Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#249778 - 17/02/2005 13:03 Geek 1 Burglar 0
andym
carpal tunnel

Registered: 17/01/2002
Posts: 3978
Loc: Manchester UK
_________________________
Cheers,

Andy M

Top
#249779 - 17/02/2005 13:14 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: andym]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
It looks like he needs a better motion detection algorithm. Those highlight boxes are consistently in stupid areas.

I particularly like this one:


Oh my god! A DOOR! Never mind the burglar! It's a DOOR!

Still, it got the job done.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#249780 - 17/02/2005 13:23 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: wfaulk]
andym
carpal tunnel

Registered: 17/01/2002
Posts: 3978
Loc: Manchester UK
Yeah I'd be interested to see what we did. The article hints at him only writing part of the software and rest could've been open source stuff. I wonder if he used existing motion detection software and wrote the email wrapper himself.
_________________________
Cheers,

Andy M

Top
#249781 - 17/02/2005 13:35 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: andym]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
It kinda reminds me of Motion. But it's not.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#249782 - 17/02/2005 13:45 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: wfaulk]
andym
carpal tunnel

Registered: 17/01/2002
Posts: 3978
Loc: Manchester UK
Ooh, thanks for the link. Think I might have a go at this myself.
_________________________
Cheers,

Andy M

Top
#249783 - 17/02/2005 14:23 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: andym]
Cris
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/02/2002
Posts: 1896
Loc: Leeds, UK
I can see an extension to my CCTV system happening very soon

I wonder if there is a way to link to my alarm and only turn the web cams on when the alarm is also turned on ??? Through some sort of serial link.

This also makes me think I would have been better installing the CCTV server in the loft so it can't get stolen. I think I need a solution for that too!!! Can you do remote raid type functions over networks ???

Cheers

Cris.

Top
#249784 - 17/02/2005 14:32 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: Cris]
andym
carpal tunnel

Registered: 17/01/2002
Posts: 3978
Loc: Manchester UK
Sounds to me like simply FTP'ing your data elsewhere might be the answer. Some alarm systems have a closing contact when they're armed or you could stick an opto-isolator across the alarmed led on your control panel. I doubt a regular home alarm system would have a serial port on it.

Sticking the server in the loft will probably just result in regularly clogged fan filters and unreliable running in summer. As you can see the bloke actually stole the machine taking the pictures but because it emailed the data off site they still got their evidence.

That said, when I got done over, the first thing they did before entering the house was to cut the power.
_________________________
Cheers,

Andy M

Top
#249785 - 17/02/2005 15:54 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: andym]
boxer
pooh-bah

Registered: 16/04/2002
Posts: 2011
Loc: Yorkshire UK
Quote:
Think I might have a go at this myself

1) Let me have the program when you've done it
2) Maybe it can be my new marketing career to occupy my retirement! - I can make your fortune and only take 15%!
The answer to them cutting your power of, is surely to have a heavyweight UPS
_________________________
Politics and Ideology: Not my bag

Top
#249786 - 17/02/2005 16:03 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: Cris]
boxer
pooh-bah

Registered: 16/04/2002
Posts: 2011
Loc: Yorkshire UK
Quote:
I wonder if there is a way to link to my alarm and only turn the web cams on when the alarm is also turned on ???

Unless I've misunderstood you, you want your alarm sensors to start the webcam, but you don't want the alarm itself to go off and disturb the tealeaves.
I wonder whether he's the same guy who nicked our studio Mac's. Still the replacements are the dog's b******s (The censor's had a go at my flowing prose once today, I'm not risking it again) it's just that the insurance premium went through the sky.
_________________________
Politics and Ideology: Not my bag

Top
#249787 - 17/02/2005 16:28 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: boxer]
andym
carpal tunnel

Registered: 17/01/2002
Posts: 3978
Loc: Manchester UK
Okay then you've got a deal! I'll build it, you sell it.

I've got an old APC UPS knocking around but it needs new cells.

