Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#371661 - 11/02/2019 15:54 Smart Lock recommendations please
JBjorgen
carpal tunnel

Loc: Columbus, OH
I'm buying a house and I'm planning to rent my finished basement on AirBNB.

So I'm going to have to put a lock on the new egress door that we're adding, and want to plan ahead for the AirBNB, so I'd like to have a smart lock. Do you guys have any recommendations? Is just something with a numeric pad the best option? Or I know some locks are capable of doing a temporary digital token that goes to a smart phone, but that sounds like a massive headache if it doesn't work perfectly. In my mind at least, it'd be nice to generate a unique combination for each guest and then have a log file of each entry that could be tied to the guest. Anything else I should consider? I've never done either a smart lock or AirBNB before.

#371662 - 11/02/2019 17:20 Re: Smart Lock recommendations please [Re: JBjorgen]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Loc: Canada
A lot of the bluetooth smart locks only work with very up-to-date iPhones. Others may work with recent Android versions, but not the majority of Androids out there. So check compatibility very closely. Anything that requires a non-PlayStore app is a non-starter, as is anything that won't work on Android 7 (Nougat).

-ml

Edited by mlord (12/02/2019 01:32)

#371663 - 11/02/2019 18:02 Re: Smart Lock recommendations please [Re: JBjorgen]
JBjorgen
carpal tunnel

Thanks Mark. I was thinking that sounds like a mess to try to maintain. I'm definitely leaning toward something with a numeric keypad that will accept a simple numeric code to enter.

#371667 - 11/02/2019 19:17 Re: Smart Lock recommendations please [Re: JBjorgen]
mlord
carpal tunnel