Winamp with Empeg, Sync error?

Posted by: AlB

Winamp with Empeg, Sync error? - 09/07/2002 21:02

I have my empeg all networked, it reads writes and accesses thru IE directly (very cool). But when I put the address of the player into winamp it comes back with a sync error?? I would assume since Ican connect thru IE that winamp would have no issues...but I am a rookie to this (amazed I've got this far!!)

I read Archeons issues but don't think I have a proxy server (set to detect automatically) and there is no place to exempt addresses.... running w2kpro and latest hijack
Posted by: tfabris

Re: Winamp with Empeg, Sync error? - 09/07/2002 22:05

You don't put the address of the player into WinAmp.

You open the player's address in a web browser, then click on one of the play or stream icons on the web page that appears.

If you have properly associated MP3 and M3U files with WinAmp, the act of clicking on them in the web browser will open WinAmp and begin playing or streaming the file in question.
Posted by: thinfourth2

Re: Winamp with Empeg, Sync error? - 10/07/2002 01:32

I don't know as there is a mini browser in winamp so this maybe what he means

Re: Winamp with Empeg, Sync error? - 10/07/2002 09:57

I can't figure out how to hand-enter an address in the WinAmp minibrowser, so I dont think that's it.
Posted by: DeadFire

Re: Winamp with Empeg, Sync error? - 10/07/2002 09:59

The WinAmp minibrowser is really more like a skin for IE. Ctrl+O will pop up a box in which you can enter a URL.

Re: Winamp with Empeg, Sync error? - 10/07/2002 10:03

Ah. OK, that works. Does not produce an error, I can click on songs in the Hijack web pages using the WinAmp Minibrowser just fine and they work.

I think what he was trying to do was to enter the Empeg's IP address into the "play location" box in WinAmp, rather than trying to surf to the web page.
Posted by: DeadFire

Re: Winamp with Empeg, Sync error? - 10/07/2002 10:06