I'm dreading my home insurance renewal, a 2.5k payout will no doubt result in a nasty premium.
_________________________
Cheers,

Andy M

Top
#249788 - 17/02/2005 19:03 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: andym]
Cris
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/02/2002
Posts: 1896
Loc: Leeds, UK
Quote:
the first thing they did before entering the house was to cut the power.


Good point !!! Add a UPS to my christmas list for next year

I have a BT Home Monitor, it does have a serial port on the back. I have a spare main unit if you fancy helping me hack it, you are welcome to it when we are done. I have no idea what it outputs, it may even be disabled. Basically it is a cut down Visonic unit, it will control X10 but this feature is disabled on the BT unit.

I knew running a CAT5 to my alarm panel was good idea

Cheers

Cris.

Top
#249789 - 17/02/2005 19:15 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: Cris]
andym
carpal tunnel

Registered: 17/01/2002
Posts: 3978
Loc: Manchester UK
Quote:
Good point !!! Add a UPS to my christmas list for next year


Yes, and make sure you connect your ADSL modem to it too! No point having your CCTV server frantically trying to offload data to your secure backup site if the modem is off!

Quote:
I have a BT Home Monitor, it does have a serial port on the back. I have a spare main unit if you fancy helping me hack it, you are welcome to it when we are done.


I'll take you up on that. Should be able to stick the port analyser at work on it.
_________________________
Cheers,

Andy M

Top
#249790 - 17/02/2005 20:20 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: Cris]
boxer
pooh-bah

Registered: 16/04/2002
Posts: 2011
Loc: Yorkshire UK
I may not have a network working, but I'm falling over in UPS's, I've got enough Peroni , Pinot Grigio and battery power to survive a holocaust (Oh, yes and a packet of pork scratchings).
_________________________
Politics and Ideology: Not my bag

Top
#249791 - 17/02/2005 20:25 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: boxer]
andym
carpal tunnel

Registered: 17/01/2002
Posts: 3978
Loc: Manchester UK
Quote:
(Oh, yes and a packet of pork scratchings).


Mmm, hog lumps.....
_________________________
Cheers,

Andy M

Top
#249792 - 17/02/2005 20:40 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: Cris]
Dignan
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/03/2000
Posts: 12043
Loc: Sterling, VA
Quote:
Good point !!! Add a UPS to my christmas list for next year

Why wait? Of course, if you're not in the US, that doesn't really help.
_________________________
Matt

Top
#249793 - 17/02/2005 20:52 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: Dignan]
andym
carpal tunnel

Registered: 17/01/2002
Posts: 3978
Loc: Manchester UK
That's pretty good, assuming you don't have any problems with the rebate. If it wasn't so heavy I'd consider asking a kind US-based BBS member to get me one and ship it over.
_________________________
Cheers,

Andy M

Top
#249794 - 17/02/2005 21:03 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: andym]
Daria
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/01/2002
Posts: 3927
Loc: Somerville, MA
Quote:
Quote:
Good point !!! Add a UPS to my christmas list for next year


Yes, and make sure you connect your ADSL modem to it too! No point having your CCTV server frantically trying to offload data to your secure backup site if the modem is off!


If they cut the power they can cut the network. Use a cellphone for uplink. A pay as you go phone which does data is all you need, since it will only need to call out when there is activity while the network uplink is off.

Top
#249795 - 17/02/2005 21:06 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: Daria]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31166
Loc: Seattle, WA
"They cut the power!"

"How can they cut the power?! They're animals!"
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#249796 - 17/02/2005 22:25 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: tfabris]
pca
old hand

Registered: 20/07/1999
Posts: 1091
Loc: UK
In that case you'd better send someone out to reboot everything.

pca
_________________________
Experience is what you get just after it would have helped...

