Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#173249 - 01/08/2003 11:07 Re: Rio Karma Forums? [Re: mcomb]
andym
carpal tunnel

Loc: Manchester UK
I was a penniless university student before the fire sale. I could just about afford the groceries back then, no way could I afford an empeg. I don't wish to offend but I get the definate feeling that some people on this board regard us firesale buyers as something they scraped off their shoe, not fit (or affluent more accurately) to have owned an empeg at its full retail value.

Andy M

#173250 - 01/08/2003 11:12 Re: Rio Karma Forums? [Re: andym]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Loc: Raleigh, NC US
No, but that's what some of us expected, and, for a while, we were proven right. But as Tony points out, the cream rose to the top, and many of you are our best posters. We had much the same discussion before you guys showed up.

The one big difference between that situation and this is that you still had to go out of your way to buy or even know about an empeg. The Karma will be available at BestBuy.

#173251 - 01/08/2003 11:14 Re: Rio Karma Forums? [Re: andym]
pgrzelak
carpal tunnel

Loc: New Jersey, USA
I don't think any offense is intented. It is just that the player (in the MarkI, MarkII and MarkIIa form) had been around for years before the firesale. The community was still around. Much smaller, certainly. It is not a matter of affluence or anything, just that there had been a core group of users back then and then there was a sudden, huge influx of new people, nearly tripling (I would be curious about the numbers some day) the users on the board overnight.

Disclaimer: I am a mid-comer. I was not involved in the MarkI, but I did get a MarkII.

#173252 - 01/08/2003 11:15 Re: Rio Karma Forums? [Re: andym]
tonyc
carpal tunnel

Loc: Pittsburgh, PA