Setting up ftp

Posted by: hamzy

Setting up ftp - 29/08/2000 20:13

TODO: figure out how to change /sbin/init to start inetd
TODO: how do you find out which drive the file was transfered from empeg.csv.
Is it the second to the last number?
TODO: Figure out how to update the Debian image to the latest and greatest.

1) Download the Debian root image from
here
and download stuff.tgz from this attachment.

2) Transfer it with a version of emplode that transfers non-mp3 files. I
put it into Unattached items.

3) Figure out what the files are now named. Ex for the first file:
Export the database
Tools->Export Database to CSV
Edit that file and search for debian-image_990822.tar Ex:
2474,"tune","9651112","debian-image_990822.tar","Unknown","","","","","","","","","","","",1,""
2477,"tune","1003","stuff","Unknown","","","","","","","","","","","",1,""
Start a calculator and multiply that result by 16 and then
convert it into hex. The windows calculator can do this with
View->Scientific. Ex:
9aa0
9ad0

For the rest of the sample, debian-image_990822.tar.gz is /drive0/fids/9aa0
and stuff.tgz is /drive0/fids/9ad0

4) Extract the following from the Debian root image (ftp daemon, ftp, ping,
find, passwd, su, which, and vi). You can delete files afterwards if you
don't want them or you can delete them from filelist before hand.
cd /
rw
rwm
tar -xvzf /drive0/fids/9ad0 tmp/filelist
tar -xvzpf /drive0/fids/9aa0 -T tmp/filelist
chmod +s /bin/su
ln -s /usr/bin/nvi /usr/bin/vi
rm /tmp/filelist

5) For convienience, I have included some files that you have to modify in
stuff.tgz. To replace them, do the following:
tar -xvzf /drive0/fids/9ad0
Here is what is changed in each file
etc/group
This contains valid groups in your system. This file contains root,
ftp, and nobody. Do what ever you want to it if you understand the
format and function of it.
etc/passwd
This contains valid users in your system. This file contains root,
ftp, and nobody. Root and ftp have no passwords. Do what ever you
want to it if you understand the format and function of it.
To change the password for ftp, for example, do the following:
passwd ftp
etc/hosts.deny
This says what hosts are denied. I removed the PARANOID line.
etc/hosts
This says what ip addresses do not need to be DNSed. I added
localhost.

6) Optional: start up the loop-back interface that listens to localhost.
ifconfig lo 127.0.0.1 up

7) Make sure that dns can work. Correct the last line of /etc/resolv.conf
so that it points to a valid dns server. The first line is your default
domain.
vi /etc/resolv.conf
Test is out with
ping www.empeg.com

NOTE: To figure out your DNS server under Windows, type winipcfg. Click
on More Info and use the DNS Servers field. Under Linux, just use
/etc/resolv.conf.

8) Start/Restart the inet daemon. Do a ps -e | grep inetd
If it is running, then there will be at least one line that says only "inetd"
instead of "grep inetd". Ex:
empeg:/# ps -e | grep inetd
38 ? 00:00:00 inetd
empeg:/# kill -HUP 38
Otherwise, just start it up.
inetd

9) Make sure you can become the user ftp. The first su is free since you are
root. The second one asks you for your password.
su nobody
su ftp
ls
logout
logout
NOTE: If you see "su: cannot run /bin/bash: Permission denied", then do the
following. I don't know why there are no permissions for many of the
critical files. I don't remember changing this before.
chmod ugo+rx /lib /lib/*
chmod ugo+rx / /bin /bin/* /etc

10) Test it out!

11) To connect locally (with empeg's environment. Make sure to follow setp 6):
ftp 127.0.0.1

12) To connect within your LAN:
ftp 192.168.1.105

13) Clean up
ro
rom

NOTE: for security reasons, you cannot login as root via ftp.

Special thanks to kim, mcomb and [url=http://www.linuxgazette.com/issue52/okopnik.html]this.

I never thought I would have so many problems with su!


