Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#172924 - 31/07/2003 00:44 Analog vs. Digital outs
msandrews
new poster

Loc: San Diego, CA, U.S.A.
I am not an audiophile expert so I am wondering what people's opinions are on this subject.

It seems like having a digital out on your digital audio player would be better than an analog line out. The player would have to convert the digital signal to analog and it seems that being able to to do that conversion would be better on a high quality reciever.

Do you think that a digital audio player such as the Karma should have one, or does that not really make a difference?

#172925 - 31/07/2003 02:35 Re: Analog vs. Digital outs [Re: msandrews]
muzza
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Brisbane, Queensland, Australi...
Digital, as you probably know, will help elminate ground loop problems. the empeg does not have digital out by default, but see here and the link therein for details. A thread in the topic is here

#172926 - 31/07/2003 09:50 Re: Analog vs. Digital outs [Re: msandrews]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
It seems like having a digital out on your digital audio player would be better than an analog line out.
If you happen to have an amplifier with a digital input, yeah.

Do you think that a digital audio player such as the Karma should have one, or does that not really make a difference?
Since the Karma is a portable hand-held player and designed to be played with headphones, then no it doesn't really make a difference.

#172927 - 31/07/2003 10:04 Re: Analog vs. Digital outs [Re: tfabris]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Loc: Raleigh, NC US
It seems like having a digital out on your digital audio player would be better than an analog line out.
If you happen to have an amplifier with a digital input, yeah.