Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#5782 - 11/08/1999 17:43 It needs...
schofiel
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/06/1999
Posts: 2992
Loc: Wareham, Dorset, UK
A Clock display in there somewhere, settable by the user.

If one of the display modes could show a suitably "active" version of the Empeg boot screen, that would be Excellent! Dancing penguin, anyone?

The boot screen needs to stay up there for about a couple of seconds longer (just for the effect, dontcha know)

The handle could do with unfolding/hinging up further than it does when taking the unit out of the slide

_________________________
One of the few remaining Mk1 owners... #00015

Top
#5783 - 12/08/1999 02:05 Re: It needs... [Re: schofiel]
schofiel
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/06/1999
Posts: 2992
Loc: Wareham, Dorset, UK
...and a petrol gauge showing how much available disk space remains.

.. and a spinner while downloads are taking place...

_________________________
One of the few remaining Mk1 owners... #00015

Top
#5784 - 12/08/1999 04:24 Re: It needs... [Re: schofiel]
Kram
stranger

Registered: 23/06/1999
Posts: 42
Loc: Cambridge, England
Re. the clock idea. As far as I'm aware the unit has no means of keeping time while it's powered off. Setting it manually each time is obviously not practical, but it could maybe get the time from RDS (Radio Data System, digital data on a subcarrier of FM broadcast radio) at least in countries that have RDS such as the UK which should allow it to get the correct (or at least the current FM station's idea of correct) time within not many seconds of booting up.

My Philips Carin 440 head unit has 3 clock options; user settable, from RDS, from GPS.

Cheers,

Mark.


Top
#5785 - 12/08/1999 04:28 Re: It needs... [Re: Kram]
schofiel
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/06/1999
Posts: 2992
Loc: Wareham, Dorset, UK
Ah, right; I wasn't aware it hadn't got an RTC. What on earth made me forget that?

Re. the RDS time idea - yes, that would be about the best alternative.

_________________________
One of the few remaining Mk1 owners... #00015

Top
#5786 - 12/08/1999 11:25 Re: It needs... [Re: Kram]
elessar
new poster

Registered: 09/06/1999
Posts: 8
Loc: Pueblo, CO, USA
I mentioned this to the empeg folks a while back, and IIRC, the response was that it didn't have an RTC, like you mentioned, but that it would support displaying the time taken from RDS.


Top