Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#356874 - 18/12/2012 15:12 Mounting a SATA drive in a Mk.2
ury
new poster

Registered: 20/12/2003
Posts: 18
Hi,
Just got my new full kit: a never-been used Mk.2, a 500GB SATA 2.5" drive and a SATA-to-IDE adapter.

The drive with the adapter attached to it seem to be to large to fit within the chassis using the factory mounting:

[img]https://plus.google.com/u/0/photos/11794...332059435910306[/img]
[img]https://plus.google.com/u/0/photos/11794...332052596842290[/img]

I've yet to see SATA cables with connector thin enough to fit into the chassis (that is HD -> SATA cable -> SATA-IDE adapter -> IDE cable).

Any ideas or experience regarding how to attach the SATA drive without drilling new holes in the cradle?

Thanks,
Ury

Top
#356875 - 18/12/2012 18:07 Re: Mounting a SATA drive in a Mk.2 [Re: ury]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31164
Loc: Seattle, WA
Disregarding the mounting for a moment, does the adapter even work in the Empeg at all? Have you tested it to make sure it's successful at its intended task? If not, mounting it is moot.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#356880 - 19/12/2012 00:00 Re: Mounting a SATA drive in a Mk.2 [Re: tfabris]
gbeer
carpal tunnel

Registered: 17/12/2000
Posts: 2659
Loc: Manteca, California
If you are only using one drive, it's possible to turn it 90 deg. And drill new holes in the plate. The cable can be refolded to accommodate this.

It might be more accurate to say that after folding the cable to allow mounting the drive sideways, you can determine where to drill the holes.

This image shows a refolded ribbon used with a cf adaptor. Same can be done with SATA and IDE adaptor.



Edited by gbeer (19/12/2012 00:23)
_________________________
Glenn

Top
#356882 - 19/12/2012 05:13 Re: Mounting a SATA drive in a Mk.2 [Re: gbeer]
Ross Wellington
enthusiast

Registered: 21/02/2006
Posts: 325
Hi,

Tony's right. See if you can get the drive to work first (go through software install, load a large database onto it, etc), before mounting it.

I tried a few SATA-to-ATA adapters with different sizes and configurations of drives, different software loads, different player hardware, different cables, without success. There were GUI time-out issues during a large database rebuild, one adapter even stepped on the player Ethernet I/O or Address space.

If you get it working (maybe there is a new adapter I am unaware of that works), let us know.

Thanks,

Ross
_________________________
In SI, a little termination and attention to layout goes a long way. In EMC, without SI, you'll spend 80% of the effort on the last 3dB.

Top
#356883 - 19/12/2012 06:33 Re: Mounting a SATA drive in a Mk.2 [Re: tfabris]
ury
new poster

Registered: 20/12/2003
Posts: 18
Never had a doubt. empeg’s hardware forward compatibility is epic!
Yes, the hard drive is pumped and ready to go.

Top
#356886 - 19/12/2012 17:33 Re: Mounting a SATA drive in a Mk.2 [Re: ury]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31164
Loc: Seattle, WA
Awesome. Glenn's suggestion of rotating the drive 90 degrees is a great idea. Go for that!
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#356887 - 19/12/2012 18:42 Re: Mounting a SATA drive in a Mk.2 [Re: tfabris]
gbeer
carpal tunnel

Registered: 17/12/2000
Posts: 2659
Loc: Manteca, California
For what it's worth.

That might not be the original drive cable supplied with my empeg.

I think the first drive header was in the middle of that 45 degree fold.

OR, I may have used the original, removed one end and the short segment of ribbon. Not sure now.

|==========|===| this.

|==========| trimmed to this.
_________________________
Glenn

Top
#356890 - 20/12/2012 06:50 Re: Mounting a SATA drive in a Mk.2 [Re: gbeer]
ury
new poster

Registered: 20/12/2003
Posts: 18
Thanks Glenn.
Is there any other way of fastening the drive to the harness without drilling? I don't have a driller which can make holes in metals and I was kinda hoping for a "homemade" trick.

Top
#356892 - 20/12/2012 07:31 Re: Mounting a SATA drive in a Mk.2 [Re: ury]
Roger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 18/01/2000
Posts: 5572
Loc: London, UK
Originally Posted By: ury
Thanks Glenn.
Is there any other way of fastening the drive to the harness without drilling? I don't have a driller which can make holes in metals and I was kinda hoping for a "homemade" trick.


"Sticky dots" will probably be secure enough. I used them to secure a 2.5" SSD in a 3.5" bay in my desktop PC.
_________________________
-- roger

Top
#356893 - 20/12/2012 07:57 Re: Mounting a SATA drive in a Mk.2 [Re: Roger]
ury
new poster

Registered: 20/12/2003
Posts: 18
Thanks Roger.
I'm unfamiliar with those. Do you have a link?

Top
#356895 - 20/12/2012 14:59 Re: Mounting a SATA drive in a Mk.2 [Re: ury]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31164
Loc: Seattle, WA
I don't think sticky dots will be strong enough by itself in the long-term. Try some zip ties in addition to the stickum.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#356896 - 20/12/2012 15:01 Re: Mounting a SATA drive in a Mk.2 [Re: ury]
tanstaafl.
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/07/1999
Posts: 5377
Loc: Ajijic, Mexico
link

tanstaafl.
_________________________
"There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch"

Top
#356898 - 20/12/2012 22:09 Re: Mounting a SATA drive in a Mk.2 [Re: tanstaafl.]
gbeer
carpal tunnel

Registered: 17/12/2000
Posts: 2659
Loc: Manteca, California
What has a light side, a dark side, and holds the universe together.

Click to reveal..
Duct Tape. Just wrap it around the drive and the plate.
_________________________
Glenn

Top
#356956 - 31/12/2012 06:08 Re: Mounting a SATA drive in a Mk.2 [Re: ury]
Ross Wellington
enthusiast

Registered: 21/02/2006
Posts: 325
Ury,

Were you successful loading a large music database onto your 500GB SATA drive with a SATA-to-PATA converter?

Ross
_________________________
In SI, a little termination and attention to layout goes a long way. In EMC, without SI, you'll spend 80% of the effort on the last 3dB.

Top