Posted by: dionysus

Re: Setting up ftp - 30/08/2000 10:30

How much memory does the ftp daemon take up? Ideally, I would like ftp to be enabled while inside, but disabled in the car...
-mark

...proud to have owned one of the first Mark I units
Posted by: dionysus

Re: Setting up ftp - 30/08/2000 10:34

...also, to quote Kim's message, here's how to setup the init script:
In reply to:

I have a menu driven boot loader but it would need some modifications to make it work on other environments as well. It assumes that the /dev/hda2 partition exists and can be mounted to specific location, etc.

But in your case, it would probably be easiest to just write a simple /sbin/init script replacement, like:

#!/bin/sh
PATH=./:/bin
PS1=empeg:\\w\\$
/bin/mount -n -o nocheck,rw /proc
/bin/mount -n -o nocheck,ro /dev/hda4 /drive0
/empeg/bin/player

And then you could add whatever network stuff you want before/after the empeg player software.



...proud to have owned one of the first Mark I units

Posted by: hamzy

Re: Setting up ftp - 30/08/2000 11:08

I don't know yet. As I said in an earlier post, the empeg is not connected to the network right now. I should see how easy setting up PPP over the serial link is.

Anyways, the Debian root tar has top inside. An example of running it shows:

 11:08am  up  2:26,  0 users,  load average: 0.01, 0.02, 0.01
8 processes: 7 sleeping, 1 running, 0 zombie, 0 stopped
CPU states: 0.3% user, 0.1% system, 0.0% nice, 99.4% idle
Mem: 10920K av, 7484K used, 3436K free, 1740K shrd, 3104K buff
Swap: 0K av, 0K used, 0K free 2012K cached

PID USER PRI NI SIZE RSS SHARE STAT LIB %CPU %MEM TIME COMMAND
198 root 1 0 892 892 716 R 0 0.5 8.1 0:01 top
1 root 0 0 80 80 60 S 0 0.0 0.7 0:04 init
2 root 0 0 0 0 0 SW 0 0.0 0.0 0:00 kflushd
3 root 0 0 0 0 0 SW 0 0.0 0.0 0:00 kupdate
4 root 0 0 0 0 0 SW 0 0.0 0.0 0:00 kpiod
5 root 0 0 0 0 0 SW 0 0.0 0.0 0:00 kswapd
45 root 0 0 76 76 0 S 0 0.0 0.6 0:00 inetd
182 root 0 0 1240 1240 964 S 0 0.0 11.3 0:00 bash

I will run it at home with a ftp session running.
Hrm. It looks like I need to set the time zone environment variable.


Posted by: altman

Re: Setting up ftp - 30/08/2000 11:09

You can do stuff with grepping /proc files (like /proc/empeg_power) to start certain services dependent on power source if you're feeling adventurous...

Hugo


Posted by: dionysus

Re: Setting up ftp - 30/08/2000 11:17

dang; just managed to kill my empeg; I'm re-flashing the consumer ver1 again:( something went wrong w/ the init file..

Here's the init that I used:
#!/bin/sh
PATH=./:/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin
PS1=empeg:\\w\\$
/bin/mount -n -o nocheck,rw /proc
/bin/mount -n -o nocheck,ro /dev/hda4 /drive0
/empeg/bin/player
inetd

...In theory, once it dumps out of the player, it should start inetd, right? only problem is that I can't get a prompt after I kill the player... Also, inetd never starts up... Ideas?

Also, it's worth noting the menu option for "quit" here:
(copied from Clemsonjeep)
In reply to:

) type rwm, then rw to mount the partitions read-write.
5) cd /empeg/var
6) echo "[Menu]" >> config.ini
7) echo "quit=1" >> config.ini
8) type rom, then ro, to mount the partitions read-only.




...proud to have owned one of the first Mark I units

Posted by: hamzy

Re: Setting up ftp - 30/08/2000 11:30

I would move inetd in front of player and start it in the background with an ampersand at the end.

But what I meant originally was to play with the binary program init (as well as play with the shell script one).

Thanks Hugo for the idea of grepping the /proc/empeg_power file.

Posted by: dionysus

Re: Setting up ftp - 30/08/2000 12:20

OK - now I'm getting

empeg:/# ftp 10.227.132.82
neighbour table overflow
ftp: connect: No buffer space available
ftp>

Any ideas? Ping works fine..

-mark

update - just mysteriously started working????
...proud to have owned one of the first Mark I units

Edited by dionysus on 30/8/00 08:56 PM.

Posted by: kim

Re: Setting up ftp - 30/08/2000 12:38

I would move inetd in front of player and start it in the background with an ampersand at the end.

Keep in mind that all empeg-player threads run using realtime scheduler which means that any "normal" programs that are in background gets very little time, as they have much lower priority.

Kim

Posted by: hamzy

Re: Setting up ftp - 30/08/2000 12:49

Interesting.

I thought that Hugo? said that only 30% of the CPU was being utilized. With a real time task running, I can't see that the ethernet's interrupts are not being serviced since emplode can work when the player is playing.
70% should be more than enough to service inetd and ftpd.

Posted by: dionysus

Re: Setting up ftp - 30/08/2000 12:50

In reply to:


Keep in mind that all empeg-player threads run using realtime scheduler which means that any "normal" programs that are in background gets very little time, as they have much lower priority.


...Which is fine; ftp is very slow w/ the player working, but it at least runs... (well.. Did.. mine broke; see my above post..) the user can always "quit" to give the background item more attention..

Also, this little hack is worth noting: (from developer site:)
The following directives may be placed into the empeg player's configuration file, /empeg/var/config.ini.

[Startup]
ReduceCache=n

n = number of chunks to reduce the cache by (dev. max 48)

-mark

...proud to have owned one of the first Mark I units

Posted by: dionysus

Re: Setting up ftp - 30/08/2000 13:17

OK - here's the init string that I"m using now, it SEEMS to work, except for one minor detail:


In reply to:


#!/bin/sh
PATH=./:/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin
PS1=empeg:\\w\\$
/bin/mount -n -o nocheck,rw /proc
/bin/mount -n -o nocheck,ro /dev/hda4 /drive0
/bin/mount -n -o nocheck,ro /dev/hdc4 /drive1
inetd &
/empeg/bin/player


ftpd works fine, but I loose the bash shell through the serial port, and nothing more comes out of the serial port.. BUT I can still send commands .. (i.e., typing q drops out of the player, but I still can't do anything at that stage...)
Also, typing q kills the ftp daemon..

Any hints?
-mark

ps - for those interested - ftp speed with player loaded, about 600kb/sec.. ftp speed w/o player loaded, around 1mb/sec...



...proud to have owned one of the first Mark I units

Posted by: kim

Re: Setting up ftp - 30/08/2000 14:25

I can't see that the ethernet's interrupts are not being serviced since emplode can work when the player is playing.

I think the ethernet interrupts are being serviced regularly and probably don't take a hit of the empeg-player thread scheduling as they are more or less part of the kernel.

I thought that Hugo? said that only 30% of the CPU was being utilized.

Yes, but it still doesn't mean that 70% of the time would be freely available to "normal" processes. I believe the empeg-player utilizes all the CPU power it can get, but in theory it would also work with only ~30% of the total CPU time. Good example is to run "/empeg/bin/player -s- &", leave it background and start typing some shell commands. In worst case, it can take several seconds for the bash shell to get any time beyond the empeg-player.

Of course, all this can be handled properly by modifying the other applications to use real time scheduling also to share the time more equally. Although, the program has to be thought out properly before starting to play with the real time priorities as they can easily lock up the whole empeg quite easily (yes, has happened to me ).

Kim


Posted by: altman

Re: Setting up ftp - 30/08/2000 14:42

We should also drop in cpu usage with the switch to the new mp3 decoder; at one point we did some tests running only one or two threads with the realtime scheduler, as the rest don't really need it (which would probably make the cpu distribution more even for user tasks).