Top
#249797 - 18/02/2005 01:19 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: tfabris]
webroach
old hand

Registered: 23/07/2003
Posts: 869
Loc: Colorado
"Are you sure you're reading that thing right?"
_________________________
Dave

Top
#249798 - 23/02/2005 18:59 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: webroach]
andym
carpal tunnel

Registered: 17/01/2002
Posts: 3978
Loc: Manchester UK
Well I've installed Motion on one of my spare linux boxes and I'm seriously impressed, I setup a camera and an old video sender in the kitchen and caught the cat mid-scavenge.




It also captured an mpeg4 of the furry toublemaker in action

Looking at my files and the ones that guy had I think he might've used motion too. I'm now writing a swish web frontend to control multiple cameras around the house.


Attachments
249652-02-20050223205332-11.jpg (65 downloads)

_________________________
Cheers,

Andy M

Top
#249799 - 23/02/2005 19:03 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: andym]
Cris
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/02/2002
Posts: 1896
Loc: Leeds, UK
Let me know when you get that working

Cheers

Cris.

Top
#249800 - 24/02/2005 08:14 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: Cris]
julf
veteran

Registered: 01/10/2001
Posts: 1295
Loc: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Quote:
Let me know when you get that working

AOL!

Top
#249801 - 24/02/2005 09:21 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: julf]
Cris
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/02/2002
Posts: 1896
Loc: Leeds, UK
Quote:
AOL!


I have been looking around on the net for a while now, what does AOL! mean ??? Sorry for being a bit thick

Cheers

Cris.

Top
#249802 - 24/02/2005 09:28 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: Cris]
frog51
pooh-bah

Registered: 09/08/2000
Posts: 2089
Loc: Edinburgh, Scotland
From the way many AOL users respod with me too:-)

LIL^H^HOL
_________________________
Rory
MkIIa, blue lit buttons, memory upgrade, 1Tb in Subaru Forester STi
MkII, 240Gb in Mark Lord dock
MkII, 80Gb SSD in dock

Top
#249803 - 24/02/2005 15:40 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: frog51]
Cris
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/02/2002
Posts: 1896
Loc: Leeds, UK
Sorry

Top
#249804 - 12/03/2005 18:51 ...and so it begins [Re: Cris]
andym
carpal tunnel

Registered: 17/01/2002
Posts: 3978
Loc: Manchester UK
Quote:
I wonder if there is a way to link to my alarm and only turn the web cams on when the alarm is also turned on ??? Through some sort of serial link.


I've managed to construct a rf data link to interface my burglar alarm to my cctv machine. I should then be able to remotely monitor the state of my alarm system. I can also add more transmitters and monitor extra stuff like windows and doors.

Tx on the left, Rx on the right.



Attachments
251110-IMG_0261.jpg (130 downloads)

_________________________
Cheers,

Andy M

Top
#249805 - 12/03/2005 18:52 Re: ...and so it begins [Re: andym]
andym
carpal tunnel

Registered: 17/01/2002
Posts: 3978
Loc: Manchester UK
another shot.....



Attachments
251111-IMG_0262.jpg (116 downloads)

_________________________
Cheers,

Andy M

Top
#249806 - 12/03/2005 21:42 Re: ...and so it begins [Re: andym]
Cris
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/02/2002
Posts: 1896
Loc: Leeds, UK
How did you interface it with your alarm ???

Cheers

Cris.

Top
#249807 - 12/03/2005 22:47 Re: Geek 1 Burglar 0 [Re: wfaulk]
jaharkes
enthusiast

Registered: 20/08/2002
Posts: 340
Loc: Pittsburgh, PA
Not sure why you don't think it is motion. I've got motion running at home and it has the same stupid locate frames that always seem to be where the movement used to be ("locate on" configuration option) and the default configuration places the identical timestamp in the lower right corner.

Sending the images off-site is probably done by the 'onsave' external program hook, which is passed the image filename as an argument. So that script could be as simple as
Code:

#!/bin/sh
mpack -s"motion" $1 my-email(at)offsite.address

_________________________
40GB - serial #40104051 gpsapp

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >