Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#189917 - 18/11/2003 14:28 Dotster Renewal Process
robricc
carpal tunnel

Loc: New Jersey, USA
I have been using Dotster as my registrar for a few years now. At the time I switched all my stuff from InterNIC, Dotster's $14.95 price was tough to beat. In today's market it's not so good, but I decided not to re-transfer my 40+ domain names because I liked the layout of the Dotster site and didn't want to deal with the hassle. That was until I got this "timeline" in my email a month ago:

Notice how they charge $99 to renew a domain when there is 30 days left until it expires. Is this normal? I never heard of crap like that so I promptly began moving all my expiring domains to NameCheap. Aside from the fact they don't register as many TLDs as Dotster, this registrar rules.

I was just wondering if that Dotster policy was a standard industry practice. It seems real scummy to me.

Attachments
188694-dotster.gif (128 downloads)

#189918 - 18/11/2003 14:33 Re: Dotster Renewal Process [Re: robricc]
trs24
old hand

Loc: Palo Alto, CA
I have never heard of anything like that.

Although it looks like that the redemption fee does not go into effect until 45 days aftyer the domain actually expires - but is still listed in their registry.

It sounds like Dotster is trying to scare people into thinking that if they wait until it is deleted from Dotster's registry that someone is going to snatch it up right away - so paying an extra $99 gives the customer that extra piece-of-mind in case they happened to let their registration lapse. Sounds like a load of crap to me!

- trs

#189919 - 18/11/2003 14:41 Re: Dotster Renewal Process [Re: trs24]
robricc
carpal tunnel

Loc: New Jersey, USA
Although it looks like that the redemption fee does not go into effect until 45 days aftyer the domain actually expires - but is still listed in their registry.