Interrupt latency doesn't suffer much with the player running, but some of the changes we've done to the kernel (I think in 1.01) help task wakeups, especially during caching, which could be very slow.

Hugo


Posted by: jstrain

Re: Setting up ftp - 31/08/2000 20:54

ok, after i hosed my empeg royally, i flashed it again, and then it worked again. then i read the directions more carefully :). everything seems to work, but regarding step #9, when i type su ftp, it tells me that there is no such user. any reason for this? pinging an internet address works fine, but i cannot ftp to the loopback address or to the empeg from another machine on the LAN. any ideas? going to work on it some more this weekend, and after that works, the micro http server.

btw hamzy, thanks an awful lot. i know enough linux to get by, but i could have never done all that without your directions. it would really be nice to see about getting this turned into a FAQ. tony, are you listening???

jeremy

12 gig, green...

Edited by jstrain on 1/9/00 04:54 AM.

Posted by: tfabris

Re: Setting up ftp - 31/08/2000 21:13

tony, are you listening?

Always. But the person to talk to about an FTP-on-Empeg FAQ is Dionysus. Seeing as how I don't have an ethernet-capable Mk2 to try it on...

___________
Tony Fabris
Posted by: dionysus

Re: Setting up ftp - 01/09/2000 06:14

It's in the works; I'm just trying to get a few more network services running (such as http and telnet) before posting it...

As for step 9, did you remember to untar the stuff file? untar the stuff.tar file linked above such as this:
tar -xzpvf fielnameforstuff.tar /

...Specifically, this replaces the /etc/passwd and the /etc/group files, which need to reflect the proper ftp account...
-mark

...proud to have owned one of the first Mark I units
Posted by: Blacksun

Re: Setting up ftp - 01/09/2000 15:40

Hi all ...

Really good work hamzy!!

I have a problem with the ftpd. I added a user administrator and a corresponding group administrator. My ftp user is now a kind of guest account and my administrator user doesn't have access to the ftp server "530 User administrator access denied.".
Probably this is a simple switch to do in a config file, but I didn't see anything I can do to let the administrator and the ftp user login as simple ftp session. In the bash shell i can do a su with ftp and administrator.

Any hint's ??

regards Mirko


.: <a href="www.buholzer.com/mirko">http://www.buholzer.com/mirko</a>
Posted by: hamzy

Re: Setting up ftp - 02/09/2000 14:59

Strangely enough (and this is strange), you will get that error if the file /etc/shells does not exist.
Copy that file from the Debian root environment.

I found that out by searching for:
   debian 530 User access denied.


This should be included in the eventual FAQ if there ever is one...

Edited by hamzy on 2/9/00 11:00 PM.

Posted by: hamzy

Re: Setting up ftp - 02/09/2000 15:07

The user has to exist in the /etc/passwd file.

Check out this and this for more information.

Note: Since passwords are encrypted in these files, if you see something simple like "*" or "!", then this means that that user/group cannot use it. This is because the encrypted password will never equal to "*" or "!".

Posted by: Blacksun

Re: Setting up ftp - 03/09/2000 13:39

Great it works.
How comes that only I had this problem?

.:Mirko

.: i love my empeg!!
Posted by: hamzy

Re: Setting up ftp - 03/09/2000 18:36

'cause you're special

Posted by: dionysus

Re: Setting up ftp - 05/09/2000 20:20

one small problem.. Anonymous ftp is enabled by default.. D'oh
-mark

MK2: 36gb
Tivo: 90gb
CPU: 120gb
...I think drive manufacturers love me!
Posted by: dionysus

Re: Setting up ftp - 05/09/2000 20:57

problem fixed:) make new user, make file /etc/shells which includes /bin/bash .
-=mark

MK2: 36gb
Tivo: 90gb
CPU: 120gb
...I think drive manufacturers love me!
Posted by: ClemsonJeep

Re: Setting up ftp - 06/09/2000 07:36

ftpd works fine, but I loose the bash shell through the serial port, and nothing more comes out of the serial port.. BUT I can still send commands .. (i.e., typing q drops out of the player, but I still can't do anything at that stage...)

