rename it to remove the .zip extension; the file you have is the jar that you need.

Peter
Posted by: jbauer

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 03/02/2002 12:00

I've been trying to clone my 40 to my 60 all weekend. I've gone from trying to clone an entire genre to now only trying to do a single artist, and sometimes just a single album. Almost every time I try to get a large chunk done, it bombs out and doesn't complete. I then have files on my 60 that are in the unattached items folder and have to try again. Sometimes, Emplode and Jemplode reports problems with files that I cannot find on the empeg. A sync clears that up...

Both units are running 2.0b7 (they have to in order to run Jemplode, right?)

For some reason, the clone process seems to time out on a given file transfer, and then the whole session dies. I have to re-start Jemplode to get back to a normal state.

At this rate, it's going to take me weeks to get this cloning done. I need something more dependable.

Any help?

- Jon
Posted by: mlord

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 03/02/2002 12:29

Install Hijack kernels on both Empegs, and then just ftp files from one to the other using "mirrordir" on a Linux PC. Piece-O-Cake.

What, no Linux PC? Too Bad.

-ml
Posted by: tanstaafl.

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 03/02/2002 21:04

I then have files on my 60 that are in the unattached items folder and have to try again.

Ummm... are you sure you have 2.0b7 on both machines?

I may be mistaken, but I think the 1.03 was the last release to use the "Unattached" folder.

tanstaafl.
Posted by: jbauer

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 03/02/2002 21:13

Yes, I do. Jemplode still uses an "Unattached Item" folder for some reason...

I'm still working on just getting one genre transferred. This is after spending all weekend babysitting it. Has anyone else tried to do this with Jemplode? It takes about 20-30 seconds BETWEEN songs to begin the transfer. Painful.

- Jon
Posted by: bonzi

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 04/02/2002 04:24

If you have difficulties cloning with Jemplode, take a look at Roger's method (see here).
Posted by: jbauer

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 04/02/2002 10:12

Ok, so I want to try the FTP process. This is taking way too long to do via Jemplode.

I don't have easy access to another Linux PC. Can I just use the ftp stuff that comes with Hijack? Is there a documented process anywhere for using Hijack?

- Jon
Posted by: bonzi

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 04/02/2002 14:23

Hijack comes with fully functional ftp server (it even recognises SITE RW and SITE RO commands for (re)mounting partitions r/w and r/o, respectively - among other nice features). More on it on Mark's site linked above.

To use ftp you will either have to have enough space on your PC for all tunes, or do transfer piecemeal. It's relatively easy to cobble together a script or small program to do that, because even default MS ftp client accepts commands from a file.

However, Roger's method will be much faster (and he has put relevant binaries on his server in the meantime).
Posted by: jbauer

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 04/02/2002 14:32

I am in the process of doing the transfer of drive0 using the methods described in Roger's method. So far, it's looking like the transfer is going like a charm.

Prolly gonna take a while as I've got almost 20 gigs full on each drive...

- Jon
Posted by: jbauer

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 05/02/2002 14:57

I just spent two days doing this for drive0 and now it's finally done, but I don't see all the fids in the drive0/fids subdirectory! Argh! Did it not work? It looked like it was working!

empeg:/empeg/bin# cd
empeg:/# cd drive0
empeg:/drive0# ls
fids lost+found var
empeg:/drive0# cd fids
empeg:/drive0/fids# ls
100 101 110 111
empeg:/drive0/fids#

Help!

Can someone that knows what's going on please send me their number so that I can try and get this resolved?

- Thanx
- Jon
Posted by: Terminator

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 05/02/2002 15:05

What happens when you run emplode? Try loading up emplode and see if it finds your music.
Posted by: jbauer

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 05/02/2002 15:30

No. Emplode does not see any files at all. Empty playlist!

- Jon
Posted by: jbauer

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 05/02/2002 15:51

No help? Where did the files go???

- Jon
Posted by: mlord

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 05/02/2002 16:03

ls -lR /
Posted by: jbauer

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 05/02/2002 16:06

Don't see them! I am going to cry. Please see attached.

- Jon
Posted by: mlord

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 05/02/2002 16:08

If the target/destination is a two drive machine, then "cat /proc/mounts" and make sure you see /drive1 listed in there.
Posted by: jbauer

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 05/02/2002 16:09

Looks ok.

empeg:/# cat /proc/mounts
/dev/root / ext2 ro 0 0
none /proc proc rw 0 0
/dev/hda4 /drive0 ext2 ro 0 0
/dev/hdc4 /drive1 ext2 ro 0 0
empeg:/#

Is it possible to call you Mark?

- Jon
Posted by: jbauer

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 05/02/2002 16:18

I thought I had finished transferring all of drive0 and was getting ready to do drive1. Just to make sure, I checked the drive0 destination drive and was surprised to see not much in there... The process definitely seemed to be working. My hub was at 20% for 2 solid days. Something seemed to be transferring!

Where could the files have gone? This is not fun. ;-)

- Jon
Posted by: tfabris

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 05/02/2002 16:22

Is it possible you rebooted the player without setting the drive back to read-only mode? Wouldn't that make the data go bye-bye?
Posted by: jbauer

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 05/02/2002 16:31

Would it? I think I DID do that.

Really? The data would just disappear?

- Jon
Posted by: tfabris

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 05/02/2002 16:40

Not sure. Possibly.

That would be a pretty major "oops" if it were true. Sorry
Posted by: jbauer

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 05/02/2002 16:56

I can't imagine why the data would be lost. 20 gigs of data just lost? It would have had to be stored somewhere on the drive, no?

- Jon
Posted by: jbauer

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 05/02/2002 17:43

Ok, I started this again, but this time, I eliminated the z option. It's going WAY faster. Hope it works this time. I followed the directions on the Lazy Bastard's Guide to the letter!

- Jon
Posted by: mlord

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 05/02/2002 19:30

Naw, there'd still be evidence somewhere, even if a couple of files were lost (Linux is extremely good about not losing much data, even when one royally screws up.

Oh well.. the bit gods have now be pacified.

-ml
Posted by: jbauer

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 06/02/2002 10:02

Yay! The drive 0 transfer worked. Now working on the drive1 transfer!

Thank the freakin lord.

- Jon
Posted by: bonzi

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 06/02/2002 15:01

Were you monitoring both ends on serial? You wouldn't get much if you, for example, used z option only on one end...
Posted by: jbauer

Re: JEmplode Clone Support - 06/02/2002 15:06

I was monitoring on the sending side. I did use the z option on both sides. No matter now, drive0 has been copied, and drive1 is copying now. I must have done something wrong the first time...

- Jon