Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Page 4 of 4 < 1 2 3 4
Topic Options
#106165 - 12/08/2002 14:58 Re: empacman beta release [Re: snoopstah]
darwin
enthusiast

I'm with snoopstah about controlling with the knob. I'm very used to playing snake on my nokia phone with only two buttons, and would like to be able to play pacman with the knob. If that could be implemented in the next release, i'd be the happiest empeg owner in the WORLD!

#106166 - 13/08/2002 08:14 Empacman menu selection in Hijack [Re: avatarTX]

Loc: Dallas Texas USA
I am no rocket scientist.. or even a unix/linux user. But I am familiar with a thing or two.

Would it not be an easy task to edit whatever file HiJack uses in order that my empacman is always in the menu? I imagine I could look at the code and figure out the required syntax from the existing menu items.. but what file do I need to edit?

I am comfortable with my CHMODs and up/downloading so I am sure I won't mess anything up .. would it be that easy or is there something more to it that I am not aware of?

#106167 - 13/08/2002 09:15 Re: Empacman menu selection in Hijack [Re: avatarTX]
tonyc
carpal tunnel

Loc: Pittsburgh, PA
Hijack has no such file describing the menu items. The menu items in the menu (restore visuals, calculator, screen blanker, etc.) are all hard-coded, though I believe there are config.ini options to hide them if you don't want them.

User apps are inserted into the menu by programatically "binding" to the menu. This means that in most instances, if there's an entry in the hijack menu for a program (empacman for instance) that means it's running in the background.

However, a program called launcher (do a search) has been written to handle this situation more elegantly. Launcher has a configurable file which lists your apps and how you want them started. It also requires another add-on called preinit which starts the launcher itself.