Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#153620 - 07/04/2003 07:55 Buy expensive camera Saturday, laid off on Monday
andy
carpal tunnel

Loc: Wivenhoe, Essex, UK
Bugger !

Spent £1600 on a lovely new EOS-10D and lens on Saturday and today I get laid off. What timing...

The company I have been working at for the last 5+ years (Onyx Software) has had another knightmare quarter, so it's finally time for all us contractors to say goodbye. I guess five and a half years isn't too bad for a short term contract though !

So if anyone needs an Intranet/Extranet (mostly IE/IIS) architect/developer contractor in the Surrey/Berks/Hants/Sussex area, let me know...

The shock of realising I'm not going to be working with the same team I have known and loved for the last five years is far more disturbing than actually losing the contract.

#153621 - 07/04/2003 08:02 Re: Buy expensive camera Saturday, laid off on Monday [Re: andy]
BartDG
carpal tunnel

Loc: Bruges, Belgium
Sorry to hear that.

I hope you'll find a new, hopefully as good, and preferably better job soon.

#153622 - 07/04/2003 08:08 Re: Buy expensive camera Saturday, laid off on Monday [Re: BartDG]
andy
carpal tunnel

preferably better job soon

The chances of me finding a job with a comparable working enviroment is very slim I'm afraid. Laid back doesn't even begin to describe our team. I'm really going to miss being able to come and go as I please and just being trusted to deliver rather than being checked up on all the time...

#153623 - 07/04/2003 08:18 Re: Buy expensive camera Saturday, laid off on Monday [Re: andy]
JeffS
carpal tunnel

Loc: Atlanta, GA
I'm really going to miss being able to come and go as I please and just being trusted to deliver rather than being checked up on all the time...
So it seems you weren't really working these last five years; sounds more like a long dream .