TiVo or ReplayTV or Other

Posted by: SonicSnoop

TiVo or ReplayTV or Other - 15/08/2004 18:02

You all always seem to be a very intellegent bunch and have all the greatest gadgets so I figured you'd be the ones to ask this. Football season is starting and I work sundays so im gonna be missing most of the games so I was thinking of getting one of those units to record them (sick of vcrs and tapes crappy quality) and was wondering if you all could tell me in your opinion which one is best and why. Thanks!
Posted by: msaeger

Re: TiVo or ReplayTV or Other - 15/08/2004 18:51

Do you have direct tv ?

If you have cable you may want to see if they offer a PVR. While it probably wouldn't be as good as a tivo/replay but you could try it and see if you want a PVR or not.

I have been using Tivo for many years and currently have a 60 hour series 2 I did try a Replay TV for a short time.

What I did not like about the Replay TV was I want to be able to tell it to record a show evertime it is on regardless of what time or channel and it would not do this.

The things I liked better about the Replay were that it was much faster (tivo can be painfully slow going through menus) and it is very easy to extract the shows thanks to DVarchive.

You may want to do a search there have been many threads on this topic.
Posted by: tfabris

Re: TiVo or ReplayTV or Other - 15/08/2004 19:31

Quote:
tell me in your opinion which one is best and why.

Ah, another thread about religion.

First consideration is... if you already get your TV through DirecTV, then Tivo is your best option because they have the integrated unit where the satellite receiver is built into the box (actually, two of them are), and the stuff is saved to the hard disk directly without any A/D conversion or data compression.

If you have to get it as an add-on solution, then we're back to the religious discussion. Carry on...
Posted by: DeadFire

Re: TiVo or ReplayTV or Other - 15/08/2004 20:31