Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#145535 - 24/02/2003 18:29 listening to rio over a LAN?
olfajarley
stranger

Registered: 20/02/2002
Posts: 32
Loc: Silverdale WA USA
Ok i read the FAQ's as usual i understood about half of it in the area, what im trying to do is have my player on my router and be able to listen to it though the computer instead of the RCA jacks........im running 2.13 of emplode 45 jemplode and hijack 320(thanks Tony) and my car player name comes up as "my stereo" in jemplode and emplode and i know the IP address...... i went to explorer and typed in the HTTP address directed by the FAQ's but it didn't work......Im not to sure the difference between FTP and HTTP and as usual this is probably operater error. Is this even possable or did i just miss understand the FAQ

Can I connect to the player via FTP or HTTP?


thanks
Shawn

(Admin's note: edited the URL link so that it didn't make the window too wide for my screen. )


Edited by tfabris (24/02/2003 18:56)
_________________________
RIO CAR 60GIG (blue)

Top
#145536 - 25/02/2003 09:23 Re: listening to rio over a LAN? [Re: olfajarley]
suomi35
enthusiast

Registered: 16/02/2002
Posts: 277
Loc: Denver, CO
What is your computer's IP address?
What is your player's IP address?
Are they on the same subnet?
_________________________
-Jason

Top
#145537 - 26/02/2003 13:34 Re: listening to rio over a LAN? [Re: suomi35]
olfajarley
stranger

Registered: 20/02/2002
Posts: 32
Loc: Silverdale WA USA
Well i'm not about to post my IP address .......i just want to know if i understood the FAQ subject. My goal is to listen to the Rio over a LAN / home network.......is it possable with my players current software?
_________________________
RIO CAR 60GIG (blue)

Top
#145538 - 26/02/2003 13:47 Re: listening to rio over a LAN? [Re: olfajarley]
matthew_k
pooh-bah

Registered: 12/02/2002
Posts: 2298
Loc: Berkeley, California
Short: No

Long: Yes. You can stream the contents of your empeg to your computer over ethernet just fine, but you can't use the empeg software to controll it. Invesitgate charcoalgray's web interface. There is no way to capture and reencode the output from the player app and stream that. (at least at the moment)

Now, the other way around is what I want. I want a windows sound card connected by ethernet.

Matthew

Top
#145539 - 26/02/2003 13:47 Re: listening to rio over a LAN? [Re: olfajarley]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31267
Loc: Seattle, WA
My goal is to listen to the Rio over a LAN / home network.......is it possable with my players current software?
Yes. If you player's current software is 2.0 Beta 13 with the custom Hijack kernel installed, yes you can, provided that your network is set up correctly.

It sounds like you're trying to do something but it's not working. We're asking for details to help you solve your problem. Can you describe in detail exactly how it's set up, and what you're attempting, including the exact text of any error messages you're getting as you attempt it?

Make sure the player is working properly on the network, first. For tips on troubleshooting your network connection, start here.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#145540 - 26/02/2003 15:35 Re: listening to rio over a LAN? [Re: olfajarley]
suomi35
enthusiast

Registered: 16/02/2002
Posts: 277
Loc: Denver, CO
If you are running a home network your IP addresses would be meaningless to anyone reading this thread.

The addresses would help us identify your problem, however.
_________________________
-Jason

Top
#145541 - 26/02/2003 17:49 Re: listening to rio over a LAN? [Re: suomi35]
tman
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/12/2001
Posts: 5528
Not necessarily true. I've got routable IP addresses on my home LAN for all of my machines. I've got a 192.168.x.x subnet running over the same network as well though for the empeg and other things which I don't need access over the internet for.

- Trevor

Top
#145542 - 26/02/2003 18:43 Re: listening to rio over a LAN? [Re: tman]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Yes, but he stated that he doesn't know the difference between FTP and HTTP, so it's probably unlikely that he's got any sort of advanced networking going on.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#145543 - 26/02/2003 19:04 Re: listening to rio over a LAN? [Re: wfaulk]
tman
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/12/2001
Posts: 5528
True. That's a good point.
I guess he could have a proxy set in his browser which isn't allowing local net requests?

