Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#87353 - 13/04/2002 18:25 Car Alarm Suggestions
Shujimi
new poster

Loc: Boston, MA
I just bought a 98 Civic EX. I definitely live in the ghetto in Boston and I've been mugged. Anyway, I want to get an alarm system, which I know is not a surething from theft, but something is better than nothing. My Honda has a keyless entry system and I'd like the two (keyless entry and alarm system) to interface so I don't have to carry two alarms. I also know a person who has a shop who will do the install for me. I'm a novice, what can I say, my first real car.
Anybody got any suggestions, I read a little on other car stereo boards but I trust the opinions of this board more.

#87354 - 13/04/2002 20:35 Re: Car Alarm Suggestions [Re: Shujimi]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
Just a data point to consider:

I've known people who had their alarms stolen.

#87355 - 13/04/2002 21:36 Re: Car Alarm Suggestions [Re: Shujimi]
matthew_k
pooh-bah

Loc: Berkeley, California
I've got a Code Alarm factory add on to my '01 prelude. It connects up with the factory keyless entry, so it's only got one remote. Code alarm seems to stick with the keep it simple method, and doesn't have a lot of extra features, but everyone seems to think highly of their build quality.

My father's Bronco didn't start out with keyless entry, and he now has the full Code Alarm system, and I like it better than the add on. It just works better - mine chirps every time I lock it, with the stand alone system it chirps on the seccond lock. The factory integrated system doesn't have a panic button, so I just don't have one. The full Code Alarm system locks the doors when you start the engine and unlocks them when you get out...