Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#286891 - 19/09/2006 16:04 Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display
jag
new poster

Registered: 14/02/2002
Posts: 21
Hello all,

I have recently started working on software to display the data from my innovate motorsports LC-1 wideband Oxygen sensor. The software is to the point where it displays the Lambda and AFR values and will draw a moving graph of the data. It also displays the error codes and status messages from the wideband. The code isn't quite to the point where I would want to post it anywhere but if anyone is interested feel free to contact me.
It currently only supports the LC-1 but it wouldn't take me long to add support for other innovate widebands. I might also add support for the diywb though that will take a little longer.

-Jeremy

Top
#286892 - 19/09/2006 16:48 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: jag]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31563
Loc: Seattle, WA
You mean it displays the data on the Empeg screen? Very cool. Did you have to do any custom hardware work to get the two devices talking, or did it just plug straight into the serial port with no modification?
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#286893 - 19/09/2006 18:14 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: tfabris]
jag
new poster

Registered: 14/02/2002
Posts: 21
It plugs straight into the serial port. The innovate products have two mini phono jacks for serial ports. They are meant to be able to be chained so that you can have a whole string of them communicating to a display (or computer). So, it comes with mini phono to db9 cable that I just plugged into the back of the empeg.
I'm having a small problem where it seems that some garbage is getting sent out over the serial port when it gets set up, causing to wideband to do a free air calibration which, if it happened in the tailpipe wouldn't be a good thing (especially if the engine was running).
I'm not super experience with serial port programming so I might be doing something wrong....



I've attached some screenshots (the sensor isn't in a car at the moment so the data isn't interesting)
-Jeremy


Attachments
287482-wideband.gif (749 downloads)


Top
#286894 - 19/09/2006 18:19 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: jag]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Awesome.

It seems like there was some solution somewhere to the data being spewed out on the serial port. But I forget if the in-car serial port is the same as the back-of-the-empeg serial port, and, if it is, there's no way to prevent it from doing so. But you could put in a timed circuit so that the serial port isn't connected for, say, 15 seconds after the empeg powers on.

Someone else who's more familiar with the serial port hardware chime in.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#286895 - 19/09/2006 18:25 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: wfaulk]
jag
new poster

Registered: 14/02/2002
Posts: 21
I haven't even gotten to bootup garbage on the serial port.
My problem is that the serial port is spewing something when I open it in my program.
I think I might just make a special cable that only has the transmit wire from the wideband to the empeg...

-Jeremy

Top
#286896 - 19/09/2006 18:31 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: jag]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
That's weird. You don't have the non-data lines hooked up to data lines somehow, do you? No data should be sent out on program start, but the states of some of the ... metadata ... lines will change.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#286897 - 19/09/2006 18:42 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: wfaulk]
jag
new poster

Registered: 14/02/2002
Posts: 21
There aren't any control lines, since it's only connected through a mini phono connector, there are only 3 lines, Ground, transmit and receive.
I'll have to do some more debugging later...

Top
#286898 - 19/09/2006 19:10 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: jag]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Yeah, but there are on the empeg, and if one of them got crossed with the transmit line....
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#286899 - 19/09/2006 19:28 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: jag]
jag
new poster

Registered: 14/02/2002
Posts: 21
Well,
I did the intelligent thing and plugged the empeg into the serial port of my laptop and watched while starting the program. I got this:

hijack: removed menu entry: "Wideband O2"

So, now I just have to figure out how to stop the kernel from outputting on the serial port...

-Jeremy

Top
#286900 - 19/09/2006 19:46 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: jag]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Probably use the suppress_notify parameter for Hijack. I'm not sure if that'll suppress that sort of stuff or not. Also check out the "app uses serial port" setting. I don't think that has anything to do with kernel messages now that I think about it, though.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#286901 - 19/09/2006 22:14 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: wfaulk]
jag
new poster

Registered: 14/02/2002
Posts: 21
suppress_notify=1 is in there. It doesn't seem to do it.
I guess I'll have to resort to breaking the transmit line from the empeg. That will solve the problem with boot messages too.

-Jeremy

Top
#286902 - 20/09/2006 03:28 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: jag]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31563
Loc: Seattle, WA
Since that message is generated by Hijack, an open-source kernel, you could edit the source code yourself. And perhaps make it an optional hijack feature to suppress those messages, and give the resulting code back to Mark for rolling back into the main Hijack code base.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#286903 - 20/09/2006 05:24 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: jag]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 14472
Loc: Canada
Here's a fixed version of Hijack for you to try it with:

http://rtr.ca/zImage.v463+

Cheers

Top
#286904 - 20/09/2006 11:21 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: mlord]
jag
new poster

Registered: 14/02/2002
Posts: 21
Thanks!

That fixed it wonderfully. The problem that still remains is I assume boot loader messages. But, since they are at a different baud rate than the wideband, I don't think there is much chance of it understanding it. It only has a few commands and they are all plain letters like 'c'.
So, I'll see how it goes when I get the sensor installed in the car.
Thanks for the fixed kernel!

-Jeremy

Top
#286905 - 29/09/2006 07:42 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: jag]
tman
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/12/2001
Posts: 5528
Quote:
But, since they are at a different baud rate than the wideband, I don't think there is much chance of it understanding it. It only has a few commands and they are all plain letters like 'c'.

You'll get garbage if the baud rate isn't correct but you'll still receive something. This may or may not be something that it'll cope with.

Top
#286906 - 29/09/2006 10:22 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: tman]
jag
new poster

Registered: 14/02/2002
Posts: 21
I'm actually making a custom cable for it that only has the grounds and tx wires from the wideband. That way I can make it with a DB-9 male and wire it so I don't need the mess of adapters (two male-male adapters and a null modem adapter) that I have on there now.
So, it won't matter if the empeg is outputting anything since the line won't be connected.