Also, typing q kills the ftp daemon..


As for the q killing the ftp daemon, I'm not sure what that is about. But you should try running /bin/sh or bash after the player exits, otherwise you won't have a shell. And you also might need to put a loop in it so when the shell exits it jumps back up and reruns /empeg/bin/player.

I haven't tried this yet, but just some ideas..

(O|||||O)

Posted by: tonyc

Re: Setting up ftp - 09/09/2000 16:22

I'm trying to get this to work... I need to install a PPP kernel right? The problem I'm having is that I got the PPP kernel from the developer site but it doesn't work. In fact, I've tried installing it twice and it's rendered my Empeg inoperable both times (I had to re-load the developer image to get it to work again.) So, what am I doing wrong?

-Tony

---
MkII 080000554
Posted by: dionysus

Re: Setting up ftp - 09/09/2000 23:15

no; you don't need to setup ppp - that's only for the mk1... Follow the above directions to the letter, and you should get it working.. I'm working on a quick run-this-and-it'll-work solution as well, so stay tuned if you can't get it working..
-mark

MK2: 36gb
Tivo: 90gb
CPU: 120gb
...I think drive manufacturers love me!
Posted by: sc400

Re: Setting up ftp - 10/09/2000 17:29

Do I need a user ftp to make ftp and ftpd work? I have chrooted to my debian directory and fixed the etc/hosts.deny file, and ran inetd. No problem up to that point. But when I ftp to the empeg, I get a connected response, then it just hangs. If the fact that I don't have a user ftp is the problem, how should I fix that? If thats not the problem, any ideas on what else I could try?


P.S. I don't even get a login prompt.

Edited by sc400 on 11/9/00 01:30 AM.

Posted by: dionysus

Re: Setting up ftp - 10/09/2000 20:51

You don't need to chroot to the debian environment to get ftp working - just follow Hamzy's instructions... basically, what he's doing is giving you a file called stuff.tar which contains a list of files that need to be extracted from the debian root - the tar command he gives on step 4, specifically the -T tmp/filelist parameter, tells tar to just untar the files in the file list...

If you find it difficult after following hamzy's intructions, let me know and I'll try to hurry up w/ my installer script:)
-mark

MK2: 36gb
Tivo: 90gb
CPU: 120gb
...I think drive manufacturers love me!
Posted by: hamzy

Re: Setting up ftp - 11/09/2000 13:41

That is most likely a invalid dns setup. Make sure that your /etc/resolv.conf is correct. Test it with ping www.empeg.com from with the empeg.

If you would have waited long enough, you would have gotten a response with incorrect dns.

Posted by: BillB

Re: Setting up ftp - 11/09/2000 21:03

Thanks to Hamzy and Dionysus, I've managed to get FTP and Telnet running, but, being the semi linux newbie that I am, I'm running into an issue -

What do I need to do to get the custom init script to work?

As a guess, I renamed /sbin/init, created a new /sbin/init with the above info, did a chmod 755 /sbin/init, and rather than booting into the player, it fails to mount the music partition and dumps me to a shell.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks,


Bill B.
Mk.2 SN 080000183 - 18 GB /
Green
Posted by: dionysus

Re: Setting up ftp - 12/09/2000 08:49

What I ended up doing is renaming the init script to startplayerinit , then create an init script which, as it's last line, starts the startplayerinit script.. I don't have access to my empeg right now, but if you need me to, I can dig up the actual init script that I used...

-mark

MK2: 36gb
Tivo: 90gb
CPU: 120gb
...I think drive manufacturers love me!
Posted by: BillB

Re: Setting up ftp - 12/09/2000 09:37

DOH! Sadly it didn't occur to me that the init script wouldn't do everything that the init bin would do.