- Trevor

Top
#145544 - 26/02/2003 21:07 Re: listening to rio over a LAN? [Re: tman]
suomi35
enthusiast

Registered: 16/02/2002
Posts: 277
Loc: Denver, CO
Or he could be trying to access the player on a different subnet.

I also made the assumption, that the original poster would not have a complex LAN with routed addys or forwarded ports.
_________________________
-Jason

Top
#145545 - 26/02/2003 21:40 Re: listening to rio over a LAN? [Re: suomi35]
olfajarley
stranger

Registered: 20/02/2002
Posts: 32
Loc: Silverdale WA USA
Well in short all i wanted to do is "stream" music from my player........I am perfectly content with updating it through emplode/jemplode..........as for my Home/Lan.....it is not complex by any means what so ever........i appreciate the help......and i was a little leary of leaving my IP address because i don't know all the possabilities or repercusions of doing that.......i wasn't trying to be an A$$......lol.......anyway thank you and i won't need to hook up to my network

thanks
shawn
_________________________
RIO CAR 60GIG (blue)

Top
#145546 - 27/02/2003 02:31 Re: listening to rio over a LAN? [Re: tfabris]
maurij
member

Registered: 04/04/2002
Posts: 101
Before charcoalgray's web interface was there another program for stream from an empeg? or am i just dreaming this up?
_________________________
Jason

Top
#145547 - 27/02/2003 08:08 Re: listening to rio over a LAN? [Re: maurij]
suomi35
enthusiast

Registered: 16/02/2002
Posts: 277
Loc: Denver, CO
Hijack had an http server running on the empeg quite some time before charcoalgray's xml interface.
_________________________
-Jason

Top
#145548 - 27/02/2003 08:55 Re: listening to rio over a LAN? [Re: maurij]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Displayserver did this, but, IIRC, it never worked with 2.x software.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#145549 - 27/02/2003 12:25 Re: listening to rio over a LAN? [Re: wfaulk]
maurij
member

Registered: 04/04/2002
Posts: 101
I was thinking of a virtual empeg display on the pc. i cannot find who wrote the code for that but i thought was cool. or was that just for remote control of the actual player?
_________________________
Jason

Top
#145550 - 27/02/2003 12:31 Re: listening to rio over a LAN? [Re: maurij]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Displayserver also did that. empegVNC, which I wrote, does it, too.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#145551 - 27/02/2003 12:39 Re: listening to rio over a LAN? [Re: maurij]
JBjorgen
carpal tunnel

Registered: 19/01/2002
Posts: 3520
Loc: Columbus, OH
I was thinking of a virtual empeg display on the pc. i cannot find who wrote the code for that but i thought was cool. or was that just for remote control of the actual player?

I believe you're referring to Lojack
_________________________
~ John

Top
#145552 - 27/02/2003 14:43 Re: listening to rio over a LAN? [Re: wfaulk]
suomi35
enthusiast

Registered: 16/02/2002
Posts: 277
Loc: Denver, CO
I must give mad kudos to that VNCserver app.
_________________________
-Jason

Top
#145553 - 27/02/2003 14:58 Re: listening to rio over a LAN? [Re: suomi35]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Thank you, and you're welcome.

BTW, anyone who wants to pick up some development on it, let me know.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#145554 - 27/02/2003 17:17 Re: listening to rio over a LAN? [Re: wfaulk]
fvgestel
old hand

Registered: 12/08/2000
Posts: 702
Loc: Netherlands
I've did some hacking on Mark Lords kernel patches to allow good-old displayserver to work using the original java applet. I have it running on a rio receiver. Patch for receiver is here
If anyone is interested, I could apply the changes in the current empeg hijack code.
_________________________
Frank van Gestel

Top
#145555 - 28/02/2003 02:06 Re: listening to rio over a LAN? [Re: JBjorgen]
maurij
member

Registered: 04/04/2002
Posts: 101
Bingo, that's exactly it. you have no idea how long i was searching for that and it was right under my nose. many thanks.
_________________________
Jason

Top