debugging on empeg: got gdbserver now what?

Posted by: siberia37

debugging on empeg: got gdbserver now what? - 09/04/2003 20:27

Ok, I've decided if I'm ever going to do any serious programming on the empeg I need a debugger. I guess this means I'm a wimpy programmer but that's besides the point.

Anyways I have managed to get gdbserver compiled and running on the empeg, I've attached the file- note you have to copy the libthread_db.so.1 file from the toolchain's lib directory to the /lib directory on the empeg for it to run. Problem is I can't get GDB to use it without crashing. Basically what I'm doing is this:
empeg: gdbserver localhost:2000 test
linux box: gdb test
(gdb) target remote empeg:2000
(gdb) breakpoint main
(gdb) continue
when I do the continue everything crashes. I imagine the problem is I have to re-compile gdb to support ARM binaries... but I have no idea how to do this.. any ideas GDB wizards?
Posted by: tonyc

Re: debugging on empeg: got gdbserver now what? - 09/04/2003 20:41

Ok, I've decided if I'm ever going to do any serious programming on the empeg I need a debugger.
Bah! That's what printf() is for!

If you get this working, please share your success with the community. I'm sure the pace of my development would double if I could step through programs instead of having to depend on a bunch of debug statements.
Posted by: canuckInOR

Re: debugging on empeg: got gdbserver now what? - 09/04/2003 23:06

I've decided if I'm ever going to do any serious programming on the empeg I need a debugger.

Does this help? I found it quite useful when writing Launcher. (See another of my posts on the subject of gdb.)
Posted by: mlord

Re: debugging on empeg: got gdbserver now what? - 10/04/2003 06:38

I think my rate of development more than doubled when I stopped relying on debuggers..
Posted by: tonyc

Re: debugging on empeg: got gdbserver now what? - 10/04/2003 07:34

I think my rate of development more than doubled when I stopped relying on debuggers..