It'll be a couple of hours before I can try it, but I'm guessing that should take care of it. However, if you've managed to get inetd to start/not start based on power source, I'd love to know what exactly I need to do in order to make that work.

Thanks,

Bill B.
Mk.2 SN 080000183 - 18 GB /
Green
Posted by: dionysus

Re: Setting up ftp - 12/09/2000 13:07

It's definately doable - but since I was going to attempt wireless ethernet in my car, I hadn't worked on it :-p I'll try something later on though.. It should be doable doing a simple grep of the powersource (as mentioned above in hugo's post) and an even simpler if/then statement..
-mark

MK2: 36gb
Tivo: 90gb
CPU: 120gb
...I think drive manufacturers love me!
Posted by: BillB

Re: Setting up ftp - 12/09/2000 15:12

I've tried playing around some more, and I'm still stuck.

It still fails to mount the music partition and dumps me to a shell, and if I run the playerinit from there, everything's fine, but it doesn't seem to be running my script. In fact, I just tried to do /sbin/init and gave me 'no such file or directory'. I think I'm confused. I can see it in the directory, I can display the contents, but it won't run (and I did a chmod 755).

I'm guessing it's probably something simple. Any ideas?



Thanks,

Bill B.
Mk.2 SN 080000183 - 18 GB /
Green
Posted by: dionysus

Re: Setting up ftp - 12/09/2000 15:47

..How're you accessing the startplayer? dont' forget to use an exec command for it..:
exec startoriginalinitscript

...at the end of your custom init script..
-mark

MK2: 36gb
Tivo: 90gb
CPU: 120gb
...I think drive manufacturers love me!
Posted by: BillB

Re: Setting up ftp - 12/09/2000 15:56

A few minutes ago, I deleted and rewrote the script from scratch, and it's working now... I have NO idea.

Out of curiousity,(forgive my lack of linux knowledge) why the exec? It seems to be working without it...

Also, I can't seem to telnet into the empeg unless the root fs is rw. I'm guessing this is normal? If so, I would assume , since exiting the player spawns a new shell, putting rw after calling the old init won't help. Have you found away around this?

Bill B.
Mk.2 SN 080000183 - 18 GB /
Green

Edited by BillB on 13/9/00 00:02 AM.

Posted by: BillB

Re: Setting up ftp - 12/09/2000 21:02

OK, I did some reading and understand the exec thing. So, nevermind about that.

I guess the only issues that remain are:

The telnet/read-only issue - I thought that it might make sense, because with the FS set to r/o, it can't write to /usr/sbin/in.telnetd, but ftp works under the same conditions. Should telnet work with the FS r/o, or did I set something up incorrectly?

The /proc/empeg_power thing - I've mostly figured out. I've got a script written that successfully checks for AC power, but I don't know what the contents of /proc/empeg_power looks like when connected in the car. I'll have to rip the dash out to connect the serial cable to the sled, so before I do that, - when the car is connected to Ac, the line in empeg_power reads:
0 (AC Power)

does anyone know what the line is when the car is connected via the sled?
0 (DC Power) or ?????

Thanks in advance,



Bill B.
Mk.2 SN 080000183 - 18 GB /
Green
Posted by: mcomb

Re: Setting up ftp - 12/09/2000 22:11

>does anyone know what the line is when the car is connected via the sled?
>0 (DC Power) or ?????

Sorry if this sounds like a smart ass comment, but...

if(/proc/empeg_power == "0 (AC POWER)") {
stuff
} else {
other stuff
}


Would work right? Or is there another condition that I am missing?

-Mike

Posted by: BillB

Re: Setting up ftp - 13/09/2000 04:54

Originally, I set the script up just to grep for 'AC power' rather than the whole line (don't ask me why). Which brought up the question of what changes when it's in the car. Like an idiot, I didn't even think about greping for the whole 'known' line. I guess that's what I get for trying to do things that require thought after my bedtime.


Bill B.
Mk.2 SN 080000183 - 18 GB /
Green
Posted by: tonyc

Re: Setting up ftp - 14/09/2000 06:26

The most logical guess seems to be
at home:
0 (AC Power)
in car:
1 (DC Power)

If this is the case, then all you have to do is extract the "head" and "cut" commands from the debian image and do this:

if [ `head -1 /proc/empeg_power | cut -c 1` -eq "0" ];
then
# do AC power stuff
; else
# do DC power stuff
fi



---
MkII 080000554
Posted by: BillB

Re: Setting up ftp - 14/09/2000 06:59

I actually wound up using:

if cat /dev/empeg_power | grep '0 (AC Power)'
then inetd &

which seems to work well. Unfortunately, while trying to fix my Telnet issue, I hosed something else -

Not sure how important it is, but when I run mount, it only displays the root filesystem. But if I try and mount the other fs's, they're already mounted (and accessable).

Oh well, my last effort last night before bed was to reload dev1.0. Looks like it's back to the beginning...

Bill B.
Mk.2 SN 080000183 - 18 GB /
Green
Posted by: BillB

Re: Setting up ftp - 14/09/2000 22:09

sorry - I meant /proc/empeg_power.

Bill B.
Mk.2 SN 080000183 - 18 GB /
Green
Posted by: smu

Re: Setting up ftp - 21/09/2000 09:53

In fact, I just tried to do /sbin/init and gave me 'no such file or directory'. I think I'm confused. I can see it in the directory, I can display the contents, but it won't run (and I did a chmod 755).

I guess that it is finding the script, but it doesn´t find the shell which is stated in the (first) "#!" line of the script. The error message doesn´t state which file it doesn´t find, and is not really helpful as a result. But in the case of shell scripts (also perl, tcl, ...) it is always good to check if the script file exists (in the dir where it is expected), if it is executable, and if the interpreter given in the first line (/bin/bash, usr/bin/perl or something like that) exists and is executable. If either the script or the interpreter does not exist, the error message usually is "permission denied" though.

cu,
sven
Posted by: smu

Re: Setting up ftp - 21/09/2000 09:58

dont' forget to use an exec command for it..:
exec startoriginalinitscript


Why? I know what exec does, but what is the reason for doing exec´ing (the oríginal) init? I have a vague idea it might be something with shutdown.



cu,
sven
Posted by: smu

Re: Setting up ftp - 21/09/2000 10:10

Also, I can't seem to telnet into the empeg unless the root fs is rw. I'm guessing this is normal? If so, I would assume , since exiting the player spawns a new shell, putting rw after calling the old init won't help. Have you found away around this

I can´t give a workaround (though my info might hint you towards one), but I think I can explain what happens:
telnetd usually does wtmp and/or utmp entries, which means it puts a record into the appropriate logfile when a user logs on (so that "who" can show that user) and updates it at logout (so that it is not shown by "who" anymore, but "last" show when he/she logged in and when the logout happened).
There might be a commandline option that tells telnetd not to log to wtmp/utmp.



cu,
sven
Posted by: Wire

Re: Setting up ftp - 22/09/2000 00:47

Hi,

You're missing

-1 (NO POWER)

;)


Lars


Lars
Posted by: Terminator

Re: Setting up ftp - 26/04/2001 11:40

Did you ever find a run-this-and-it-will-work solution?

Sean

80000078
Posted by: dionysus

Re: Setting up ftp - 26/04/2001 15:35

wow; talk about re-visiting an old thread...
Yes - but I can't remember the original problem now:)
-mark

...proud to have owned an Empeg since 00287
Posted by: Terminator

Re: Setting up ftp - 26/04/2001 17:01

I think I may have misread the thread. I was hoping for an installer for ftp like what Frank has for displayserver.

Sean

80000078
Posted by: dionysus

Re: Setting up ftp - 27/04/2001 15:02

In reply to:

I think I may have misread the thread. I was hoping for an installer for ftp like what Frank has for displayserver.



That was my original plan; then I got a 70hours+/week job:(
-m

...proud to have owned an Empeg since 00287