-Jeremy

Top
#286907 - 29/09/2006 12:27 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: jag]
tman
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/12/2001
Posts: 5528
Cool. Your project looks interesting! Keep us informed of how it goes

Top
#286908 - 13/10/2006 18:18 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: tman]
RobotCaleb
pooh-bah

Registered: 15/01/2002
Posts: 1866
Loc: Austin
Ignore this post, just trying to clear the not-read tag on this thread.

Top
#286909 - 13/10/2006 18:39 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: RobotCaleb]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31563
Loc: Seattle, WA
That's a bug in the BBS software, we think. Hopefully it'll go away when we upgrade to the next version.

In the meantime, to clear the stuck-on unread-mark, do this:
1. Make sure you're done reading all the messages on the BBS you wanna read.
2. Select "MY HOME" from the bar up top.
3. Select "MARK ALL READ" from the bar at the bottom near your user icon.
4. Select "MARK ALL POSTS AS READ" from the confirmation screen.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#286910 - 14/10/2006 02:09 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: tfabris]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Or you can just create a bookmark to: http://empegbbs.com/ubbthreads/domarkallread.php?Cat=0
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#286911 - 14/10/2006 15:39 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: tfabris]
RobotCaleb
pooh-bah

Registered: 15/01/2002
Posts: 1866
Loc: Austin
You don't say?
:P

I chose to not do that this time as I wasn't finished reading and it had been a bit since I'd made a frivolous post.

Top
#286912 - 14/10/2006 20:59 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: RobotCaleb]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31563
Loc: Seattle, WA
Sorry, didn't realize you were the one who taught it to me in the first place.

Knowing this, how come you made the post you made in this thread?
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#316625 - 24/11/2008 15:44 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: tfabris]
thenominous
member

Registered: 22/12/2001
Posts: 189
Loc: UK
Does anyone know if Jag ever released this software to anyone?
This would be an absolute god send to me right about now!!

Top
#316778 - 29/11/2008 14:48 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: thenominous]
Major_Sarcasm
member

Registered: 28/08/2003
Posts: 149
Loc: Isle of Wight, UK
I, to, am interested in this.
_________________________
Steve

Top
#316962 - 04/12/2008 16:34 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: Major_Sarcasm]
thenominous
member

Registered: 22/12/2001
Posts: 189
Loc: UK
I guess no one knows ??

Shame. Annoying how much "stuff" on the internet just gets lost over time. <sigh>

Top
#316964 - 04/12/2008 16:55 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: thenominous]
Robotic
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/04/2005
Posts: 2026
Loc: Seattle transplant
Originally Posted By: thenominous
I guess no one knows ??

Shame. Annoying how much "stuff" on the internet just gets lost over time. <sigh>

Now that my car is supercharged, I, too, think it would be interesting to watch the O2 sensor at work.
Piping it through the empeg would delete a gauge install from the process... even at an extra cheap gauge price.
_________________________
10101311 (20GB- backup empeg)
10101466 (2x60GB, Eutronix/GreenLights Blue) (Stolen!)

Top
#317047 - 07/12/2008 15:17 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: Robotic]
Major_Sarcasm
member

Registered: 28/08/2003
Posts: 149
Loc: Isle of Wight, UK
That is only a narrowband gauge, designed to connect to the factory-fitted o2 narrowband sensor. That's why it's cheap ('cos it's not much use other than to see if the sensor's working).

The sensor mentioned by the OP is a wideband sensor which has a much more useful output range. I had a wideband sensor and VEMS gauge fitted to my GTR Skyline and it was a very handy tuning aid.

Having the wideband output displayed on the 'peg would be cool indeed.
_________________________
Steve

Top
#317061 - 08/12/2008 14:13 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: Major_Sarcasm]
thenominous
member

Registered: 22/12/2001
Posts: 189
Loc: UK
Narrow band is still certainly useful, better than nothing at all thats for sure!

WB is often a telltale sign that something isn't working correctly.
Logging the Innovate one with the empeg, one could also use it for actually tuning the car with new modifications! Certainly logging a bunch of other stuff is possible with the innovate projects so why not the emepg too since it's via serial.

I suppose it's a no go, asking the mods/admins for the email address he registered with for a shot in the dark email, or even some conserted googling for futher info ??


Edited by thenominous (08/12/2008 14:39)

Top
#317065 - 08/12/2008 14:51 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: Major_Sarcasm]
Robotic
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/04/2005
Posts: 2026
Loc: Seattle transplant
Originally Posted By: Major_Sarcasm
That is only a narrowband gauge, designed to connect to the factory-fitted o2 narrowband sensor. That's why it's cheap ('cos it's not much use other than to see if the sensor's working).
Yes, but the factory O2 sensor would still be fun to monitor. If I can free up some funds (and the empeg could display the output) I'd certainly go for a wide-band sensor.
_________________________
10101311 (20GB- backup empeg)
10101466 (2x60GB, Eutronix/GreenLights Blue) (Stolen!)

Top
#317068 - 08/12/2008 16:28 Re: Wideband Oxygen Sensor Display [Re: Robotic]
thenominous
member

Registered: 22/12/2001
Posts: 189
Loc: UK
Steve, have you got a LM-1 or LC-1 Innovate unit?

The format for the LM-1 is readily available on Innovates website and to be honest doesn't look that complicated to read. If one could program that is.
I guess a simple start would be to init the display and forward the values read from the serial port to the display before getting clever and drawing graphics as Jag did previously.

How's your C ?

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >